Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Friday, December 7, 2018

The Night Before Christmas by K.S. David (Blurb Blitz / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the blurb blitz event for The Night Before Christmas by author K.S. David!







About The Book




The Night Before Christmas by K.S. David
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: November 4, 2018
Format: Kindle - 2085 KB
ASIN: B07K7151P1
Genre: Holiday Romantic Suspense



Buy The Book:
Amazon  (Free on Kindle Unlimited)



Book Description:

From the author of A Promise Kept and Every Single Wish, comes an exhilarating romantic suspense for the holidays.

As Center City and its quirky residents get ready to ring in the holiday with merriment and good cheer, Calista Tate is forced to make a terrible decision? Does she stay and fight for the life she's created or - does she run away? One man could be her angel - her saving grace. And, the promise of love may be strong enough to make her hold her ground. The wrong decision could put them both at risk.

Calista Singletary decided it was finally safe to settle down. She opened a small bakery, has a new home and life is good. That is until she gets arrested for killing her elderly neighbor. It doesn’t help that she chased the old man out of her house with a rolling pin two days earlier.  The same rolling pin is found under his bruised and bloody body. Calista thinks some trickery is underfoot. Good thing her sexy attorney, Marc Collins, thinks he can get the charges dropped.

But Calista knows that when the authorities start digging, they’re going to uncover her true identity. That’s when the real horrors will begin. She usually stays packed and ready to blow town at the first sign of trouble - assuming a new name, a new look, a new story. But she’s growing close to Marc and just once, she wants to feel normal. Will the cost be too high?

Three years earlier, the man Calista loved sucked her into a world of indescribable horror. She’s the only one who can testify to the atrocities he committed by Thomas Langston. She stole three million dollars of his money and maimed him the day she left. In return, Thomas made her a promise. He would always love her. He would never stop looking for her. And the next time he saw Calista - he was going to kill her.



Book Excerpt:


"He walked in on me in the bathroom!"

I had been taking a well-deserved bath. After a sixteen-hour day in my bakery, my hands felt like rubber, my ankles were throbbing, and my back felt like I'd been beaten with a baseball bat. The break would feel like a week-long vacation, and I intended to take advantage by sleeping in, eating junk, watching a little football and reading a good book. A hot, steamy bath had been on my too-do list all day. Love ballads filled the halls of my house, and I planned to polish off a bottle of Chablis.

“Way to go, Fred."

I rolled my eyes to the night sky annoyed. Fred's encouragement came from another neighbor who shared the center of our cul-de-sac with a man who'd been a thorn since the day I moved in. I didn't know his name - didn't care either, but I knew his taste in music, women and the brand of beer he preferred. Loud music boomed from his backyard nightly. He wore aged denim and a t-shirt so old the letters had started to peel. A soiled black bandana was pulled low over his brow and tattoos covered visible skin - except his hands, his neck and his face. I could always tell when he was coming or going because the motor in his Harley made my windows shake. I squinted up at the man. Streetlights barely illuminated his face and his bandana made it impossible for me to get a good look at him, but he had a firm jaw and full lips. Catching my examination, he winked. I sneered at him. I didn't do grimy and I didn't do assholes - at least, not anymore.









About The Author


Author K.S. David lives in the Mid-Atlantic with her husband, their three children and a menagerie of pets. New storylines are constantly running through her head. She keeps notebooks tucked in pockets of the car, the nightstand and makes voice recordings just about all day long. She's addicted to true life mysteries and crime shows, both of which marry well with a great romance. Some of her favorite things are long walks, reading in bed, baking and of course, writing her next novel.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads




Contest Giveaway

Win A $25 Amazon or B&N Gift Card







K.S. David will be awarding a $15 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.



a Rafflecopter giveaway





Blurb Blitz Event



Event Participants:

