Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

The Cowboys of Copper Mountain - Boxed Set (Book Blast / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book blast event for The Cowboys of Copper Mountain - boxed set!









The Cowboys of Copper Mountain - Boxed Set by Melissa McClone, Jane Porter, Katherine Garbera
Publisher: Tule Publishing Group
Publication Date: March 10, 2014
Format: eBook Boxed Set - 458 pages
             Kindle - 989 KB
ASIN: B00IXRSGNA
Genre: Holiday Romance / Christmas Theme


BUY THE BOXED SET: The Cowboys of Copper Mountain


Book Description:

Three novellas and an unforgettable short story, now available together in one festive package!

A Cowboy For Christmas by Katherine Garbera

Annie Prudhomme never expected to be back in Marietta, MT and her family is fond of reminding her that she left them and the town behind in search of better things. A humiliating divorce that cost her everything she’d gained has driven her back home and her family isn’t about to welcome her back into the fold. She’s in town to rebuild the old home that she inherited and to move on once again.

Carson Scott never forgot Annie or the way she left. Now that she’s back in town he’s realizing that the old flame still burns hot but he can’t risk his heart the way he did last time now that he has his son to think about it. Being trapped together during a December snowstorm gives them a chance to rekindle their romance but is Annie back for good or is she just looking for a cowboy for Christmas? 


Christmas At Copper Mountain by Jane Porter

Since the loss of her family in a plane crash, Harley Diekerhoff has led a quiet life and keeps to herself. Taking the temporary job at the Copper Mountain Ranch as widower Brock Sheenan’s housekeeper seems perfect for her. But her calm cocoon is invaded with the arrival of Brock’s pre-teen twins, Mack and Molly who’ve never experienced a proper Christmas and before she knows it, Harley’s determined to make their holiday perfect.

Annoyed at first by Harley’s interference, Brock is secretly pleased she’s changed Mack and Molly’s world. It doesn’t hurt that he finds Harley incredibly attractive, fierce, smart and passionate. It’s also an added bonus that she’s not afraid to challenge him and get his blood heated! But when sparks fly and the attractions sizzles between them, Harley’s not so sure she can handle something permanent with this dark, taciturn cowboy who doesn’t know how to let her in. But Brock is determined to hold on to her and praying for a Christmas miracle…


Home For Christmas by Melissa McClone

Ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon.

Rachel Murphy loves the scent of gingerbread baking almost as much as she enjoys creating custom edible houses at Christmastime. But she needs a bigger kitchen if she wants to make the most of her impromptu holiday business.

Enter Nate Vaughn, handsome venture capitalist turned Montana dude ranch owner and her brother’s boss. Nate’s commercial kitchen is perfect for the baker. And he thinks she might be perfect for him…as a business partner.

After being burned by a celebrity baker, Rachel’s wary of Nate’s interest in her gingerbread houses, not to mention his mistletoe kisses. She should leave the Bar V5 ranch and return to Arizona. Or can Nate convince her she’s already home?


Mistletoe Magic by Melissa McClone

Spending a quiet Christmas housesitting and reading novels about hot cowboys sounds perfect to Caitlin. Until a stray kitten brings her face-to-face with Noah, her crush from college. Watching the handsome vet in action melts Caitlin's heart and brings back long-forgotten emotion. She would be safer back at the house lost in the pages of a book. But a toe-curling mistletoe kiss tempts her to stay. Maybe she won't be spending this Christmas… alone.

Veterinarian Noah Sullivan isn't a Scrooge, but the Christmas Eve tradition of hanging mistletoe in the clinic's waiting room annoys him. Kissing doesn't belong at the Copper Mountain Animal Hospital. Noah rethinks his position when Caitlin Butler arrives with a stray kitten she found freezing in the snow. All he wants now is to maneuver the pretty preschool teacher under the mistletoe. If he's not careful, he'll wind up on Santa's naughty list.


Book Excerpt:


Excerpt from A Cowboy For Christmas:

Marietta, Montana did Christmas in a big way with all the storefronts on Main Street draped in garland and twinkle lights. The Main Street Diner wasn’t any different with its rustic wreath made with layers of old ropes and decked with red poinsettia leaves and Rocking Around the Christmas Tree playing merrily on the jukebox as Carson Scott opened the door.

No one was exactly sure how the Wednesday night tradition had started, not even Carson, but he knew that his brothers had done it for him. It had been in the dark time right after Rainey had been killed in a head-on collision out on highway 89 on her way back from Livingston. He’d sat at home every night with baby Evan drinking too much Red Bull. His oldest brother Alec had insisted that they all meet in Marietta at the diner for dinner.

Alec had thick blond hair like their momma and piercing blue-gray eyes that Carson had heard more than one girl describe as colder than the glaciers in Glacier Park. But Sienna, Alec’s wife, had said that she knew how to warm him up. Which had led to a lot of ribbing by Carson and his other brothers. Alec needed to be taken down a peg or two at times.

But not on Wednesday nights. Carson showed up here after he dropped Evan off at his maternal grandparents’ house and ate chili and cornbread with his brothers. There were five of them all together and sometimes Flo, who ran the grill, gave them a hard time about being carbon copies of their dad, but that didn’t bother any of them. Their old man cast a long shadow and had a reputation for being honest and hard-working. There were worse things a man could be known for.

There were only five weeks left until Christmas and Evan was being cagey about what he wanted from Santa this year. He’d hinted he wanted a mommy that wasn’t in heaven. And the last thing that Carson was interested in was dating any woman, much less one to become Evan’s new mommy.

“Isn't that Annie waiting tables?” Alec said as they entered the diner. The walls were heavy red brick and the floor solid wood. There was a counter with red leather-covered stools bolted to the floor in front of it, and for as long as Carson could remember beehive-haired Flo was standing at the grill cooking delicious food, trading gossip, and flirting with any man who entered.

“Annie who?” he asked. He was holding the door open for his younger brother Hudson who had a shopping bag from The Mercantile in one hand and his Stetson in the other.

