Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Saturday, August 13, 2022

Weekly Book Mail: 8/7-13/2022

 






This Week's Book Mail



August- Books & Treasures






Unplugged Book Box - Beach Reads Limited Edition Box 2022






July - Authentic Books





August - Harlequin Country Legacy Collection












Friday, August 12, 2022

Depths Of Deceit by Laura Oles (VBT: Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Depths Of Deceit by author Laura Oles!







Book Review



Depths Of Deceit by Laura Oles
Book 2: A Jamie Rush Mystery Series
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing
Publication Date: May 23, 2022
Format: Paperback - 280 pages
               Kindle - 2573 KB
ISBN (PB): 978-1948051859
ASIN (Kindle): B09YJ1PNCG
BNID: 978-1948051859
Genre: Mystery



Buy The Book: Depths Of Deceit
Amazon (Free - Kindle Unlimited Program)


Buy The Series: A Jamie Rush Mystery Series
Book 1: Daughters Of Bad Men
Book 2: Depths Of Deceit



Book Description:

Two sisters.
One deadly secret.
No time to lose.

PI Jamie Rush has her hands full with small-time skip-tracing and surveillance jobs in Port Alene, Texas. The work is steady, though she still struggles to make ends meet. But when her partner, Cookie, brings in a low-paying and potentially time-consuming case, Jamie takes it on out of loyalty.

Cookie’s childhood friend, Renata, needs to find her younger sister, Leah. As Jamie digs into Leah’s past, it becomes clear that the missing woman’s life was shrouded in secrets, the kind that could jeopardize those involved in the case.

To complicate matters, PI Alastair Finn has returned, and he’s willing to reclaim his town by any means necessary. Jamie has never been one to retreat, and Alastair enjoys a good fight. Sparks will fly.

A missing woman. Felonies. Finn’s return. Every twist reminds Jamie that she’s still an outsider in this town. Jamie must prove herself all over again, and the stakes have never been higher.



Book Excerpt:


The mermaid in the truck bed was what caught Jamie Rush’s attention. The cast-iron figure peeked over the hatch, her carved, flowing hair and demure smile in view. This was supposed to be a standard identify-and-repo job. Jamie was certain she hadn’t seen a mermaid on the itemized paperwork. Brody Rutger, in addition to hiding from creditors, had added theft of a local celebrity to his resume.

The day had started strong, with a lead on Rutger and an opportunity to catch him between fishing charters, using a boat he’d quit paying on months before. Suddenly, Marian the Mermaid was caught up in the mix.

And something was going on with the weather.

The month of November normally brought a steady stream of long-term vacationers from the north—affectionally called Winter Texans—who fled harsh winters for the promise of more tepid temperatures. Those who’d already set up residence in Port Alene were likely to be disappointed. Port A, usually quite predictable in her warmth, had suddenly changed her mind. That day, she was trading humidity for frigid air, and the wind, once laced with a warm, salty breeze, was offering only a cold shoulder. The palm trees lining Island Main bristled from side to side, and the town seemed to have turned inward in response. The icy wind whistled in the gap of her Tahoe’s window.

Jamie shuddered at the weather’s frigid downturn, while her partner, Cookie Hinojosa, all but cursed Mother Nature. He believed anything under seventy degrees was downright blasphemous. Jamie tilted her head toward the gray sky and welcomed the sting of air on her cheeks, her head briefly popping out the driver’s-side window. Cookie glanced over and shook his head.”

You’re very grumpy this morning,” Jamie said. She gave him a once-over, taking note of the large Dallas Cowboys logo on his chest, the silver star claiming almost all the space between his shoulders. “I see you found your favorite winter hoodie. Probably more fun to wear when they’re winning.”

Cookie turned to her and scowled. “Et tu, Brute? You’re going to dump on our favorite team? Really?”

Jamie reached over and gave her partner’s meaty shoulder a squeeze. “They need to earn our love by playing better. And we’ve been damned patient.” She rubbed her hand up and down his sleeve, noting the fabric felt cold. “You should probably break down and buy a proper winter jacket.”

“This is South Texas. Only snowbirds wear ‘proper’ winter jackets.”

Cookie dismissed the idea of wearing anything that added additional bulk to his substantial frame. “My Hawaiian shirts are sad from neglect.”

