Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Saturday, August 6, 2022

The Goodbye by Joanne DeMaio (Book Review)

Book Review

The Goodbye by Joanne DeMaio
Book 16: The Seaside Saga Series
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: PB - July 26, 2022 / eBook - August 1, 2022
Format: Paperback - 300 pages 
               Kindle - 2506 KB / 261 pages
               Audiobook - 8 Hours 18 Minutes
               Nook - 864 KB 
ISBN: 979-8808581210
ASIN (Audiobook): B0B1F92VJS
ASIN (Kindle): B09Y62JZT7
BNID: 2940160946252
Genre: Women's Fiction

Buy The Book:

Buy The Series: The Seaside Saga Series
Book 1: Blue Jeans and Coffee Beans 
Book 2: The Denim Blue Sea
Book 3: Beach Blues
Book 4: Beach Breeze
Book 5: The Beach Inn
Book 6: Beach Bliss
Book 7: Castaway Cottage
Book 8: Night Beach
Book 9: Little Beach Bungalow 
Book 10: Every Summer
Book 11: Salt Air Secrets 
Book 12: Stony Point Summer 
Book 13: The Beachgoers 
Book 14: Shore Road 
Book 15: The Wait 
Book 16: The Goodbye 
Book 17: The Barlows (Publication Date: March 1, 2023)

Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

Book Description:

From New York Times bestselling author Joanne DeMaio comes The Goodbye, Book 16 of The Seaside Saga.

How do you know when it's goodbye? When something's over. When it's the last perfect day of the summer. When it's the last time you'll see a face, hear a voice. The last time you'll close a shingled cottage's door. How do you know when you'll never be somewhere again, that you've had your last glimpse of a certain sea?

For the tangled cast of beach friends in Stony Point, it's a question some of them face. Because as the golden late-summer sun shines, goodbyes are due. But to whom?

And The Seaside Saga continues.

My Book Review:

In The Goodbye, the beach friends' story continues where The Wait left off. Author Joanne DeMaio transports the reader back to the tranquil seashore town of Stony Point, Connecticut. The story picks up in early September, where our beach friends lives are like the tides, sometimes they keep moving and changing. 

In The Goodbye, Author Joanne DeMaio easily captivates her readers' attention with this beautifully written tale through a seamless and flowing storyline, and with a wonderful description of a tranquil beach setting that wraps itself around the reader like a sun-warmed beach towel. The characters draw you into their lives with a strong emotional pull, their complexities and flaws are true-to-life, it is easy to relate to them with compassion, empathy, and hope.

The Goodbye is an intricate story of interweaving friendships, life events, and deeply held secrets and drama. It is a wonderful story that continues to demonstrate the power of the magical sweet salt air that will cure what ails you. In this installment in The Seaside Saga Series, the author continues to weave a story that focuses on the ongoing marital strife between Jason and Maris that edges towards a resolution; Elsa's decision to stall the opening of The Ocean Star Inn, which causes resentment from Celia; and Elsa's predicament in deciding in the love triangle with Cliff Raines and Mitch Fenwick; and the blossoming secret relationship between Celia Gray and Shane Bradford.

In this sixteenth installment in the series, the author continues to keep the reader engaged as the beach friends continue to deal with ongoing and new issues: you can't help but hope that Maris and Jason can find their way back to each other when they finally reach a resolution; while feeling Elsa's angst over deciding between Cliff and Mitch, and how she will deal with the tension between her and Celia; and feel the love grow between Shane and Celia, even as they deal with the reality of a possible long-distance romance. At the end of the book, the author teases her readers with another cliffhanger ending: waiting on how each of these relationships will turn out, oh but there's more, she leaves the reader with an ending that will leave the reader feeling the full gamut of emotions, because it was never revealed who or what The Goodbye was meant for, I guess we'll just have to wait and see what is revealed in The Barlows, the seventeenth installment of the series ... sigh. 

In this installment in the series, the reader follows along with the beach friends' lives that are full of friendship, love, secrets, regrets, challenges, heartbreak, grief, surprises, and second chances. As you read this installment, the beach friends continue along in their life journey in Stony Point.

So now that I have whet your interest in the beach friends latest comings and goings, drive under the railroad trestle and enter the enchanting beach town of Stony Point ... pull up a beach chair ... and visit with the close-knit longtime friends in author Joanne DeMaio's delightful novel, The Goodbye.

The Seaside Saga Series is a heartwarming series of stories of friendship, family, painful secrets, new beginnings and second chances. Author Joanne DeMaio weaves a wonderful tale written in the third person narrative, that is set in the present with flashbacks to the past. The reader is transported to the tranquil seashore town of Stony Point, Connecticut, where they follow along with Celia, Maris, Eva, Matt, Jason, Kyle, Lauren, Nick, Elsa, Cliff, and Shane as their lives change like the tide's ebb and flow on their little tranquil coastal town.


About The Author

Joanne DeMaio is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of contemporary fiction. She enjoys writing about friendship, family, love and choices, while setting her stories in New England towns or by the sea. The Wait is her newest novel. She is currently at work on her next novel. Joanne lives with her family in Connecticut.

Author Website
Amazon Author Page

No comments:

Post a Comment