Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Murder At Morningside by Sandra Bretting (Book Cover Reveal Event / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book cover reveal event for Murder At Morningside by author Sandra Bretting!







About The Book



Murder At Morningside by Sandra Bretting
Book 1: Missy DuBois Mystery Series
Publisher: Kensington / Lyrical Underground / Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Publication Date: May 24, 2016
Format: eBook - 320 pages
               Kindle
               Nook
ISBN: 978-1601837134
ASIN: B014NWMHEW
Genre: Cozy Mystery


Preorder The Book:


Book Description:

Hat designer Missy DuBois opened her shop, Crowning Glory, along Louisiana's Great River Road to cater to the sophisticated Southern bride. But bless her heart, who knew creating stylish wedding veils would lead to murder?

Hired to craft a veil for a socialite getting married at Morningside Plantation means Missy can bask in the height of antebellum atmosphere. But when the bride is found dead in a women's bathroom, Missy the milliner finds herself entangled in one unfashionable murder. With the list of suspects thicker than the sweltering Louisiana heat, including a gaggle of bridesmaids shedding nary a tear and a family with no shortage of enemies, it seems anyone at the mansion may have done away with the bride-to-be. While Missy has Southern charm to spare, she's going to need more than manners and a manicure to put a hat pin on this murderous affair . . .


Book Excerpt:


Time rewound with each footfall as I began to climb the grand outer staircase at Morningside Plantation. The limestone steps, burdened with the history of five generations, heaved their way toward heaven.

At the top lay a wide-plank verandah supported by columns painted pure white, like the clouds. By the time I took a third step, the digital camera in my right hand began to dissolve into the sterling silver handle of a ladies parasol. The visitors’ guide in my left hand magically transformed into a ballroom dance card bound by a satin cord.

Another step and the Mississippi River came into view as it flowed to the Gulf, languid as a waltz and the color of sweet tea. Could that be a whistle from a steamboat ferrying passengers past the plantation? If so, a turn and a wave wouldn’t be out of the question once I reached the top of the stairs, and good manners would dictate it.

I was about to do that when I realized the whistle was only my friend’s cell and not a Mississippi riverboat. “Ambrose! Turn that thing off. Honestly.”

“Sorry.” He shrugged. “I always forget you were Scarlett O’Hara in a past life.”

The mood was broken, though, and the sterling silver in my hand returned to plastic while the linen dance card hardened to a glossy brochure.





About The Author



Sandra Bretting works as a freelance feature writer under contract to the Houston Chronicle. She received a journalism degree from the University of Missouri School of Journalism and wrote for other publications (including the Los Angeles Times and Orange Coast Magazine) before moving to Texas.

Her Missy DuBois Mysteries series debuts from Kensington/Lyrical Underground in May 2016. Bretting’s previous mysteries include Unholy Lies (2012) and Bless the Dying (2014). Readers can reach her online at www.sandrabretting.com and through Facebook at www.facebook.com/sandra.bretting.


Author Website
Facebook
Goodreads




Contest Giveaway

Win A $20 Amazon or B&N Gift Card






Author Sandra Bretting will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the event, and a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn host.

Follow the event and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning.

The event participants can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2016/01/cover-reveal-murder-at-morningside-by.html 


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Book Cover Reveal Event



Event Participants:

1: Stormy Nights Reviewing & Bloggin'
2: Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews
3: Christine Young
4: Romorror Fan Girl
5: 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, & Sissy Too!
6: Full Moon Dreaming
7: Welcome to My World of Dreams
8: It's Raining Books
9: Straight from the Library
10: Wendi Zwaduk ~ Romance to Make Your Heart Race
11: Our Families Adventure
12: Lynn Crandall
13: StarAngels Reviews
14: Jersey Girl Book Reviews
15: The Certificable Wenches
16: Lilac Reviews
17: Read Your Writes Book Reviews
18: Independent Authors
19: LibriAmoriMiei
20: Around the World in Books
21: Ashleyz Wonderland
22: SolaFide Book Club
23: A to Z Reviews
24: Sapphyria's Book Reviews
25: The Book Connection
26: Harps Romance Book Review
27: books are love
28: The Reading Addict
29: Bookgirl Knitting
30: Hope. Dreams. Life... Love
31: Natural Bri
32: Books Can Be Deadly



Monday, February 8, 2016

Story of a Kiss Anthology Collection (Book Review)

In association with Coast to Coast Book Besties, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Story of a Kiss Anthology Collection!