She had to agree. A long-sleeved Hawaiian shirt would look ridiculous on anyone. She rubbed her hands together and hoped the cold snap would soon dissipate, returning the balmy temperatures Port Alene normally delivered.

“I’m going to pull back a bit,” Jamie said.

Their skip of the day, Brody Rutger, owed their client, AAA Repo Services, $15,027. Brody had ducked all attempts at collection, so Jamie and Cookie had been hired to locate him and return the boat. Jamie and Cookie specialized in skip tracing, which essentially meant finding people who didn’t want to be found. They worked skips but also some surveillance—which paid well but was boring beyond belief—and some divorce cases, which also paid well but renewed Jamie’s resolve to never get married. In Jamie’s experience, if a person disappeared, the reasons involved money, private information, or violence. And secrets—always a secret.

***

Excerpt from Depths of Deceit by Laura Oles. Copyright 2022 by Laura Oles. Reproduced with permission from Laura Oles. All rights reserved.




My Book Review:


In Depths Of Deceit, the second book in the Jamie Rush Mystery Series, author Laura Oles transports the reader back to the island coastal town of Port Alene, Texas, for Jamie Rush and Cookie Hinojosa's latest investigative adventure.

Jamie and Cookie's private investigation business has been slow and not very lucrative, they're back to skip tracing, divorce, and surveillance cases. But when Cookie gets a text from Renata Sandoval, a childhood friend, telling him that she's worried about her younger sister, Leah, who's gone quiet. Renata went to the police department, but they said that adults are allowed to disappear, especially if there is no evidence of foul play. Not knowing who else to turn to and unable to pay, Renata asks them to look into her missing sister's case. 

As Jamie and Cookie search for the truth behind Leah's disappearance, the further they dig, the more they realize that Leah's secret lifestyle has gotten herself in trouble with some dangerous people, and someone is determined to recover what Kristen took, and stop Jamie and Cookie from getting involved at all costs. Can Jamie and Cookie put the pieces of the puzzle together and solve the disappearance of Leah, before they find themselves in danger? And if that isn't enough, Jamie is still dealing with family issues, and Alastair Finn, a rival private investigator has come back to town and is muscling in on their business. 

Author Laura Olves weaves a slow-building and suspenseful tale written in the third person narrative that follows Jamie and Cookie's investigative journey in search of the truth behind the disappearance of Leah Sandoval. Their investigation will take a lot of digging and dangerous situations, and uncovering dark secrets to find the truth. And if that's not enough, Jamie has to come to terms with her ongoing family issues, while Jamie and Cookie have to deal with the rival private investigator who keeps showing up and threatening to take away their business.

The reader will be easily drawn into this intriguing story with its richly descriptive plot and idyllic coastal town setting. Depths Of Deceit has intriguing characters, and enough drama, tension, action, flashbacks, secrets, clues from the past, and unexpected twists and turns that kept me thoroughly engaged and guessing what would happen next, it will definitely take the reader on one heck of a thrilling roller coaster ride.



RATING: 5 STARS  





About The Author




Laura Oles is the Agatha-nominated and award-winning author of the Jamie Rush mystery series, along with short stories and nonfiction. With two decades of experience in the digital photography industry, Laura’s work has appeared in trade and consumer magazines, crime-fiction anthologies, and she served as a business columnist. Laura loves road trips, bookstores and any outdoor activity that doesn’t involve running. She lives in the Texas Hill Country with her family.






Contest Giveaway

Win A $20 Amazon Gift Card

This is a giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Tours for Laura Oles. See the widget for entry terms and conditions. Void where prohibited.

