Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Tuesday, March 16, 2021

Stony Point Summer by Joanne DeMaio (Book Review)

In association with Author Joanne DeMaio, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Stony Point Summer!

Book Review

Stony Point Summer by Joanne DeMaio
Book 12: The Seaside Saga Series
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: Paperback - February 25, 2021 / eBook - March 2, 2021
Format: Paperback - 342 pages
               AudioBook - 8 Hours 12 Minutes
               Kindle - 1990 KB
               Nook - 704 KB
ISBN: 979-8668599844
ASIN (AudioBook): B08G9PYDQD
ASIN (ebook): B08B1TDTNZ
BNID: 2940162983262
Genre: Women's Fiction

Buy The Book:

Buy The Series: The Seaside Saga Series
Book 1: Blue Jeans and Coffee Beans 
Book 2: The Denim Blue Sea
Book 3: Beach Blues
Book 4: Beach Breeze
Book 5: The Beach Inn
Book 6: Beach Bliss
Book 7: Castaway Cottage
Book 8: Night Beach
Book 9: Little Beach Bungalow 
Book 10: Every Summer
Book 11: Salt Air Secrets 
Book 12: Stony Point Summer 
Book 13: The Beachgoers (Pub Date: May 10, 2021)

Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

Book Description:

From New York Times bestselling author Joanne DeMaio comes Stony Point Summer, Book 12 of The Seaside Saga

Jason and Maris, Shane and Celia, Elsa and the rest of the tangled cast of beach friends are back in their coastal New England town. A novel of summers sad and sweet, this episode further layers the ongoing storyline, as blue skies, lapping waves and swaying dune grasses belie all the drama to unfold.

Book Excerpt: (Select The Preview Button)

My Book Review:

In Stony Point Summer, the beach friends' story continues where Salt Air Secrets, left off. Author Joanne DeMaio transports the reader back to the tranquil seashore town of Stony Point, Connecticut, where the summer season is coming to a close. The story picks up during the Labor Day weekend, where our beach friends lives are like the tides, sometimes they keep moving and changing. 

In Stony Point Summer, Author Joanne DeMaio easily captivates her readers' attention with this beautifully written tale through a seamless and flowing storyline, and with a wonderful description of a tranquil beach setting that wraps itself around the reader like a sun-warmed beach towel. The characters draw you into their lives with a strong emotional pull, their complexities and flaws are true-to-life, it is easy to relate to them with compassion, empathy, and hope.

Stony Point Summer is an intricate story of interweaving friendships, life events, and deeply held secrets and drama. It is a wonderful story that continues to demonstrate the power of the magical sweet salt air that will cure what ails you. In this installment in The Seaside Saga Series, the author weaves a story that alternates between the present and flashbacks to the beach friends' pasts. This segment of the beach friends' story can be described as a driftline: the way the friends met, how they are all connected, and how they drift in and out of each other's lives. The tangled connections among the beach friends are complex and intricate, emotional and sometimes volatile, loving and loyal. 

This installment in the series held so much angst, you can't help but feel the full gamut of emotions as the author takes the reader back to the beginning of how the beach friends met and connected, and how each of the beach friends dealt with their secrets and life events. At the end of the prior book, Salt Air Secrets, the author teased her readers with a cliffhanger ending where Elsa received a certified letter just a few days away from the grand opening of her Ocean Star Inn, and she decided to keep the contents of the letter a secret, that is until the last sentence of the story when of course she whispered her secret into Maris' ear. Stony Point Summer opens up with Elsa's secret, but alas the reader is still kept in the dark, as once again the secret is still not revealed in this installment, and oh wait ... the author decides to add another cliffhanger ending ... Jason looks through his brother Neil's scrapbook and notices a mysterious beach binocular photo with a scant visual of a person ... who is it? We'll just have to wait and see what is revealed in The Beachgoers, the thirteenth installment of the series ... sigh. 

So now that I have whet your interest in the beach friends latest comings and goings, drive under the railroad trestle and enter the enchanting beach town of Stony Point ... pull up a beach chair ... and visit with the close-knit longtime friends in author Joanne DeMaio's delightful novel, Stony Point Summer.

The Seaside Saga Series is a heartwarming series of stories of friendship, family, painful secrets, new beginnings and second chances. Author Joanne DeMaio weaves a wonderful tale written in the third person narrative, that is set in the present with flashbacks to the past. The reader is transported to the tranquil seashore town of Stony Point, Connecticut, where they follow along with Celia, Maris, Eva, Matt, Jason, Kyle, Lauren, Nick, Elsa, Cliff, and Shane as their lives change like the tide's ebb and flow on their little tranquil coastal town.


About The Author

Joanne DeMaio is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of contemporary fiction. She enjoys writing about friendship, family, love and choices, while setting her stories in New England towns or by the sea. Stony Point Summer is her newest novel. Currently at work on her next book, The Beachgoers. Joanne lives with her family in Connecticut.

Author Website
Amazon Author Page

No comments:

Post a Comment