Book Review



Story of a Kiss Anthology Collection
Publisher: Good House Publishing
Publication Date: February 1, 2016
Format: Paperback - 437 pages
               Kindle - 5464 KB
ISBN: 978-0692601006
ASIN: B019EBL8YC
Genre: Romance Anthology Collection



Buy The Book:


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the authors/publisher in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Coast to Coast Book Besties.



Book Description:

There will be a thousand kisses in a lifetime but only a handful trapped forever in your heart. This Valentine's day, join the Story of a Kiss Anthology as we take you into the lives of thirteen couples. From a very first kiss of a high-school prom queen, to a kiss that travels the width of time. Kisses of redemption, heartache, discovery, and so much more.

Thirteen authors. 

Thirteen kisses you'll never forget.


Taylor Sullivan - Never Regret 

At twenty-four, Margaret Andrews is still a virgin and sick of it. After a year on the top dating site in America, and a late night episode of HUNG on HBO, she's decided to take matters into her own hands and hires a professional.


Kelly Lincoln - Maybe Now 

When Hunter finally reveals his feelings for his best friend, Ava, their moment is destroyed by a tragedy. Now adults, a change meeting could be the perfect opportunity for a kiss ten years in the making.


Kathryn L. James - Crazy Beautiful Kiss 

Calista and Colin shared a sizzling kiss…one she couldn’t forget and one he didn’t remember. When their paths cross again, an innocent weekend in paradise becomes unforgettable.


Sha Renée - Forbidden Kisses

Ethan is a Navy Officer. Layla is Enlisted. According to rules, any personal relationship between them is prohibited. But can military regulations separate lovers who are destined to be together?


Leslie Kung - At Long Last 

Janny and Tom grew up together, but right before their friendship could turn into a budding romance, life and gravity pulled them apart. When the friends reconnected, their chemistry was undeniable--but tragedy put distance between them again. Sometimes it takes a lifetime to finally fall in love.


Emma Marie Leigh - Wrong Time 

Jo Stevens is an archaeology graduate student on the opportunity of a lifetime- an excavation in Pompeii. When her group discovers a basement, everything Jo knows is rocked. Rules are broken. Lines are crossed. Jo unearths everything she's ever wanted. She's just in the wrong time.


Louisa Blackwood - Can’t Let Go 

Josephine “Joe” Burke has been running since the night her mother died, choosing solitude over dreams. Forced to return to her hometown and her old flame, she can feel her defenses crumbling. Can she let go of the haunting history holding her back?


Polly J. Brown - Ever Be 

Evangeline’s life revolved around the water until she nearly drowned. Six weeks later, she returns to the beach to confront her fears, and Gregory Owen, the surfer who saved her life.


Jaye Cox - Love in Photographs 

When her heart remembers but her head doesn't, will one photograph change everything? Claire didn't need her memories when everything within her knew she loved him.


Brandy Ayers - Fighting Faith

At nineteen, Jasper, the love of Faith’s life, shattered her heart. Now, ten years later, they’re forced together once more. Can she hold onto the last few remaining pieces of her heart?


Kate DeHart - Missed Kisses

Struggling with the recent death of her mother, Jess finds solace in her best friend Ben. Years of sweet memories cause their feelings to grow, until he does the one thing that could tear them apart.


Jody Pardo - Left Swipe Chronicles 

Roommates Liz and Michelle venture into the world of online dating. After a series of bad first dates, how many swipes will it take to find her Man of Steel?


Cherry Shephard - Precious 

18 year old Precious Montgomery is a nobody, she’s never even had her first kiss . . . but that’s about to change. Precious has to decide what’s more important; what she’s always wanted . . . or what she’s always had.



My Book Review:

Story of a Kiss Anthology is a delightful collection of thirteen romantic short stories that are perfect to read for this week's Valentine's Day holiday. This diverse collection of sweet and sexy stories features a variety of kissable themes (1st kisses, broken hearts, second chances, redemption, renewal, friends to lovers, etc) that will tug at the heartstrings, stir the soul, and simply leave you wanting more.

I loved reading all thirteen stories, and when I tried to pick my favorite, I just couldn't do it, each story had something special that easily captivated me and left me smiling. So if you want to add a little sugar and spice to your reading pleasure, read the Story of a Kiss Anthology collection, you can thank me later.