“Prudhomme. Is there another Annie you’d care about?” Alec asked.

“I thought she'd left town for good,” Hudson said.

Annie. Here. Wow.

Why?

How?

When?

It didn’t make sense. He ate here every Wednesday with his brothers. She hadn’t been here last week. Why was she here now?



About The Authors



USA Today, and New York Times bestselling author of 47 romances and women's fiction titles, Jane Porter has been a finalist for the prestigious RITA award five times, with her Tule Publishing novella, Take Me, Cowboy, winning the Novella Category July 2014. Jane today has over 12 million copies in print, including her wildly popular Flirting with Forty, a novel picked by Redbook Magazine as it's Red Hot Summer Read in 2006 before being turned into a Lifetime movie in 2008 starring Heather Locklear.

Jane holds an MA in Writing from the University of San Francisco and makes her home in sunny San Clemente, CA with her surfer husband three sons, and two dogs. You can learn more about Jane at janeporter.com.


AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
PINTEREST
INSTAGRAM
GOODREADS





USA Today bestselling author Katherine Garbera is a two-time Maggie winner who has written more than 65 books. Writing is the chief focus of her time after her family and the only thing she likes more than working on her own books is reading other authors. She is a frequent speaker at conferences and loves the opportunity to talk about writing with anyone who'll listen. A Florida native who grew up to travel the globe, Katherine now makes her home in the Midlands of the UK with her husband, two children and a very spoiled miniature dachshund.

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER 
PINTEREST
INSTAGRAM
GOODREADS




Melissa McClone has published over thirty romance novels with Harlequin and Tule Publishing Group. She’s also been nominated for Romance Writers of America’s RITA® award. When she isn’t writing, you can usually find her driving her minivan to/from her children’s swim practices and other activities. She also sends care packages to deployed service members and fosters cats through a local no-kill animal shelter. Melissa lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, three school-aged children, two spoiled Norwegian Elkhounds and cats who think they rule the house. They do!

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
PINTEREST
GOODREADS




Contest Giveaway

Win A $25 Amazon Gift Card



The authors will award a $25 Amazon GC to one randomly drawn rafflecopter winner (international giveaway) and a $20 Amazon GC to one randomly drawn host.

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/12/book-blast-cowboys-of-copper-mountain.html


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Book Blast Event





Book Blast Event Schedule:

December 15
1. Full Moon Dreaming
2. Read More Romance
3. From Me to You ... Video, Photography, & Book Review
4. Writer Wonderland
5. Harlie's Books
6. Kaisy Daisy's Corner
7. It's Raining Books

December 16
1. Word Menagerie
2. Bunny's Review
3. Undercover Book Reviews
4. 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, and Sissy, Too!
5. The Book Review
6. Welcome to My World of Dreams
7. Laurie's Thoughts and Reviews

December 17
1. Jersey Girl Book Reviews
2. The Reading Addict
3. A to Z Reviews
4. Cathie Dunn writes...
5. Romance Novel Giveaways
6. Paranormal Romance and Authors That Rock
7. Books N Pearls

December 18
1. Hope. Dreams. Life... Love
2. Lisa Haselton's Reviews and Interviews
3. Unabridged Andra's
4. A Book Addict's Delight
5. Room With Books
6. Long and Short Reviews
7. My Odd Little World



Monday, December 15, 2014

The Pursuit of Happiness by Melissa Rae Madison (Author Guest Post / Book Review)

In association with Chick Lit Plus Blog Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for The Pursuit of Happiness by Author Melissa Rae Madison!






Author Guest Post

Humor = Tragedy + Time


Just a few months after I graduated from college, I totaled my first car in an unfortunate meeting with a rather large deer. I was underinsured and broke, so I was devastated. My mother, perhaps a little optimistically, told me that someday I would look back and laugh. I probably said something terribly obnoxious to her and then went off to sulk.

I owe her an apology (sorry, Mom!) because now that memory does make me laugh. Actually, I’ve gotten a lot of mileage out of that story over the years. Personally, I like the part where the game warden asked me to avert my eyes while he put the injured deer out of its suffering. I looked at my first car, now a hulking, steaming wreck, and asked him to give me the gun so I could do it myself. (He refused. And please, rest assured that I’m an animal lover and at any other time I would have been horrified at the sight of that poor deer. But. My car.)

I’ve heard many words of wisdom from my mother and I’ve actually listened to some of them, but “this will be funny some day” (unconsciously echoing Mark Twain’s quote that humor is tragedy plus time), has resonated with me perhaps more than any other. Mining real life for moments of inspiration is a crucial tool in the writer’s toolbox, and tragedy is no exception.

Using humor to deal with pain isn’t, and shouldn’t be, solely the province of writers or artists, though. It’s a useful method of dealing with life’s disappointments for all of us. Don’t get me wrong. There are some experiences will never rise to the level of comic anecdote, and that’s fine. Some things aren’t meant to be funny, not now, not ever. But if you’re confident that someday you will be able to laugh at most of the events that seem so full of pathos at the time, it might help ease the pain.

By the time Monte Carlo meets deer ended in a tie, I’d already started to mentally rewrite events, even as I was experiencing them, to mine the comedic possibilities.

After the accident, I called my Dad, who had a body shop and would be able to tow away the hunk of metal that used to be my car. While I was waiting for him, another driver, who’d pulled over to make sure I was all right, eyed the deer. He looked from me to the game warden, then asked “Are you going to keep that deer?”

“No,” I said decisively

“Can you help me tie it on my car?” he asked, producing a length of frayed rope from his trunk. Without a word, I helped him lift the deer and secure it tightly to the top of his car. I’d grown up in a town where hunting was one of the major activities, so this didn’t seem at all strange to me. He was driving away with his prize when my Dad pulled in.

When you’ve just destroyed your first car and are still shaking from the accident, there are all kinds of things you might expect your father to say.

Mine said, “I can’t believe you gave away that deer. All that venison, gone to waste.”