November 19: Mythical Books
November 19: Laura's Interests
November 20: Andi's Book Reviews
November 20: Danita Minnis
November 20: Books,Dreams,Life
November 21: Romance Novel Giveaways
November 21: Punya Reviews...
November 23: The Binge Spot 
November 23: Iron Canuck
November 23: Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews
November 26: Books Chatter
November 26: Stormy Nights Reviewing and Bloggin'
November 26: Hearts and Scribbles
November 27: So Many Books
November 27: Nickie's Views and Interviews
November 28: Rogue's Angels
November 28: FUONLYKNEW
November 29: Wendi Zwaduk - Romance to Make Your Heart Race
November 29: Author C.A.Milson
November 30: A Writer's Life
November 30: Natural Bri
December 3: Two Ends of the Pen
December 3: Jazzy Book Reviews
December 4: Locks, Hooks and Books
December 4: Long and Short Reviews
December 5: Notes From a Romantic's Heart
December 5: Harlie's Books
December 6: All the Ups and Downs
December 6: Independent Authors
December 7: Jersey Girl Book Reviews
December 7: Hope. Dreams. Life... Love






Thursday, November 29, 2018

A Gentleman For Christmas by Prescott Lane (VBT: Book Review)

In association with Social Butterfly PR, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for A Gentleman For Christmas by author Prescott Lane!








About The Book





A Gentleman For Christmas by Prescott Lane
Publisher: Independent Publisher
Publication Date: November 26, 2018
Format: eBook - 122 pages
               Kindle - 1033 KB
               Nook - 354 KB
ASIN: B07K8VNSQH
BNID: 2940156143863
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Holiday Romance



Buy The Book:



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Social Butterfly PR.



Book Description:

Some say “chivalry is dead.”


I don’t think so. Most women I know like a gentleman.

Protective, opens doors, treats women with respect, typically follows the rules.

But a gentleman doesn’t fall for his best friend’s woman. Current or ex.

And that’s what I’ve done. 

During the Christmas season of all times — that magical time for decorations, gifts, family . . .

Yes, the girl who was off-limits for so long, who I’ve loved all my life, has come back in town and possibly back to me.

I can’t follow the gentleman rules this time. There’s too much at stake. I let her go once. I won’t let her go again.

What happens under the mistletoe, stays under the mistletoe.

Or does it?



Book Excerpt:


“Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife.”

Otherwise known as the original bros before hoes commandment.

I’m not advocating calling women hoes.  It’s an expression, so put away your Encyclopedia of Political Correctness.

There are rules in life.  The Ten Commandments were just the beginning.  We have rules for everything.  How to drive.  How to dress.  How to walk across the damn street.  So why not rules for love?  That’s how all this started — a set of rules between my buddies and me.

The Bro Code.

Obviously, bros before hoes is rule one.  We vowed never to let a girl come between us, which meant if one of us liked a girl, she was forever off limits.

Little did I know our teenage pact would launch my multi-million dollar career.  A little tweaking here and some socially acceptable rewording there and The Gentleman’s Handbook was born.

I’ve written books and given seminars on everything from how to find love, to how to propose, to how to have a successful long-distance relationship.  You name it, and I’ve got rules for it.  Personally, I’ve never been much of a rule follower, but that’s my little secret.

The funny thing is I’ve never been in love.  Well, there is this one girl, but we won’t talk about her.  It does no good to think about someone you can’t have and never will.

My lack of emotional commitment hasn’t slowed down my career one bit.  Currently, I have two books on the New York Times Best Sellers List.  My seminars sell out like a Drake concert.

I always find it interesting that the rules started between a group of male friends, but it’s mostly women that come to hear me speak.  Occasionally, you see the poor sap boyfriend who was dragged along to listen, but for the most part it’s all women.

This time of the year is no exception.  December first until January first is important for guys.  Holidays are big for a lot of couples.  If you don’t know what you’re doing for your lady, you better figure it out and fast.  In fact, my rule is that you should be paying attention all year long.

Trust me on this.  If you remember something she mentioned she liked three months ago and surprise her with it at Christmas, she’ll spread her legs before Santa even has time to slide down the chimney.  Let’s be honest, that is always at least part of the goal for guys.

So my current work in progress tackles Christmas.  A how-to guide for the holidays.

The Gentleman’s Rules for Christmas.




Book Teaser:
















My Book Review:


A Gentleman For Christmas is a wonderful holiday romance story about two childhood best friends who are unexpectedly reunited in their hometown during the Christmas holiday after being apart for ten years, and their discovery of the holiday season's magical gift of receiving a second chance at love.