 



Virtual Book Tour Event




Tour Participants:

07/26 Showcase @ BOOK REVIEWS by LINDA MOORE

07/26 Showcase @ From the TBR Pile

07/28 Review @ Novels Alive

08/01 Guest post @ The Book Divas Reads

08/03 Showcase @ Nesies Place

08/04 Showcase @ Silvers Reviews

08/05 Interview @ I Read What You Write

08/06 Showcase @ Brooke Blogs

08/07 Review @ Book Reviews From an Avid Reader

08/08 Showcase @ The Reading Frenzy

08/10 Showcase @ Celticladys Reviews

08/11 Review @ Urban Book Reviews

08/12 Review @ Jersey Girl Book Reviews

08/13 Review @ Paws. Read. Repeat

08/13 Showcase & Podcast @ Books to the Ceiling

08/14 Review @ Guatemala Paula Loves to Read

08/15 Review @ Melissa As Blog

08/16 Review @ The Page Ladies

08/17 Guest post @ The Mystery of Writing

08/17 Showcase @ The Authors Harbor

08/18 Review @ Avonna Loves Genres

08/19 Review @ Pat Fayo Reviews









Daughters Of Bad Men by Laura Oles (Book Review)

 






Book Review



Daughters Of Bad Men by Laura Oles
Book 1: A Jamie Rush Mystery Series
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing
Publication Date: October 30, 2017
Format: Paperback - 218 pages
               Audiobook - 7 Hours 19 Minutes
               Kindle - 2265 KB
ISBN (PB): 978-0615816319
ASIN (Audiobook): B07LGFBJL1
ASIN (Kindle): B076JL9HKH
BNID: 978-0615816319
Genre: Mystery



Buy The Book: Daughters Of Bad Men
Amazon (Free - Kindle Unlimited Program)


Buy The Series: A Jamie Rush Mystery Series
Book 1: Daughters Of Bad Men
Book 2: Depths Of Deceit



Book Description:

Jamie Rush understands what it takes to disappear because her parents taught her that long ago. Leveraging her knowledge of why and how people run from their own lives, Jamie has built a business based on bringing those in hiding back to answer for their actions. She takes pride in using her somewhat shady skills to work both inside and outside the law.

When her estranged brother, Brian, calls and says his daughter is missing, Jamie initially turns down the case. Kristen has always been a bit wild, frequently dropping off the grid then showing up a few days later. But Brian swears this time is different, and even though Jamie vowed years ago to keep her conniving sibling at arm’s length, she can’t walk away if Kristen could be in real trouble.

As Jamie begins digging into Kristen’s life, she uncovers her niece’s most guarded secrets. Uncovering the truth will put a target on Jamie’s back and endanger the lives of those she loves.



Book Trailer: 


 


My Book Review:


In Daughters Of Bad Men, the first book in the Jamie Rush Mystery Series, author Laura Oles transports the reader to the island coastal town of Port Alene, Texas, for an intriguing mystery that will keep the reader guessing and turning the pages.

Jamie Rush comes from a family of con artists, she's left that life behind and is in business as a private investgator with her best friend and partner Cookie Hinojosa. Jamie and Cookie investigation business usually involves skip tracing, divorce, and surveillance cases. 

Jamie gets a call from her estranged older half-brother Brian asking her to help locate his missing daughter Kristen. At first Jamie thinks that Kristen may have just gone off-grid and turned down the case, but when Brian insists that something is definitely wrong, Jamie and Cookie agree to take the case and begin searching for Kristen. As Jamie and Cookie search for the truth behind Kristen's disappearance, the further they dig, the more they realize that Kristen has gotten into some pretty dangerous stuff, and someone is determined to stop them at all costs. Can Jamie and Cookie put the pieces of the puzzle together and solve the disappearance of Kristen?

Author Laura Olves weaves a slow-building and suspenseful tale written in the third person narrative that follows Jamie and Cookie's investigative journey in search of the truth behind the disappearance of Jamie's niece. Their investigation will take a lot of digging and dangerous situations to find the truth. And if that's not enough, Jamie has to come to terms with her ongoing family issues, especially when it comes to dealing with who is behind Kristen's disappearance.

The reader will be easily drawn into this intriguing story with its richly descriptive plot and idyllic coastal town setting. Daughters Of Bad Men has intriguing characters, and enough drama, tension, action, flashbacks, secrets, clues from the past, and unexpected twists and turns that kept me thoroughly engaged and guessing what would happen next, it will definitely take the reader on one heck of a thrilling roller coaster ride.


RATING: 5 STARS  





About The Author




Laura Oles is the Agatha-nominated and award-winning author of the Jamie Rush mystery series, along with short stories and nonfiction. With two decades of experience in the digital photography industry, Laura’s work has appeared in trade and consumer magazines, crime-fiction anthologies, and she served as a business columnist. Laura loves road trips, bookstores and any outdoor activity that doesn’t involve running. She lives in the Texas Hill Country with her family.








Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Cop A Plea by Hilary Grossman (Book Review)

 







Book Review



Cop A Plea by Hilary Grossman
Book 2: I Can't Stop Loving You Series
Publisher: Independent Self-Publishing
Publication Date: July 19, 2022
Format: Paperback - 242 pages
               Kindle - 702 KB
               Audiobook - 7 Hours 5 Minutes
               Nook - 560 KB
ISBN: 979-8820331183
ASIN (Audiobook): B0B6DPYBJJ
ASIN (Kindle): B09LTDSJFK
BNID: 2940160964416
Genre: Romantic Comedy



Buy The Book:


Buy The Series: I Can't Stop Loving You Series
Book 1: Cop An Attitude
Book 2: Cop A Plea



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review.



Book Description:

Could anything be worse than your husband forgetting you?

Yes. Of course…

He could remember you as the young girl who made his childhood unbearable.

After years of putting love on the back burner in exchange for career success, I let my guard down. I fell head over heels for the hot policeman who pulled me over late one night for speeding.

At the time, I didn’t realize we had a past. After all, he changed a lot since graduation…

Now, newly married and expecting our first child, our lives are perfect until Pete suffers a severe brain injury while chasing a robber.

When he finally regains consciousness, the last few years of his life are missing, including all recent memories of me!

As Pete mourns the death of his first wife for the second time and tries to come to terms with living with his high school nemesis, I keep wondering….

What happens if he never remembers me?

Will our love be strong enough to bring us together twice?

If you like engaging characters, second chance romance, and laughing out loud, then you’ll adore Cop A Plea!



Book Excerpt: https://a.co/csv4vrw



My Book Review:

In Cop A Plea, the second book of the I Can't Stop Loving You series, the reader is transported back to Pebble Cove, NY, for the continuation of Waverly and Pete's story.

In this installment of the series, the reader catches up with Waverly and Pete. After a year together, they got married six months ago, and have some great news to share, their having a baby! But in early Januray, Pete gets hurt at work, he was involved in stopping an armed robbery at a jewelry store. The suspect fled on foot and Pete pursued him and tripped and hit his head on the metal train tracks and is unconscious. Pete suffered a severe traumatic brain injury, and he is in a coma. The doctors don't know when Pete will wake up, and when he does Pete may not be the same, he may have permanent brain damage. When Pete does wake up, the last few years of his life are missing, including all recent memories of his life with Waverly! What ensues is an angsty time filled with stress and worry as Pete mourns his first wife Caroline again, and his only memory of Waverly is from their childhood issues. Waverly and Pete embark on a journey of  finding their way back to each other, can they find their happiness again, especially with a baby on the way? 

Cop A Plea is an angsty romantic comedy that explores the changes to the relationship between Waverly and Pete Ennis, after Pete's brain injury. This story will take the readers on an emotional roller coaster ride where they will experience the full gamut of emotions as they follow the traumtic events that change Waverly and Pete's marriage. You can't help but lose yourself in the drama as Waverly worries if Pete will remember her and their past, and follow Waverly and Pete as they work to find their way back to each other. This entertaining story is full of humor, drama and angsty moments that will the reader engaged as Waverly and Pete once again get another chance at finding love. 

Cop A Plea is a wonderful story of family, friendships, love, and the ability to make it through anything that life throws at you along the way.




RATING: 5 STARS 





About The Author



Hilary Grossman is a recovering corporate executive. She spends her mornings and weekends hanging out with her "characters." She has an unhealthy addiction to denim and high heel shoes. She’s been known to walk into walls and fall up stairs. She only eats spicy foods and is obsessed with her cat, Lucy. She loves to find humor in everyday life. She likens life to a game of dodge ball - she tries to keep many balls in the air before they smack her in the face. She lives on the beach in Long Island.