As he shook his head at me in disappointment, I felt a giggle start to bubble up to the surface. I squelched it before it came out, the gravity of the situation washing over me. Now, if I could do it over, I’d let the giggle come, and the deep belly laughs that were sure to follow. It wouldn’t have undone the accident, but it would have made it all a little more bearable.

Humor can help ease the pain, soothe the sting, and bring a little more light into your life. And can’t we all use a little more light?

-Melissa Rae Madison




About The Author



Melissa Rae Madison, a partially reformed lawyer, is formerly from Pennsylvania but now lives in sunny Southern California, where she regularly laments the scarcity of really good cannoli. When she's not writing or lawyering, she enjoys reality tv marathons, sugary cereal, and being bossed around by her pushy Siamese cat.


AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE
GOODREADS




Book Review



The Pursuit of Happiness by Melissa Rae Madison
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: January 26, 2014
Format: eBook - 279 pages
             Kindle - 911 KB
ASIN: B00I2FSZL6
Genre: Contemporary Women's Fiction


BUY THE BOOK: The Pursuit of Happiness


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Chick Lit Plus Blog Tours.


Book Description:

Tay Bellagio, a former tomboy from rural Pennsylvania, has finally achieved the life of her dreams, or so she thinks. She’s a successful lawyer for a top law firm in Philadelphia, making more money that she ever imagined. She has a group of dear friends and a loving extended family, and the attractive bartender at the local Irish pub has just asked her on a date. She has everything she wants, except happiness.

Why is Tay so miserable? Maybe it’s her boss, a power-hungry partner at her firm who thrives on humiliating his subordinates. Maybe it’s her friends, who are getting fed up with her diva attitude, or her family, who thinks she’s pulling away from them. Maybe it's the bartender, who thinks she’s shallow. Or maybe it’s because the life of her dreams is becoming a nightmare.

When family obligations and an ethical dilemma at work crumble Tay’s carefully constructed world, she has to take another look at her dreams and ambitions and decide what she wants out of life. And to her surprise, it may not be what she’d planned.


Book Excerpt:


It was Friday, my sweet beautiful Friday, and until Ed called me to his office, I had been in a particularly good mood. The previous weekend after reading a self-help article in a magazine aimed at working women (hey, that's me!) I had written a list of positive affirmations meant to improve my attitude, which admittedly is generally pretty crappy: "I have a satisfying job that is perfect for me" and "I'm in control of my thoughts and emotions."

So far it seemed to be working, as I'd gotten through the week without a nervous breakdown (a significant victory, in my view). It had been a calm week at Morris, Cramton & Watson and I was lulled into a false sense of security. Friday had been one of those serendipitous days when everything went right. It was such a nice day that I even ate lunch in the break room with a couple of my co-workers instead of sitting in the plaza outside our building and soaking up the city air as I do most days, in an attempt to get stoned enough on exhaust fumes to make it through the afternoon.

Naturally Ed had to spoil it all by calling me to his office, no doubt with some nefarious scheme in mind. While Ed ignored me by pretending to read his email, I tried not to hyperventilate, and went back to my repeating my positive affirmations to myself. I dropped "I have a satisfying job...." because I was pretty sure that charade wasn't going to hold up for more than another ten or twenty seconds. Instead I went with "I'm in control of my thoughts and emotions...I'm in control of my thoughts and emotions...I'm-"

"Are you aware that the deadline for filing a motion to compel is today?" Ed asked, swinging around in his chair to face me across his cluttered desk.

My mind raced and I was no longer in control of my thoughts and emotions.

Motion to compel? What is he talking about? Did I screw up? What did I screw up? Oh my god I'm going to get fired and I don't even know what's going on.

"I don't know what you mean," I squeaked. I hated the sound of my own voice. I wanted to slap that weak, cowering girl whose voice trembled and whose eyes were already starting to water. * Ed's bushy eyebrows shot up in mock surprise.

"You don't know what I mean." This was a statement, not a question. "You are, of course, aware of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. You have, in fact, conducted discovery. I would assume that you know what a motion to compel is." He pushed a couple of stacks of paper around, managing to knock one over completely.

I tried to collect myself and go on the offensive, but it was a losing proposition.

" I meant, what case?"

"What case? The case with a motion due today," he said. Ed was perfectly calm and I felt like Alice at a tea party.

Is he insane? Of course he's insane. The question is, am I?

"There aren't any motions due today," I stated with as much conviction as I could muster, which was somewhat less than zero. I focused on the huge stain on his collar and tried to guess what it was. Ketchup? Strawberry jam? The blood of the last associate to sit in this chair? I shivered and wondered if he'd chosen maroon upholstery to hide blood stains.

"Incorrect. The Samson motion is due today and I haven't seen your draft," he said.

"Samson?"

Now I was completely confused. Yes, we had been conducting discovery in the Samson case for quite some time. We had served the plaintiff with interrogatories and requests for production, which is a lawyer's fancy way of saying we asked some questions and asked them to give us some documents. Opposing counsel in the Samson case had been more forthcoming than lawyers usually are when responding to discovery, practically handing us the keys to Mr. Samson's office and inviting us in for a little look-see. Neither party disagreed on any of the relevant facts and Mr. Samson had very few documents relating to the case whatsoever. As far as discovery goes, this case had been a piece of cake.

"Yes, the Samson motion to compel is due today," Ed said patiently, as if he were talking to a very small child or perhaps some sort of barnyard animal.

"But..." I knew the minute I said it that I was digging my grave even deeper, but I couldn't seem to shut myself up. "They responded in full to our discovery. They gave us everything."

"Oh really?"

Again with the eyebrows. Someone needs to teach him how to perform some basic brow maintenance. The look might have worked for Albert Einstein, but it did nothing for Ed.

"And how do you know they gave us everything? Can you read the plaintiff's mind?"

The little spark left in me wanted to make some wisecrack about mind reading but all I could manage to sputter was, "Uh, no. I guess not."

"Correct," Ed barked. "I want that motion on my desk in one hour."