RATING: 5 STARS 





About The Authors


Taylor Sullivan - Never Regret 
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Kelly Lincoln - Maybe Now 
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Goodreads


Kathryn L. James - Crazy Beautiful Kiss 
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Sha Renée - Forbidden Kisses
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Leslie Kung - At Long Last 
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Emma Marie Leigh - Wrong Time 
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Louisa Blackwood - Can’t Let Go 
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Goodreads


Polly J. Brown - Ever Be 
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Jaye Cox - Love in Photographs 
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Brandy Ayers - Fighting Faith
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Goodreads


Kate DeHart - Missed Kisses
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Pinterest
Goodreads


Jody Pardo - Left Swipe Chronicles 
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Instagram
Pinterest
YouTube
Goodreads


Cherry Shephard - Precious 
Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads






Unawakened by Trillian Anderson (Book Spotlight)

In association with Pump Up Your Book, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Unawakened by author Trillian Anderson!







About The Book



Unawakened by Trillian Anderson
Book 2: Dae Portals Series
Publisher: Bright Day Publishing
Publication Date: January 26, 2016
Format:  eBook - 305 pages
                Kindle - 748 KB
ASIN: B017WHH9EI
Genre: Urban Fantasy


Buy The Book:


Discuss this book in our PUYB Virtual Book Club on Goodreads



Book Description:

In order to restore peace after the Dawn of Dae, the United States has declared martial law. Enforcing the militant regime won't be easy, and a new policing force of dae and their bonded humans has been mustered to keep the populace under tight control.

Alexa wants nothing to do with the government, its army, or the special forces meant to keep rebellion at bay, but she has a choice: do what Kenneth Smith wants or die a quick death. As one of the unawakened, she has no chance of infiltrating the police on her own. Forced to partner with Kenneth's dae, who dislikes her almost as much as she dislikes it, her life hinges on how well she convinces others she's a big, bad monster just like them instead of an ordinary human woman.

Working for the police is no easier than dealing with Kenneth's work. During the day, she's a part of the law, but at night, she's a tool of crime and war. It's only a matter of time before she's caught--or fails her mission and is killed by her drug-dealing boss.


If she wants to live a free life, she'll need to take care of Kenneth once and for all. Since he won't listen to reason and let her go, she's determined to buy her freedom with his death.


Unfortunately, Kenneth isn't the only problem in her life, and unless she does something about Rob, she'll lose the independence she fought so hard for. Worse, unless she's careful, he'll make her like it...



Book Excerpt:



Chapter One


Three months after Kenneth Smith had tried to kill me, I returned to his home with a katana and a gun. I wore the sword as a message and a promise I wouldn’t go quietly if Kenneth or one of his other hounds tried to kill me again.
The gun would be how I kept my lethal promise, and its weight in my shoulder holster reassured me. Despite the early winter chill, I left my leather coat open so I could reach my Beretta if I needed it.
I likely would.
Violence I understood, and I found the presence of both my weapons comforting. The day was ripe for bloodshed, and my sword and gun wouldn’t help me against many of the magical dae, but I did my best to ignore that fact. It hadn’t been so long ago the bonded had been regular humans without the strength and power the magical dae gave them.
Humans remembered the purpose of a sword, and the dae bled when cut. The problem was getting close enough to kill them before they killed me.
The sunrise painted the eastern sky in red and gold, and while I wanted to find somewhere quiet to watch it, I didn’t dare. I had a limited window of opportunity to act, and I couldn’t afford to waste it.
Before the Dawn of Dae, the early hour wouldn’t have been so peaceful, safe, or quiet. The emergence of the magical had turned sunrise into one of the serene parts of the day. Many of the dangerous dae were returning to their homes to sleep while the more cautious and mundane remained indoors.
In an hour, the city would awaken. I wanted to be done with Kenneth Smith so I could get on with my life, not that I was sure what sort of life waited for me. While I hadn’t been expelled from college, classes hadn’t resumed, and no one was really sure if they would.
For the moment, education came second to restructuring society. The police and military ruled in a state of martial law implemented at the government’s decree. Despite the chokehold on the population—or because of it—things were slowly returning to normal. Most businesses had reopened, and life went on. Most of the bonded and their dae had adapted to their new partnerships and circumstances, although there were still those like Arthur around, who wanted to use their newfound powers to control, destroy, or change the world.
Dae like Arthur, ready and willing to use their powers to get what they wanted, frightened me far more than I wanted to admit. With Rob’s help, I had no scars from my time in captivity—not visible ones, at least. Some of the wounds the fire breather had inflicted on me wouldn’t heal, not until I saw to Arthur’s death myself.
I’d let Rob and Colby help. They deserved satisfaction, too. Before I could hunt Arthur, however, I needed to deal with Kenneth Smith once and for all.
I reached his street, and it didn’t surprise me to find Kenneth’s favorite bitch, Lily, waiting on his doorstep. Unlike me, she held her gun out in the open, and the instant her gaze settled on me, I understood her silent message.
One of us would walk away alive. The other wouldn’t.
I smiled. Lily’s challenge changed nothing. Kenneth Smith would fall, and if I had to take out his favorite bitch first, so be it. Business was business.
We had never liked each other anyway.