Author Prescott Lane weaves a beautiful romantic tale that takes the reader on an emotional roller coaster ride as they follow Jax and Skylar's story. Their story is set in the small southern beach town of Waterscape, Florida. Jax and Skylar are part of a tight-knit group of childhood friends that include Maci, Malcolm, and Luke. But Jax and Skylar were longtime childhood best friends until he messed things up ... Jax let Skylar get away when Luke expressed an interest in dating Skylar. The guys have a "bro code" where they vowed to never let a girl come between them, and if one of them likes/dates a girl, then she is forever off limits. Ten years later, Jax is a successful author / motivational speaker who wrote The Gentleman's Handbook, a series of relationship and lifestyle books. But there is one little problem ... Jax doesn't follow his own rules ... especially when Skylar comes home heartbroken after breaking up with Luke ... because this time Jax isn't letting Skylar get away!

Told in alternating first person narratives by Jax and Skylar, these two childhood best friends reunite unexpectedly when Skylar comes home after breaking up with Luke, her boyfriend of ten years. Jax has always loved Skylar, but he let her get away and tried to honor the "bro code", but Skylar is the forbidden fruit that he wants so badly. Their story is filled with friendship, laughter, angst, family and relationship dramas, friendship conflicts, and the amazing chance of having an unrequited love finally become fulfilled.

A Gentleman For Christmas is a sweet and sexy friends to lovers second chance love story that is very swoon worthy. I loved how the author draws the reader into Jax and Skylar's story with flashbacks to their childhood past intertwined with the present. It is filled with emotional angst and drama, and a slow smoldering craving and build up of sexual tension that leads up to a passionate romance that will send tingles down your spine. I was Team Jax from the start, he is the kind of Gentleman that any girl could easily fall in love with. I loved getting to know the group of friends, especially childhood sweethearts/married couple Maci and Malcolm, because they are the glue that kept the love triangle of Jax, Skylar, and Luke from tearing their longtime friendship apart. Finally, I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much I really enjoyed Jax's various "Gentleman's Rules" that were included throughout the book, especially my favorite rule: "when you find the right woman, never let her go."

A Gentleman For Christmas is a beautiful holiday romance story of best friends getting a second chance at true love and moving forward in life that will resonate with you for a very long time.


RATING: 5 STARS 





About The Author




Prescott Lane is the Amazon best-selling author of Stripped Raw. She's got seven other books under her belt including: First Position, Perfectly Broken, Quiet Angel, Wrapped in LaceLayers of HerThe Reason for Me, and The Sex Bucket List. She is originally from Little Rock, Arkansas, and holds a degree in sociology and a MSW from Tulane University. She married her college sweetheart, and they currently live in New Orleans with their two children and two crazy dogs. Prescott started writing at the age of five, and sold her first story about a talking turtle to her father for a quarter. She later turned to writing romance novels because there aren't enough happily ever afters in real life.





Monday, November 26, 2018

A Gentleman For Christmas by Prescott Lane (Book Release Day Blitz)

In association with Social Butterfly PR, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the book release day blitz event for A Gentleman For Christmas by author Prescott Lane!








About The Book





A Gentleman For Christmas by Prescott Lane
Publisher: Independent Publisher
Publication Date: November 26, 2018
Format: eBook - 122 pages
               Kindle - 1033 KB
               Nook - 354 KB
ASIN: B07K8VNSQH
BNID: 2940156143863
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Holiday Romance



Buy The Book:



Book Description:

Some say “chivalry is dead.”


I don’t think so. Most women I know like a gentleman.

Protective, opens doors, treats women with respect, typically follows the rules.

But a gentleman doesn’t fall for his best friend’s woman. Current or ex.

And that’s what I’ve done. 

During the Christmas season of all times — that magical time for decorations, gifts, family . . .

Yes, the girl who was off-limits for so long, who I’ve loved all my life, has come back in town and possibly back to me.

I can’t follow the gentleman rules this time. There’s too much at stake. I let her go once. I won’t let her go again.

What happens under the mistletoe, stays under the mistletoe.

Or does it?



Book Teaser:














About The Author




Prescott Lane is the Amazon best-selling author of Stripped Raw. She's got seven other books under her belt including: First Position, Perfectly Broken, Quiet Angel, Wrapped in LaceLayers of HerThe Reason for Me, and The Sex Bucket List. She is originally from Little Rock, Arkansas, and holds a degree in sociology and a MSW from Tulane University. She married her college sweetheart, and they currently live in New Orleans with their two children and two crazy dogs. Prescott started writing at the age of five, and sold her first story about a talking turtle to her father for a quarter. She later turned to writing romance novels because there aren't enough happily ever afters in real life.