My stomach twisted and dropped. I turned blindly and bolted from the room before I could burst into tears. Being humiliated has a way of turning on my internal waterworks and there was no way I was going to give Ed the satisfaction of crying in front of him.



My Book Review:

Tay Bellagio has everything in her life going her way: she was hired out of law school as an associate attorney with one of Philadelphia's most prestigious law firms; she has a beautiful apartment; an expensive car; money; and supportive friends .... so why is she so miserable?

In The Pursuit of Happiness, Author Melissa Rae Madison weaves an intriguing tale that has the reader following Tay Bellagio as she embarks on a personal journey of finding happiness. Set in Philadelphia and told in the first person narrative, Tay's journey is a roller coaster ride of dramatic highs and lows as she finds out that having everything doesn't always bring happiness. Sometimes life kicks you in the butt and makes you realize that changes need to be made in your life, and as Tay soon discovers, reality comes a calling when her life starts to crumble. I really enjoyed following Tay's journey, I have to admit that I wasn't a huge fan of her in the beginning, but as she made changes in her life, it was really great to see her growth and the realization that she really could find happiness.

I loved that the author utilized her personal / professional experience as an attorney to weave a believable story that anyone can relate to. The author easily draws the reader into Tay's story from the beginning, and keeps them engaged and turning the pages as Tay's journey for the pursuit of happiness unfolds. I would be remiss if I didn't mention that I loved that the author provides a richly detailed description of the local landmarks in her hometown of Philadelphia as the setting, that in itself gets two thumbs up.

With a fun cast of characters; witty dialogue and interactions; and a storyline that has a great mixture of drama and humor; The Pursuit of Happiness is an enjoyable story about what really matters most in life.


RATING: 5 STARS 
                                    





Virtual Book Tour



Book Tour Schedule:

December 1 - Chick Lit Plus - Kickoff
December 2 - FictionDreams – Q&A
December 4 - Doorflower- Guest Post
December 5 - AiLove Books – Excerpt
December 8 - ChickLit Club Connect – Guest Post
December 9 - eBookAddict- Excerpt
December 11 - Chick LitPlus – Review
December 12 - The Little Reading Cabin - Review
December 15 - Jersey Girl Book Reviews – Review, Guest Post & Excerpt
December 15 - Ski-Wee’s Book Corner - Review



Friday, December 12, 2014

Coming to Rosemont by Barbara Hinske (Book Blast / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book blast event for Coming to Rosemont by Author Barbara Hinske!






Book Review



Coming to Rosemont by Barbara Hinske
Book 1: Rosemont Saga Series
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: December 12, 2012
Format: Paperback - 205 pages
             Kindle - 914 KB
ISBN: 978-1481125277
ASIN: B00BHPF2PU
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Mystery / Suspense / Women's Fiction


BUY THE BOOK: Coming to Rosemont


BUY THE SERIES: Rosemont Saga Series
Book 1: Coming to Rosemont
Book 2: Weaving the Strands


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book bash event hosted by Goddess Fish Promotions.


Book Description:

Forensic accountant Maggie Martin survives the sudden death of her husband, the charismatic President of Windsor College, only to uncover the secrets of his carefully-concealed double life. Dealing with the financial and emotional wreckage left in Paul’s wake, she is stunned to learn he inherited an estate known as Rosemont in the seemingly-serene Midwestern town of Westbury. Why had he never told her?

Maggie travels to Westbury for the stated purpose of listing Rosemont for immediate sale, but what she really seeks are answers to her all-consuming questions about her sham of a marriage; her sham of a life. She never anticipated the seductive charm of Rosemont. Throwing her trademark caution to the wind, and over the objections of her opinionated grown children, she pulls up stakes and moves halfway across the country, determined to make a fresh start in Westbury. Behind closed doors, however, lurks a cadre of evildoers, playing with multiple wild cards of fraud, embezzlement and arson.

With a quiet, orderly – and distinctively solitary – life in mind, Maggie is instead thrown headlong into a crusade against political corruption, where defeat and retreat are not an option. Still bearing the scars of betrayal, will she find joy, romance and possibility in Westbury?

This fast-paced, smart novel has enough twists and turns to make the reader want to buckle in!


Book Excerpt:


From chapter 7

“What do you mean, mom? Fresh start? I don’t get it,” Susan finally replied.

“You know how awkward things have been for me with the College crowd. The new President and his wife are headed in a different direction and don’t want me hanging around. I don’t feel like I fit anywhere anymore. Helen is the only friend that I continue to see,” she said. Maggie raised her hand to hush their objections. “You both have your own lives. I need to have mine. I can run my business from anywhere with a phone and a computer.”

“So you’re thinking of moving there?” Susan choked.

“That’s exactly what I’ve decided to do,” Maggie replied with her best attempt at a firm, confident voice.

“But you don’t know anyone there,” Susan protested.

“Won’t you rattle around in that huge house all alone? Won’t that make you feel more alone?” Mike interjected for the first time.

“You know, that’s the part I’m most sure of. That I won’t be lonely in that house. When the front door closed behind me that first night, I knew I was home. I never told you, but I checked out of the hotel and moved into Rosemont the night I arrived,” Maggie said. Mike and Susan exchanged a skeptical glance. “And you know, the most extraordinary thing happened the next morning. I adopted a lost dog. Or more accurately, she adopted me,” Maggie said, and told them about Eve. “So you see, I won’t be alone there,” Maggie finished.

Both children remained silent. Astonished, Maggie thought with a measure of satisfaction.


My Book Review:

Coming to Rosemont is a captivating story that has a wonderful mixture of mystery, intrigue, romance and personal renewal.