Lily watched me approach, and her eyes caught my attention. Before the Dawn of Dae, they had been blue, accenting her porcelain skin. The emergence of the dae hadn’t been kind to her, graying her complexion and turning her irises a burning orange.
Passion, love, hatred, and anger gave fire breathers their strength; that much I had learned from Rob. Lily fidgeted, flexing her left hand. A thin coating of yellow fur sprouted over her skin.
I sighed, well aware of the lethal combination of werewolf and fire breather. In a way, I had hoped Lily hadn’t bonded with a dae, although the development didn’t surprise me very much. People like me, the unawakened, were few and far between, and most dae didn’t know what to make of us.
I didn’t know what to make of us, either, which didn’t help matters any. I’d yet to meet someone like me, someone who lacked a dae to teach them the new ways of the world.
“You shouldn’t have come back,” Lily said, and flames crackled in her voice.
Why did she carry a gun? I considered her weapon; it was an antique, far older than my Beretta. Rust marred its surface. It was the type of weapon Kenneth liked, so old the government didn’t view it as too much of a threat. If the authorities found it, the deteriorating state of the pistol would convince most it wasn’t a real danger to anyone.
Kenneth, thanks to his rank, would probably get away with having it, as long as no one found any ammunition to go with it.
I knew better, though. Maybe the gun appeared damaged beyond repair, but if Lily cocked it and pulled the trigger, I’d die all the same. Kenneth didn’t keep useless things around, people included.
Lily’s gaze lowered to my katana, and the woman smiled. “That won’t save you.”
“Nice to see you, too. Is Kenneth around?”
“You won’t be seeing him.” Lily’s smile widened, and she fiddled with the hammer of the pistol. “I’d be happy to leave a message for you, though.”
I glanced in the direction of Kenneth’s house and smiled for the hidden cameras. “Yeah, I have a message you can give him.”
“Oh?” Lily adjusted the grip on her pistol, her thumb poised over the hammer, although she didn’t cock it.
In addition to the cameras, the front of Kenneth’s house was wired with microphones, so if my boss was watching, he’d get my message loud and clear. I matched the woman’s fake smile and crossed my arms over my chest. I slipped my right hand beneath the leather jacket Rob had given to me.
Lily’s posture remained relaxed, and her thumb slid away from her pistol’s hammer. “Well? What’s your message? Tell me and leave. You don’t belong here anymore.”
Escaping Kenneth Smith wasn’t so easy, and Rob had told me my boss wanted to speak with me. Rob hadn’t been happy about relaying the message, either.
The next day, he had disappeared.
If Kenneth Smith was behind Rob’s vanishing act, I’d do a hell of a lot more to him than kill his favorite bitch. I’d ruin his wealth and reputation before I murdered him and his dae.
In a way, the Dawn of Dae had been a blessing in disguise. I had Rob, and I had Colby. Maybe my future was uncertain at best, but I no longer needed Kenneth to survive. New paths had opened to me.
Lily glared at me when I remained silent. “I’m not letting you into the house.”
“Are those Kenneth’s orders?” I tilted my head to the side. “I was given a message he wanted to see me.”
“I’m not letting you into the house.”
Two could play the repetition game, and I had no intention of losing. “Are those Kenneth’s orders?”
“Are you deaf? I’m not letting you into the house. I’m giving you one chance to turn around and walk away. I’ll shoot you and throw your body in the river. No one will miss you.”
If I turned and walked away, she’d shoot me anyway; I saw her desire for my death in the way she smiled. We had been on neutral terms for a long time. When I made her job with Kenneth harder, I bribed her, but because of my stubbornness and my inability to sleep with our boss, she had many reasons to hate me. Just hearing my name was probably enough to anger Kenneth since Rob had stolen me from him.
I preferred to think I had stolen Rob with no intention of letting the dae escape me, but that was another matter entirely. My sometimes roommate, frequent lover, and partner-in-crime wouldn’t be happy when he found out I had gone to see Kenneth alone.
The remorse of killing the woman would hit me later, but such was life on the fringe while working for the elite. Kill or be killed, and I had no intention of dying quite yet.
After several months of waiting for my broken ribs to heal, my patience with Kenneth and his operations had grown thin. I pulled my gun out of its holster, took aim, and before she could do more than gasp and flinch, I fired.
Lily crumpled to the sidewalk, twitched, and fell still. I waited until her blood stained the ground around her before stepping to her body, gun ready in case she decided to get back up.
Even the weakest of the dae and their bonded had ceased decaying to ash last month. Rob had sounded both pleased and annoyed by the development. I touched my fingers to Lily’s neck in search of a pulse.
She was already cold, as though all of the heat had been sucked out of her body right along with the fires that had burned in her eyes. Her blood stained my hand. Some people loved to kill, but I wasn’t one of them. I couldn’t even force myself to look at her. I swallowed several times so I wouldn’t throw up, rose to my feet, and headed for Kenneth’s door.
It opened before I had a chance to knock. Kenneth scowled at Lily’s body before turning his attention to me. “Was shooting her necessary?”
“She would have shot me if I had turned around, and she wasn’t letting me in.”
“All I have to do to lock you away for a long time is make a single call and inform the police you shot someone,” my boss hissed through clenched teeth.
“And I’ll tell them she’s a fire breather who was armed with an illegal gun. She threatened me.” I stowed my Beretta, pulled out my wallet, and flipped it open so Kenneth could see my concealed carry license. “Unlike her, I’m allowed to shoot people who threaten me, Mr. Smith. Rob told me you wanted to speak with me?”
“Come in, Collie.” Backing out of the way to give me space to slip in, he shut the door behind me and gestured to the basement stairwell. “I’m surprised you came.”
