Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Southern Discomfort Series (Leaving Carolina, Nowhere Carolina & Restless in Carolina) by Tamara Leigh

Southern Discomfort is a series of 3 books by Tamara Leigh, featuring the Pickwick family of Pickwick, NC. These books are from the Christian Inspirational Fiction genre. The series is a lighthearted funny look at the crazy Pickwick family dynamics, with each book featuring the story of one of the Pickwick clan: Piper Pickwick, Maggie Pickwick and Bridget Pickwick.

Leaving Carolina (Book 1) Book Description:

Piper Wick left her hometown of Pickwick, North Carolina, twelve years ago, shook the dust off her feet, ditched her drawl and her family name, and made a new life for herself as a high-powered public relations consultant in LA. She’s even “engaged to be engaged” to the picture-perfect U.S. Congressman Grant Spangler.

Now all of Piper’s hard-won happiness is threatened by a reclusive uncle’s bout of conscience. In the wake of a health scare, Uncle Obadiah Pickwick has decided to change his will, leaving money to make amends for four generations’ worth of family misdeeds. But that will reveal all the Pickwicks’ secrets, including Piper’s. 

Though Piper arrives in Pickwick primed for battle, she is unprepared for Uncle Obe’s rugged, blue-eyed gardener. So just who is Axel Smith? Why does he think making amends is more than just making restitution? And why, oh why, can’t she stay on task? With the Lord’s help, Piper is about to discover that although good PR might smooth things over, only the truth will set her free.

My Book Review:

This is a lighthearted inspirational romance novel that will remind the reader of the movie Sweet Home Alabama, it will have you laughing as you read it. It's a story about a small town girl (who happens to live in a town named after her family), who leaves the small town and it's family secrets behind to start over in the big city. Piper Wick (nee Pickwick) has it all: a powerful career, a good lifestyle, and an almost fiancee ... that is until the past comes knocking and she has to return to her small town roots and face the secrets and ghosts of her family's past. Little does Piper know how much her trip home will change her life - and her heart. Tamara Leigh brings her characters to life with a potpourri of wit, sarcasm, and true-to-life struggles. This is a good book filled with some romance, heartache, forgiveness and acceptance. 


Nowhere Carolina (Book 2) Book Description:

Maggie Pickwick is a lifetime away from her days as head cheerleader and the mistakes she made in high school. Twelve years later, this single mom has traded pompoms for an auctioneer’s gavel, popularity for peace and quiet, and strives to be a good example for her daughter Devyn. She’s keeping it together just fine, too—until an old flame moves back to her little North Carolina town.

Renowned artist Reece Thorpe wants nothing to do with Maggie—not after what she did to him in high school—but he might also be Devyn’s father. Fed by her own pride and fear for her daughter’s happiness, Maggie finds herself on a slippery slope of white lies as she attempts to convince Reece that she’s changed. But the truth has a way of making itself known, and now Maggie’s past and present mistakes could ruin her chance at love.

My Book Review: 

In the second book of the Southern Discomfort series, the story features Piper Pickwick's cousin Maggie Pickwick and her struggle to deal with the the mistakes that she made in her teenage years, and her determination to correct them by finding her daughter's father. Maggie's journey of self discovery, self forgiveness and moving forward is an inspirational story that will touch your heart. This is a story of romance, forgiveness, redemption and freedom born of truth ... and definitely was my favorite book in the series. 


Restless In Carolina (Book 3) Book Description:

She’s all about going green. Could he be her white knight—or will he make her see red?

Tree-huggin’, animal-lovin’ Bridget Pickwick-Buchanan is on a mission. Well, two. First she has to come to terms with being a widow at thirty-three. After all, it’s been four years and even her five-year-old niece and nephew think it’s time she shed her widow’s weeds. Second, she needs to find a buyer for her family’s estate—a Biltmore-inspired mansion surrounded by hundreds of acres of unspoiled forestland. With family obligations forcing the sale, Bridget is determined to find an eco-friendly developer to buy the land, someone who won’t turn it into single-family homes or a cheesy theme park.

Enter J. C. Dirk, a high-energy developer from Atlanta whose green property developments have earned him national acclaim. When he doesn’t return her calls, Bridget decides a personal visit is in order. Unfortunately, J. C. Dirk is neither amused nor interested when she interrupts his meeting—until she mentions her family name. In short order, he finds himself in North Carolina, and Bridget has her white knight—in more ways than one. But there are things Bridget doesn’t know about J. C., and it could mean the end of everything she’s worked for…and break her heart.

My Book Review:

In the third and final book of the Southern Discomfort series, the reader gets to meet another Pickwick cousin, Bridget. This book is the story of Bridget, a young widow, who has to come to terms with her grief over her husband's death four years ago, how to rectify her anger in God and her loss of faith, and finally how to find the courage to move forward with her life and open her heart to another man. For Bridget, there is no "happily ever after," or so she thinks until she meets JC Dirks, a real estate developer who is interested in purchasing the Pickwick estate. With the funny twist and turns that occur in this final book of the series, many Pickwick secrets are answered and you will be left smiling and satisfied! 


No comments:

Post a Comment