Author Barbara Hinske weaves a delightful tale that follows Maggie Martin, a middle-aged forensic accountant, as she embarks on a journey of personal renewal after the untimely death of her husband Paul. Paul's death has turned her life upside down when she discovers that he has led a double life. In the final moments of his life, Paul has a deathbed confession: he has a 15 acre estate named Rosemont in the small Midwestern town of Westbury that Maggie will inherit. Maggie travels from her home in California to Westbury in search of answers and to list Rosemont for sale. But once she arrives in Westbury, Maggie is pleasantly surprised by the aristocratic and stately elegance of the neglected manor house, and decides to start her life anew and move in permanently to the house that feels so much like home. Maggie embarks on a journey of renewal and adventure in Westbury, the idyllic small Midwestern town that has it's own dark secrets interwoven within it's close-knit community.

Coming to Rosemont is an entertaining story that easily draws the reader into Maggie's personal journey of renewal, and the intriguing adventures within the community of Westbury. While Maggie establishes new roots and lovingly renovates Rosemont back to its former glory, she can't help but get drawn into the middle of the town's political scandal, and helps expose the powerful forces who control the town and have betrayed the community with their corruption and embezzlement. This is a story that will captivate the reader with its mystery, intrigue, surprising twist and turns, and touch of romance. The author transports the reader to Westbury with her rich description of the small town and its lively community. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the author's wonderful description of Rosemont, she takes the reader on a richly descriptive guided tour of the manor house and estate, it makes you wish you could visit it. This is a thoroughly enjoyable story of mystery and romance that leaves the reader wanting more!

Coming to Rosemont is the first book in the Rosemont Saga series. I look forward to seeing how Maggie's new life continues to unfold and what new adventures she will embark upon in the sequel, Weaving the Strands.


RATING: 4 STARS 
                                    




About The Author



Barbara Hinske is a practicing attorney in Phoenix, Arizona. She has two grown children with her exceedingly kind and good second husband, who died of cancer in 2006. Lucky in love, Barb married another exceptional man and father of two in 2010, and they live in their own Rosemont with two adorable and spoiled dogs.


AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
PINTEREST
GOODREADS



Contest Giveaway

Win A $25 Amazon or B&N Gift Card




Author Barbara Hinske will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN gift card to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour.

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/11/mbb-coming-to-rosemont-by-barbara-hinske.html 


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Book Blast Event





Book Blast Event Host Participants:

Coffee Books and Art 
Room With Books 
Our-Wolves-Den 
Writer Wonderland 
A Book Addict's Delight 
Queen of All She Reads 
Melina's Book Blog - review 
Harps Romance Book review 
Simpliread - review 
Jersey Girl Book Reviews - review 
BookSkater 
Books, Beer and More 
Hope. Dreams. Life... Love 
A to Z Reviews 
Beyond My Writing Space - review 
Readsalot 
The Crafty Cauldron - review 
Deal Sharing Aunt 
Welcome to My World of Dreams 
It's Raining Books 
Straight from the Library 
Long and Short Reviews 
Bunny's Review



Thursday, December 11, 2014

Moonlight in Winter Park by Samantha Chase (Book Blast / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book blast event for Moonlight in Winter Park by Author Samantha Chase!








Moonlight in Winter Park by Samantha Chase
Publisher: Chasing Romance, Inc.
Publication Date: November 24, 2014
Format: eBook - 195 pages
             Kindle - 1022 KB
             Nook - 417 KB
ASIN: B00P9RU6SK
BNID: 2940149898169
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Holiday Romance / Christmas Theme


BUY THE BOOK: Moonlight in Winter Park


Book Description: 

Moonlight in Winter Park - A modern-day Beauty and the Beast style Christmas.

All Hope Cooper needed this year was to have the kind of Christmas her family always cherished. But with her parents gone and her only brother having to work, it doesn't look like it's going to work out for her. There's nothing she can do about her parents, but she most certainly can voice her annoyance at her brother's boss for making him work out of town all through the holidays.

Beckett James hates the holidays and everything that goes with them. They were important at one time, but now the only thing that mattered was his company and it's continued growth and anyone who worked for him better feel the same way. If not, then they could find employment elsewhere and good riddance. With a major expansion deal on the line, Beckett needs to focus. What he doesn't need is Hope to come barging into his mountain retreat demanding that her brother come home immediately due to an emergency.

Suddenly it's two alone in a snowstorm. Two alone for Christmas. And two alone to fight an attraction that had been there all along. Hope soon begins to realize she may have misjudged Beckett while he comes to see that there really is something special and magical about Christmas. But once they leave their private winter wonderland and return to their normal lives, will the magic still be there?


Book Excerpt:


He stood there in front of her, looking all kinds of handsome. His dark hair slightly mussed, a gray wool scarf around his neck and a black wool jacket covering his muscular build. It wasn’t fair that he could look so good all the damn time – so calm and completely in control – when her life was spinning in the complete opposite direction.

“I…I really need to go,” she said finally and then forced herself to look up and meet his eyes. Damn. They were so dark, so intense and it would be so easy to just look into them forever. A sigh escaped before she could stop it. “Merry Christmas, Beckett,” she said with a bit of a forced smile.

“You too, Hope.”

“And I guess a Happy New Year, too,” she added and turned to climb into her car when his hand on her arm stopped her again. It was on the tip of her tongue to ask what he wanted, but suddenly his lips were on hers and Hope had to remember how to breathe.

His lips were gentle at first but once she seemed to overcome her shock and relax, Beckett’s hands came up and cupped her face, caressed her cheeks. Hope sighed as her own hands crept up and clutched the front of his coat. It was so unexpected, such a complete surprise to her that Hope needed to keep herself anchored to something or her knees would surely give out and she’d be in a puddle on the ground.

After Beckett seemed satisfied with introducing himself to her through his kiss, he deepened it. His hand traveled up and into the riotous curls on her head as he moved closer to her. The feel of his lean body pressed up against hers sent Hope’s own body into overdrive. Over and over he slanted his lips over hers, his tongue teased hers, his breath mingled with hers. It was glorious and all-consuming and yet all she could do was purr against him.

Long moments later when Beckett finally lifted his head from hers, he stared down into her face. “Happy New Year, Hope,” he said, his voice slightly rough and gravelly. His hand trailed down her cheek to her chin before he let her go and stepped back.