Friday, November 23, 2018

Violin Words by Taylor Dean (Book Blast / Contest Giveaway)


In association with I Am A Reader, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the book blast event for Violin Words by author Taylor Dean!







Violin Words by Taylor Dean
Publisher: Taylor Dean Books
Publication Date: November 19, 2018
Format: Kindle - 5171 KB - 187 pages
ISBN: 9781548351274
ASIN: B07KJTQPN3
Genre: Holiday Romance


Buy The Book:
Amazon (*Can Be Read For Free on Kindle Unlimited)



Book Description:
 

WHO IS THE AUTHOR? 

When Jade Lockwood begins to receive anonymous love letters, she becomes a woman on a mission. She’s determined to figure out who wrote the flowery, over-the-top letters filled with the sweetest violin words she’s ever heard.

She’s neglected her love life, concentrating on Lockwood Cabins, the business her father built from the ground up. But her sweet letters have awakened something inside of her, something that can’t be ignored.

Facing Christmas alone this year, her emotions are already fragile. Add in a mysterious burglary, a handsome stranger, and a little deceit, and it just might be the most eventful Christmas she’s ever endured.

Will Jade find her happy ending? Or will her love letters prove to be nothing more than a sinister ploy? Find out in this charming Christmas novel.  



Book Teaser:














Book Excerpt:


You are in my heart, Jade, and you always will be. You’ve had a profound effect upon my life. Just the knowledge of your existence renews my faith in the human experience.

There is joy in this world.

And you are it.

ME

SIGNED ME. THAT’S it. Just Me.

I have no idea who Me is. Wondering about The Author of my flowery, over-the-top letter consumes my thoughts. I can hardly think of anything else.

As I sit at my desk—reading the letter when I should be tackling mounds of paperwork—I can’t help but sigh. The letter fills me with a warm sensation, a feeling as though my heart is about to explode. I’m addicted to reading it. Over and over again.  Every time.




About The Author


   


Author Taylor Dean lives in Texas and is the mother of four grown children. Upon finding herself with an empty nest, she began to write the stories that were always wandering around in her head, quickly finding she had a passion for writing, specifically romance. Whether it’s paranormal, contemporary, or suspense—you’ll find all sub-genres of clean romance in her line-up.







Contest Giveaway


     



Blast Giveaway Details:

$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash 

Ends 12/12/18 

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 


Tuesday, November 20, 2018

A Gentleman For Christmas by Prescott Lane (Pre-Publication Book Teaser - Part 3)

In association with Social Butterfly PR, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the pre-publication book teaser event for A Gentleman For Christmas by author Prescott Lane!






A Gentleman For Christmas by Prescott Lane
Publisher: Independent Publisher
Publication Date: November 26, 2018
Format: eBook - 122 pages
               Kindle - 1033 KB
               Nook - 354 KB
ASIN: B07K8VNSQH
BNID: 2940156143863
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Holiday Romance



Pre-Order The Book:


Book Description:

Some say “chivalry is dead.”


I don’t think so. Most women I know like a gentleman.

Protective, opens doors, treats women with respect, typically follows the rules.

But a gentleman doesn’t fall for his best friend’s woman. Current or ex.

And that’s what I’ve done. 

During the Christmas season of all times — that magical time for decorations, gifts, family . . .

Yes, the girl who was off-limits for so long, who I’ve loved all my life, has come back in town and possibly back to me.

I can’t follow the gentleman rules this time. There’s too much at stake. I let her go once. I won’t let her go again.

What happens under the mistletoe, stays under the mistletoe.

Or does it?



Book Teaser:












About The Author




Prescott Lane is the Amazon best-selling author of Stripped Raw. She's got seven other books under her belt including: First Position, Perfectly Broken, Quiet Angel, Wrapped in LaceLayers of HerThe Reason for Me, and The Sex Bucket List. She is originally from Little Rock, Arkansas, and holds a degree in sociology and a MSW from Tulane University. She married her college sweetheart, and they currently live in New Orleans with their two children and two crazy dogs. Prescott started writing at the age of five, and sold her first story about a talking turtle to her father for a quarter. She later turned to writing romance novels because there aren't enough happily ever afters in real life.