Cop An Attitude by Hilary Grossman (Book Review)

 







Book Review




Cop An Attitude by Hilary Grossman
Book 1: I Can't Stop Loving You Series
Publisher: Independent Self-Publishing
Publication Date: February 17, 2022
Format: Paperback - 222 pages
               Kindle - 1133 KB
               Audiobook - 6 Hours 26 Minutes
               Nook - 560 KB
ISBN: 979-8798423002
ASIN (Audiobook): B09RNB75DL
ASIN (Kindle): B09LR6LWXL
BNID: 2940160936604
Genre: Romantic Comedy



Buy The Book:


Buy The Series: I Can't Stop Loving You Series
Book 1: Cop An Attitude
Book 2: Cop A Plea



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review.



Book Description:

Their reunion left a lot to be desired. Are they a disaster in the making or totally meant to be?

I kicked love to the curb for the greater good. After all, my soaring career would’ve made my family so proud, and men have a tendency to stop success cold. But I never expected a single and sexy police officer to pull me over, flirt with me, and then write me a ticket.

Now I see the infuriating cop everywhere I go. It doesn’t help that we have a past, and he’s an amazing dad to his daughter. And every time I want to get back to my small-town routine, I can only think about what my life would be like with the no-nonsense policeman…

I should really just forget the whole thing. But if I do, will I lose my last chance at love?

Cop An Attitude is the charming first book in the I Can’t Stop Loving You romantic comedy series. If you like engaging characters, enemies to lovers, and laughing out loud, then you’ll adore Hilary Grossman’s humorous walk on the wild side.

Buy Cop An Attitude for an arresting affair today!




Book Excerpt: https://a.co/3cCbVc3



My Book Review:

In Cop An Attitude, the first book of the I Can't Stop Loving You series, the reader is transported to Pebble Cove, NY, for a humorous enemies to lovers romantic comedy that leave will you in stitches.

Waverly Ensworth is head of IT for Delectable Edibles, a specialty food distributor. Her job is her entire life, she's a workaholic and stress junkie. 

Pete Ennis is a cop with the Pebble Cove Police Department. He is a widower with a four year old daughter, Clara. His wife Caroline died two years ago from breast cancer, and as he grieves for her, he tries to move forward and take care of their daughter. 

After working late launching a new computer system, Waverly is stopped at 3am on a deserted road not far from home for doing 38 mph in a 3 mph zone, are you kidding me! Waverly is furious that Officer Pete Ennis is taking his sweet time with the prolonged traffic stop, she doesn't realize that Pete has recognized her from childhood, and is exacting a little revenge for the misery she caused him when they were kids. Waverly was a popular girl back then, and she was a mean girl who bullied the nerdy Pete unmercifully, making him a social outcast. What ensues is a hilarious unexpected enemies to lovers story that follows how Waverly and Pete get a second chance at love. 

Cop An Attitude is a humorous romantic comedy that explores the enemies to lovers relationship between Waverly Ensworth and Pete Ennis. This was such a fun story, you can't help but lose yourself in the drama and hilarious antics that follow Waverly and Pete when they keep running into each other, and how they have to deal with their past when they both start to have unexpected feelings for each other. This entertaining story is full of humor, drama and angsty moments that will the reader engaged as Waverly and Pete figure out how to move from old enemies to friends with a second chance at finding love. 

I can't wait to read Cop A Plea, the second book in the I Can't Stop Loving You series. In that book, Waverly and Pete's story continues with new developments in their relationship! 

Cop An Attitude is a wonderful story of family, friendships, second chance at love, and the ability to make it through anything that life throws at you along the way.



RATING: 5 STARS 





About The Author



Hilary Grossman is a recovering corporate executive. She spends her mornings and weekends hanging out with her "characters." She has an unhealthy addiction to denim and high heel shoes. She’s been known to walk into walls and fall up stairs. She only eats spicy foods and is obsessed with her cat, Lucy. She loves to find humor in everyday life. She likens life to a game of dodge ball - she tries to keep many balls in the air before they smack her in the face. She lives on the beach in Long Island.







Saturday, August 6, 2022

Weekly Book Mail: 7/31-8/6/2022





 




This Week's Book Mail


July - Once Upon A Book Club - YA Book Box





August - Just The Right Book!





August - Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours





August - LuvBooks - Just Beachy Summer Book Box








August - Harlequin Love Inspired Romance & Suspense Collection










July - Once Upon A Book Club - Adult Book Box





August - Book Of The Month Club