And walked away.



About The Author



New York Times and USA Today Bestseller/contemporary romance writer Samantha Chase released her debut novel, Jordan's Return, in November 2011. Although she waited until she was in her 40's to publish for the first time, writing has been a lifelong passion. Her motivation to take that step was her students: teaching creative writing to elementary age students all the way up through high school and encouraging those students to follow their writing dreams gave Samantha the confidence to take that step as well.

When she's not working on a new story, she spends her time reading contemporary romances, blogging, playing way too many games of Scrabble on Facebook and spending time with her husband of 25 years and their two sons in North Carolina. For more information visit her website at www.chasing-romance.com.


AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
GOOGLE+
PINTEREST
GOODREADS



Contest Giveaway

Win A $25 Amazon or B&N Gift Card




Author Samantha Chase will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn host.

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here: 

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/11/book-blast-moonlight-in-winter-park-by.html 

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Book Blast Event





Book Blast Event Hosts:

Unabridged Andra's 
Bunny's Review 
Harps Romance Book Review 
Erotic Author Nancy Adams 
From Me to You ... Video, Photography, and Book Review 
Read Your Writes Book Reviews 
Welcome to My World of Dreams 
It's Raining Books 
Straight from the Library 
Long and Short Reviews 
Laurie's Thoughts and Reviews 
Room With Books 
Shooting Stars Reviews 
Kaisy Daisy's Corner 
Jersey Girl Book Reviews 
Owltastic Promotions 
Musings From An Addicted Reader 
Aly's Miscellany 
Harlie's Books 
Harlie Williams, Author 
DRB1stChp Blog 
Hope. Dreams. Life... Love 
Romance Novel Giveaways



Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Winter Dreams: 7 Heartfelt Holiday Romances Boxed Set (Book Promo)

Book Promo





WINTER DREAMS 


7 Heartfelt Holiday Romances 
$0.82 on Amazon for a Limited Time (Prices at other e-retailers vary)


Boxed Set Description:

Winter's crisp cold is the perfect backdrop for holiday lights, snowball fights, and starry nights by the fire, curled up with hunky heroes. Let these seven couples show you how to find the warmth of red-hot romance.

Christmas Dinner: Amanda dreads returning home single for Christmas, but the only available man is her rival for the TV anchor spot. Can the holiday spirit turn animosity into love?

The Winter Fairy: Recuperating ballerina Penelope Glazier can enchant the young girls in her class, but will her magic work on Carson Langley, the sexy but straight-laced single father of her most talented student?

Holiday Hoopla: Halle is about to lose her gift shop, until banker Blake walks into her life, dangling an offer that could save it all, or cost her everything.

Wynter's Journey: Twelve years after tragedy tore Wynter and Sam apart, can another predicament bring them back together?

The Winter Promise: War throws Lady Emma and Lord Robert together, where they must decide if they can listen to their hearts - or if they would be wiser never to trust each other.

Winter Storms: Daniel's sailing accident cost Carly her shot at Olympic dreams, while his own athletic success was unhindered. Now he's returned and they're stuck in the Cornish village where storms lash them from outside - and within.

Old Christmas: Casey needs help from the magic that walks on Old Christmas Eve to find her way back home, and to the love she left behind.

*Sensuality Level: Sensual


Book Excerpts:

Christmas Dinner by Robyn Neeley

“Arrive at destination on left.” The familiar voice of Tate’s GPS echoed throughout his Jeep, interrupting the soft sounds of Christmas music.

This couldn’t be right. Could it? He pulled onto the side of the road. His navigation system had taken him down a dark and twisty path for the last fifteen minutes. There were few homes on either side. He shook Amanda’s shoulder gently. His eyes focused on the spectacle in front of him.

“What time is it?” She yawned and sat up. “Are we here already?”

“That’s what I would like to know. Amanda, is this your parents’ house?” He leaned over his steering wheel and peered out the window. In front of him, thousands of decorative red and green lights flickered on rows of Christmas trees at the bottom of a hill, showcasing what he could only describe as a cross between Santa’s Village and the middle of Times Square. A blanket of snow stretched at least a quarter of a mile up the hill. At the top was a beautiful two-story mountain log cabin. Glistening white Christmas lights outlined the house.

Amanda sighed. “Yep. We’re here.”

“This is amazing. Amanda, is your dad Santa Claus?” he asked, half joking.

“Not quite.”

“They could land 747 jets on your front yard. That tree in the middle has to be over thirty feet tall.” He pointed to the west side of the lawn. “Is that a horse and sleigh over there?”

“The horse is fake. I’d rather not talk about the sleigh.”

“Then we won’t.” He suspected she might have some unpleasant memories of it involving the infamous ex. Perhaps it was the scene of the aborted proposal.

Amanda sighed. “Good. Did your parents decorate their lawn for the holidays?” She reached behind her for her bags.

“No. Well, yeah, I guess. But this, well, this . . . wow . . . It’s just really something.”


About Robyn:

Robyn Neeley is an East Coaster who loves to explore new places, watches way more reality TV than she cares to admit, can’t live without Recess Peanut Butter Cups and has never met a Christmas cookie she didn’t like. (Her favorite cookie made it into Holiday Wedding!) She writes romantic comedy, sometimes with a hint of magic, but always with a happy ending. Visit her at www.robynneeley.com.



Winter Fairy by Lola Karns

The sight of Penelope sitting on his sofa with her long legs tucked up beside her drew his attention as soon as he stepped inside. Her blue eyes blinked at him, giving her an expression that managed to be both innocent and alluring at the same time. He set down the cups he held in his hand, and after a long minute remembered to take off his coat and boots.

“Hi.”

“Hi, yourself.” She smiled. “How did your shopping go?” She skeptically eyed the one bag and the cups resting on the entry table.

He approached the couch, carrying the bag and coffees with him, the same time as she stood. “Very good. I’ll have to empty the trunk later. I brought you something.” He waved the coffee cups. “I didn’t know what you like. I got a peppermint mocha and a gingerbread latte. Which would you prefer?” She bit her lip and furled her brow. “Stay for a bit. I can’t drink all this coffee by myself.”