“Rob approved of our meeting.” Rob hadn’t been happy about it, but if he thought it was important enough to involve me in Kenneth Smith’s dealings once again, I’d listen—and look for a way out of working with him permanently.
“He has you eating out of his hand,” Kenneth snarled, stalking me down the stairs to his basement lounge. I flopped on the couch, propping my booted feet up on the antique coffee table. If Kenneth noticed the fine leather, I hoped he would wonder if I had purchased them for myself or if Rob had acquired them for me.
While Rob had made the purchase, I had paid the dae back for the boots by doing tedious paperwork for him—one of the few activities I could manage while my concussion and ribs healed.
Working with Rob had a lot more perks and a lot better pay than dealing with Kenneth. Whatever he wanted had to be important if Rob wanted me to deal with him again.
“So what? Business, Mr. Smith. You need me for something, else you wouldn’t have talked with Rob. I just killed your favorite, and you’re ignoring it. What do you need me for, what’s my pay, and when do you need it done?”
“As astute as ever. Very well. I’ve gone over the documents you provided, and I want you to sniff out Terry Moore’s associates, including the dean of your college. I also have a second job for you, if you’re up for the challenge.”
Dean Lewis had been paying Terry Moore to murder women while they were under the influence of Kenneth’s drugs. Not only had Terry murdered them, he had raped them, and the drugs had ensured they enjoyed it right up until he had killed them.
The thought of killing again didn’t enthuse me, but I was prepared to make an exception for the dean of my college. I still had the video evidence, hidden away where no one would find it without my help. I still had a copy of them on my personal laptop, too, waiting for me to delve into their horrors in search of answers. I didn’t need them anymore, though. The videos’ content was seared into my memories, and I woke too often from nightmares where I was one of Terry’s victims.
Sometimes, Terry became Arthur in my nightmares, and those were the nights I woke up drenched in a cold sweat. The dreams had gotten worse since Rob had vanished, as though his presence in my bed somehow kept them away. A few times when I had woken up from nightmares and Rob had been there, he chased them away and replaced my fear with more pleasant things.
“You’re asking a lot,” I grumbled.
“You’re the only one I have in a position to get what I need from him.”
I frowned, leaning back and stretching my arms along the back of the couch, positioning myself so Kenneth got a good look at my Beretta. “Likely true. What do you need me to find out?”
“First, I want you to find out what he was having Terry Moore do with my drugs. The earliest invoices were dated a week after I supplied him. Seems like too much of a coincidence to me.”
“I see. I guess I need to know what the drugs do. You gave me a brief summary of the effects. They can’t be detected on the current tests. They’re mild. But what do they actually do?”
Kenneth smiled, but there was nothing friendly about his expression.
I tensed, and out of the corner of my eye, I saw something dark coming towards me. I whipped my hand to my gun, but Kenneth’s dae was faster. He caught my wrist, yanked my arm back, and before I could even scream, he jabbed a needle into my arm.
Kenneth had moved while I was distracted by his dae. He clamped his hand over my mouth to keep me quiet. I thrashed, but the two didn’t release me until Kenneth’s dae pulled the needle out and tossed the syringe on the coffee table.
A few smears of red lingered in the barrel, and I trembled, remembering what the drugs had done to Terry Moore’s victims.
“I don’t know exactly what they do. That’s not my problem, Miss Daegberht. It is, however, now yours. I expect a full report when it wears off. Don’t worry. Jacob will take you home so you don’t have any unfortunate mishaps on the way. I’ve been told by reputable sources it takes about twenty minutes to kick in, no matter how it’s taken.”
Kenneth pulled his hand away from my mouth, and I realized he was wearing gloves. I shuddered.
Had Rob told them about my allergy? To cover my growing fear, I snapped my teeth together and sat straighter. “You son of a bitch.” I rubbed where I had been stabbed with the needle. Kenneth’s dae had also been wearing gloves.
At least I wouldn’t have to deal with an allergic reaction in addition to being drugged.
“You should be happy, Miss Daegberht. This is the good stuff, the stuff you couldn’t afford even if you wanted it. You’ll finally have the perfect high you’ve been searching for all this time. Don’t think I hadn’t noticed you wanting another hit, no matter how good a job you did fighting it.”
“Give me a reason I shouldn’t kill you right now.”
“You’ll die, for starters. You’d probably be dead before you could pull the trigger. Don’t kid yourself. You won’t do it. You only killed Lily because she always had what you wanted. Take her home, Jacob. No side trips. However appealing she might be to you, she’s off limits—for now.”
I spat curses at him and reached for my gun. Kenneth’s dae grabbed my arm and hauled me to my feet. In spite of Kenneth’s estimate of twenty minutes, the drugs were doing something to me—something that made it difficult to resist the dae.
“Oh, and another thing, Miss Daegberht. It should wear off in about twelve hours. If my understanding of the drug is correct, I recommend you stay home. Do try not to forget to write notes on the drug’s effects. It may be important for your research later. We can talk more about your job after you’ve recovered. Perhaps I’ll come visit you a little later tonight, once you’ve gotten accustomed to the drug.”
There was so much I wanted to tell him, but my tongue refused to obey me. My arms and legs were no better. Kenneth’s dae dragged me towards the stairwell, and I stumbled along with him. By the time Jacob got me into Kenneth’s car, I could barely stay on my feet, let alone fight him. Had Rob set me up? If so, why?
When the first tingling wave of the high hit, everything narrowed to the sensation of my clothes caressing my skin, the leather rubbing against me, and the pleasure of even the lightest touch.