Her gaze slid to the cups, the left side of her mouth raised slightly as she glanced back to him. “I’m such a typical girl. I can’t say no to chocolate.”

He offered her the mocha before sitting beside her. He couldn’t agree with her – she was no typical girl in his book. She unsettled him. “Then I know which piece of cheesecake you’ll want.” He reached into the bag and handed her a box and a fork. “I could get plates if you want.”

She opened the box, revealing chocolate cheesecake decorated with chocolate ganache and white chocolate drizzle. “This is great. Thank you.”

Her fluttering eyelashes distracted him, but the moan she let out when she took her first bite went straight to his groin. Now he was second-guessing his decision to bring dessert. He’d wanted his grown up company to stay longer - he hadn’t anticipated being reminded of the more carnal pleasures he missed with his self-imposed solitude. Or had he? As he tried to resolve his true motive, she interrupted his thoughts.

“If it’s not too rude, what prompted this delicious treat?”

“I was by the shop and cheesecake sounded good. It’s been a long time since I’ve indulged in dessert after Eloise has gone to bed. Dessert always tastes better when…”

He hesitated. Calling her a friend didn’t seem quite right. She seemed more than that, even though he barely knew her.

She looked up,“When it’s shared.”


About Lola:

Having worked as a wide variety of jobs as she moved through Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, New Jersey, Georgia, and Virginia, Lola Karns decided she needed a more portable career. Writing fit the bill.

Lola currently resides in Minnesota with her husband, two children, two hairless cats, and a fluffy ex-stray cat. When not writing, she enjoys baking, reading and drinking coffee.

She is the author of Bad Traveler and Winter Fairy. Visit Lola at lolakarns.com



Holiday Hoopla by Dana Volney

Blake Ellison continued to watch the woman. Can’t I have a moment of peace? I can’t even Christmas shop without . . . This gal has the right idea, drinking in the afternoon. That’s my kind of day. He wished it was just because of the holidays, but lately his life was complicated with unfair obligations that made him want to drink—a lot . . . a whole lot.

Blake assessed the friendly sales gal. Her blonde hair was tied back in a messy pony tail that was weirdly sensual. Her fresh face was a welcome relief from the overly made up women he usually encountered.

“I’m Blake by the way.” He offered his hand.

“Halle, nice to meet you.” She slipped her hand in his firmly. Strong. Good. Limp fish handshakes were the worst.

“You don’t happen to have another glass or bottle of beer hiding back there, do ya?” He raised an eyebrow again.

Halle laughed and her green eyes danced. He grinned, getting swept up in the moment.

“Tsk, tsk.” She crinkled her nose. “Isn’t it a little early?”

“Well, you made it look so fun.” He cocked his head toward the counter where she’d spilled what smelled like a Zinfandel.

“You, my new friend, are in luck. I happen to have a glass and, better yet, a new bottle.”

She knelt down to fish under the counter and Blake leaned over to check out the view his higher perch now afforded him. Sexy. Halle popped back up and his startled eyes found hers. She fetched a decorated glass off the shelf and waggled it in her hand.

“Convenient.” He nodded toward the spot she’d just made vacant.

“Perk of being the owner.” She winked and headed to the back of her store.

Blake wasn’t sure what do to, but he followed because she had wine. She owns this place? Huh. He couldn’t keep his eyes from roaming. Nice ass.

Halle motioned to a couple of high backed, brightly patterned green and pink chairs. A sitting area had been set up in the middle of the store, complete with an end table between the chairs and a rug. They sat and she poured.

“Cheers.”

They clinked glasses.

“So, Blake, what drives you to drink in the middle of the day?”


About Dana:

Dana Volney lets her imagination roam free in Wyoming where she writes romances and helps local businesses succeed with her marketing consulting company. Surrounding herself with good friends, family, and boating on the lake whenever she can, she thrives on moments and memories created with loved ones, especially on sun filled days. That's when Wyoming's charm really sinks in. Dana is bold, adventurous and--by her own admission--good with plants, having kept a coral cactus alive for more than one year. Visit Dana at www.DanaVolney.com.


Wynter’s Journey by Jennifer DeCuir

Okay, it was go time. What was the first thing they were supposed to do? Sam looked wildly around the room. He kept his voice calm, and hid the tremors that threatened to rattle his teeth loose. Wynter was counting on him.

He got her into bed and rushed to his desk in the corner. Jerking at the mouse to wake up the screen, Sam brought up the website he’d been studying just a few short hours ago. He thought he’d had more time.

Yeah, he’d been anticipating this. It was Vermont–in the dead of winter. Chances were pretty damned good that a snowstorm would make a routine hospital delivery less and less likely. And he’d been right to assume that Wynter wouldn’t take the contractions seriously until it was too late. She was too stubborn for her own good.

So they were doing this. Another scream from the bed had him yanking the power cord from the laptop and carrying it with him back to the other side of the room. The website hadn’t bothered to explain that hearing his best friend’s gut-wrenching cries of pain would push his own stress levels beyond human endurance.

“Amazing what you can learn from the internet.” That ridiculous statement earned him a glare. Yeah, probably best to keep the chatter to a minimum.

“Sam. Call 9-1-1,” she panted.

He was going to do that. It was next on his list. Really. He reached for the cell phone that he kept on the nightstand charger next to his bed. It wasn’t there. He stared frantically at the empty charger.

Wynter watched him closely, her eyes pleading with him.

“Sam, please!” She clutched at the sheets with a white-knuckled grip, her entire body going rigid. Crap.

“I’ll be right back. Don’t go anywhere.” Sam spun on his heel and raced for the stairs, taking them two at a time, falling on his butt and sliding down the last few. Not letting it stop his momentum, he ran to his office.