The initial surge of the drug’s influence subsided by the time Jacob dropped me off in front of my apartment, although my skin’s hypersensitivity to touch remained. The dae leered at me, leaving me with zero doubt of what he had in mind for me.
I liked when Rob looked me over head to toe, but Jacob doing it sent chills through me. I scrambled out of the car, backed out of the dae’s reach, and slipped my hand into my coat for my Beretta.
“You don’t want to do that, Miss Daegberht.”
“Oh, I do,” I replied, although I didn’t pull out the weapon. “If he even thinks of backstabbing me again, I’ll start sending his hounds back to him in pieces, and I’ll take out his most useful ones first. Lily was just the start. No more tricks. If he really wants my help, he better get his head out of his ass, because right now, I’m not feeling very benevolent. I may decide Dean Lewis might be interested in knowing Kenneth Smith is gunning for him.”
“You wouldn’t dare.”
“I wouldn’t? Are you so sure about that? I would, Jacob. I would, and I wouldn’t even hesitate. He broke his trust with me. If he’s stupid enough to think I’m going to just accept his attempt to kill me was a part of the work, he’s mistaken. He can also expect a hefty bill for this… stunt.”
Maybe the drug made all of my nerves sing, but once the initial surge of pleasure had faded, it hadn’t affected my ability to think. It didn’t smother my anger, either. I closed my fingers around my Beretta’s grip, wondering if I could get away with leaving another body lying around for someone to find.
With the emergence of the dae, bodies were plentiful and few seemed to miss the dead. Given time, once friendships and lives were rebuilt, people would miss those who were gone, but the world was currently inhabited by the strange who were also strangers. For all the dae often took on monstrous forms, they were still a lot like humans.
They only cared for those with close ties to them, ties most hadn’t had time to form.
“I’ll make certain he is aware of your opinion.”
“My opinion is non-negotiable, Mr. Jacob. Perhaps this will wake him up to reality: I’m tired of being stepped on. If he even thinks of trying to ruin my schooling, remind him if I can go behind his back and get admittance into Bach studies, there’s a lot more I can do, too.” While some of my speech was bluffing, one important fact remained: I had leverage on Dean Lewis and Kenneth Smith, if I could figure out the best way to use it. “Ask him if he wants me on his side, or should I have a talk with Dean Lewis?”
“Are you threatening him, Miss Daegberht?” the dae growled.
“I don’t make threats, dae. I make promises. Remember, he backstabbed me first. If he hadn’t sabotaged my gear, he wouldn’t be in this position right now. Get the fuck out of my sight. You and your pathetic master sicken me.”
I turned and stormed to my apartment building. If Jacob said anything, I didn’t hear him over the bang of me slamming the front door.







About The Author


Opener of Portals. Urban Fantasy Author. Mistress of Giggles. Warped Sense of Humor.

Trillian Anderson is, like so many of us, a figment of someone's imagination. She was born somewhere in the United States, loves to travel, and has no scruples about moving to new and interesting places around the world. She loves fantasy fiction of all types, but holds a special fondness for urban fantasies, epic fantasies, and stories capable of capturing her imagine.

Most of all, she enjoys grabbing a flashlight, hiding under the blankets, and pretending she's asleep when she's, in actuality, reading a beloved book.





Virtual Book Tour







Friday, February 5, 2016

Major Crimes by Michele Lynn Seigfried (Author Guest Post / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Major Crimes by author Michele Lynn Seigfried!







Author Guest Post

#Kindness

By: Michele Lynn Seigfried



Why is #kindness trending on Twitter? Why should it be a “trend” to be kind? When was the last time you were kind? Is it easier to remember the last time you weren’t kind?

The recent explosion of #kindness on twitter got me thinking. I try to be kind to others. Am I always? Absolutely not! Was I kind to my husband the day I was vacuuming, and I bent down to pick up my daughter’s toys, only to turn around to the vacuum being put away? It’d be nice to think I smiled and said, “Oh honey, I wasn’t finished yet with that vacuum.” But the reality of this sleep-deprived mom, who believes her husband does things just to make more work for her is one that is not so kind. “Why the **** did you put the vacuum away in the middle of me trying to vacuum?” Was probably a more accurate account of what I said at that moment.

Many, many years ago, one of my first jobs was a waitress at a pizza place. Customers, as I would learn, were not always kind to me. Some left a measly 2% tip. Some left no tip at all. A bunch of crazed pizza makers screamed at me for writing too small on the order pad or not wiping the tables in the direction they wanted me to. That job lasted two days. Maybe if people were kinder, it would have lasted longer. Maybe if people were kinder, I wouldn’t have learned to appreciate the wait staff at restaurants. Maybe I wouldn’t be a good tipper. Maybe their lack of kindness taught me something.

I was in a long line at the post office when a senior citizen arrived. The man was wearing an Army baseball cap. He asked the clerk behind the desk where to get stamps. She yelled at him to get in the back of the line. He only had one letter to mail, so I reached in my purse and handed him a stamp. Then I thanked him for serving our country. He wanted to pay me, but I refused. Wasn’t that the least I could do for this veteran who just wanted to mail a letter? Why couldn’t the clerk have been kinder? I don’t mean that she should have told him to skip the line, but the tone in her voice, the frustration she exuded…maybe it was her attitude that made me be nicer. If he had gotten into the line and I saw he only had one letter to send, and no one said anything, would I have even thought to hand him a stamp? Maybe the unkind postal worker taught me something.

On a trip to Atlantic City, when I was pregnant with my daughter, my husband and I had breakfast inside a casino. When the bill arrived, the waiter told us that someone else had paid for us. We didn’t know the person and never saw him. I wondered why he paid for us. Was it because I was pregnant? I couldn’t understand how a complete stranger could be so generous, so kind. On a recent trip to Atlantic City, an elderly homeless man approached us on the boardwalk as we ate a pizza dinner. He asked for some change to buy food. We didn’t have change, but we bought the pizza for him on our credit card. I have to admit, there are times I’ve ignored homeless people and wasn’t so kind. But this time was different. There wasn’t a second thought in my head about buying the man dinner. Maybe the kind stranger at the casino who bought me a meal taught me something.