About Jennifer:

Jennifer DeCuir grew up in a small town in Maine, which provides the basis for Scallop Shores, the fictional town in Drawn to Jonah. She's busy raising two kids and a husband. She loves including children and babies in her stories, as her own provide endless story ideas. Currently residing in rain-soaked Washington, she can usually be found working on her latest book in a local Starbucks. Visit Jennifer at http://www.jenniferdecuir.com/home.html.



The Winter Promise by Jenny Jacobs

The painful stirrings of a headache began to throb behind Robert’s temples. He knew he was about to hear a story. He hoped it would at least be entertaining. He very much doubted it would be true.

The foreigner stared at his face with wide violet eyes. He narrowed his own gray eyes at her. He knew he was not the most attractive man to women, but she needn’t gawp at him in such a rude way.

He acknowledged her with a curt nod and seated himself on his chair, rough-hewn from one of the alders that flourished on Athelney, as sturdy and as solid – and as undecorative – as he.

Nettled by her stare, he responded in kind with a thorough and thoroughly offensive inventory of his own. She looked young but must have reached her majority or she would have a guardian to look after her and would not require his generosity. For he had no doubt that was what she was here to obtain. She must be a widow, or at least unmarried, or there would be a husband. Unless – he hoped she didn’t expect him to intervene in a marital dispute. He would never let a wife like this run away, not one with such delicate features and soft unmarred skin, masses of dark hair demurely covered with fine linen, the spark in her eye hinting that her spirits had not been entirely quelled by whatever misfortune had befallen her. Her wide violet eyes were compelling, and he found himself looking into them for a long timeless moment.

He made himself shift his gaze, cataloging all of her failings: the borrowed dress she wore, which could only mean she had arrived at Athelney without personal possessions of any kind; the lack of companions to accompany her, where any lady of quality would have at least one or two trailing after her, annoying his servants; the awkwardness of the curtsy she’d given him, which meant she didn’t care about her manner, and he already had enough of those in his household; the boots on her feet, which meant she would not be the quiet, retiring type who stayed indoors and consoled him with gentle murmurs and warm compresses; the outline of a dagger in her sleeve. He sighed again.


About Jenny:

Jenny Jacobs, a writer living in the Midwest, is still kissing frogs, but likes to write about people finding their happily ever after—even if they have to go through some difficulties to get there. She is the author of Sadie's Story and The Winter Promise. Visit her at www.jennyjacobbooks.com 



Winter Storms by Lucy Oliver

Slinging a rucksack over his shoulder, he stepped across the floating jetty to the sea wall. A rank odour of dead fish, salt water, and rust hit him; scents he remembered from his childhood. Boats creaked at their moorings and faint music drifted over from a pub.

Brick steps led up the harbour wall, slippery with rubbery, rotting seaweed and when he reached the top, he froze, waiting for the bright flash of a camera. It never came and he smiled. Of course in winter, the harbour lay deserted. It was during the summer months that scores of flip-flops struck across the warm cobbled streets, sticky with dropped Cornish ice cream. But he always preferred winter when the pavements were empty and waves hit the harbour walls in powerful green swells.

He strode across the cobbles. A new shop had been set up in his absence, a neat, modern place with a window display lit up by bright fairy lights and filled with sugar mice. Tomorrow he’d come back to buy Christmas presents, since he brought none with him, but now it was time to go home, time to surprise his family, to explain about Imogen and the cancelled wedding. He stepped back into the full force of the wind, striding along the harbour to the main town. Here the buildings caught the worst of the gusts and he moved faster.

A few shops were still open, filling the air with the scent of fresh bread and spicy minced pies, making his stomach rumble. A large fir tree dotted with white lights stood in the central town square surrounded by a band who clutched brass instruments and rattled collection buckets, sleet beading on their blue uniforms. Two younger members grinned at him and he smiled back, dropping a few coins into their pot.

“I know you,” the teenager said. “Your photo’s on the hall of the sailing club, you’re Daniel Edwards.”


About Lucy:

Lucy Oliver grew up by the sea and particularly loved walking along the harbor in winter, when the streets were deserted and waves crashed against the seawalls. Now living inshore, she likes to return to those memories by writing passionate romances set against the backdrop of the English countryside. Lucy enjoys writing about characters that like all of us, have flaws, mixed in with her trademark touch of spice.

She also writes under the name Lucy Hartbury for higher heat level works, including an exciting and saucy version of Dracula. Join her on Twitter at Writingoliver or check out her blog at http://lucyoliverwrites.blogspot.co.uk/



Old Christmas by Kathryn Brocato

Casey blinked and shook her head. “Now I know what’s wrong here. This is a dream. All of you except Granny are dead. I knew there was something weird about this.”

Cynthia tilted one hip forward in imitation of a model’s stance. “You’re the one who believes in all Mom’s nonsense about Old Christmas. And they do say spirits walk on Old Christmas Eve.”

“I’m getting out of here.” Casey felt her hair attempting to lift off her scalp. “Come on, Granny.”

Alice chuckled. “No one here means you any harm, Casey. We all want the same thing–your happiness.”

Casey reached out tentatively to touch Alice. Alice’s skin was warm and solid, not cool and fragile as it had been in the hospital.

Casey swallowed and regarded her grandmother in shock.

Alice smiled. “Don’t try to hold me, Casey. I’m more than ready to go. It’s Old Christmas Eve, you know. I only came to apologize for teaching you to be ashamed of your mother’s actions. I simply didn’t realize how it would affect you.”

Casey squeezed her eyes shut, then opened them again, and forked her hair back to stare wildly around the barn. She couldn’t see two inches in front of her face.

She was alone.


About Kathryn:

Kathryn Brocato writes contemporary romance with a small-town touch. She is a scientist and business owner who lives in Southeast Texas with her husband, dogs, and chickens. Her first published romance was a Kismet Romance, Storm Warning. She also wrote The Cartwright Heritage, writing as Katy King for White Rose Press. Currently, she writes contemporary romance for the Crimson Romance line. Visit Kathryn at http://kathrynbrocato.com/.



Purchase Links:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
iTunes
Kobo
Goodreads