When I was a little girl, my father got “bumped” from his position in a union and was out of work for quite some time before there was another opening. He had trouble supporting the family. Different relatives took turns feeding us. I remember going to my Uncle’s Hoagie Shop to get lunch meats for our school lunches. I remember eating pasta dinners at one of my cousins’ houses. This year I donated gift cards to a family in need so that their children could have a nice holiday season. Maybe my relatives taught me something long ago about being kind to someone else who was in the same situation I was in so many years ago.

Maybe all the animal cruelty and puppy mills that exist are what prompted me to rescue a dog last year instead of going to a breeder. Maybe the world’s lack of kindness toward animals taught me something.

So, what was it that I learned? That many people don’t think to be kind in every situation, all the time. That maybe we need the unkindness in the world to teach us how to be kind. Maybe we also need the kindness of others to teach us how to appreciate those who are kind to us. Maybe a little #kindness is what the world needs to remind all of us to be kinder. Maybe next time my husband puts away the vacuum in the middle of my vacuuming, I’ll remember to say “Thanks for trying to help out.” Maybe my own unkindness taught me something.




About The Author




Michele Lynn Seigfried is the author of humorous, cozy mystery novels and a children’s picture book author/illustrator.

Michele was born and raised in New Jersey. In her mystery novels, she draws from her personal expertise in the area of municipal government, in which she has served for over 17 years in two different municipalities.

She holds a B.A. in communication from the College of New Jersey with a minor in art. She obtained the Master Municipal Clerk certification from the International Institute of Municipal Clerks in 2010. She also holds the Registered Municipal Clerk certification and Certified Municipal Registrar Certifications from the State of New Jersey.

In combining her love of writing with art, Michele began writing and illustrating children’s picture books in 2013. She has won several awards for her novels.


Author Website
Email: MicheleSeigfried@gmail.com
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Pinterest
Tsu
Goodreads



Book Review



Major Crimes by Michele Lynn Seigfried
Book 4: Jersey Shore Mystery Series
Publisher: Horseshoe Bay Publishing
Publication Date: January 26, 2016
Format: Paperback - 220 pages
               Kindle - 1696 KB
ISBN: 978-1518818929
ASIN: B017GG55FU
Genre: Cozy Mystery 


Buy The Book: 


Buy The Series: Jersey Shore Mystery Series
Book 1: Red Tape
Book 2: Tax Cut
Book 3: Community Affairs
Book 4: Major Crimes


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author/publisher in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours.


Book Description:

Buckle up for hours of laughter, romance, and excitement with this Jersey Shore Mystery. When handsome detective, Bryce Kelly, is accused of a crime he didn’t commit, he finds himself on the run and in hiding. Can amateur sleuth, Chelsey Alton, and a few quirky friends help him find the real killer and prove his innocence before it’s too late? If you love mysteries, don’t miss this humorous whodunit!


Book Excerpt:  

Read Excerpt from Chapter 1
https://michelelynnseigfried.files.wordpress.com/2015/09/major-crimes-chapter-1.pdf


My Book Review:

Cozy mystery fans, Chelsey Alton is back with her latest murder mystery investigation!

In Major Crimes, the fourth book in the Jersey Shore Mystery Series, author Michele Lynn Seigfried once again transports the reader back to the Jersey Shore to follow amateur sleuth turned novice private investigator Chelsey Alton on her latest murder mystery investigative adventure. Set in the small shore town of Coral Beach, Chelsey's latest case involves hunky police detective Bryce Kelly, who is accused of murdering retiring police chief Archie Wallace. Chelsey vows to prove Bryce's innocence at all costs, even if it puts her life in danger!

The Jersey Shore Mystery Series is a wonderful whodunit series to read. Each book in the series has enough witty humor, mystery, suspense, and romance that easily draws the reader into Chelsey's latest madcap investigation adventure.

In Major Crimes, sassy Chelsey Alton uses quirky sleuthing methods to prove that Bryce didn't murder the police chief, even with danger lurking around the corner. And when you add into the mix the undeniable chemistry and romance that develops between Chelsey and Bryce, you have an action packed and entertaining cozy mystery that is just plain fun to read. So come join Chelsey and friends down the shore for another murder investigation adventure!

Major Crimes is a thoroughly entertaining cozy mystery story that will bring out the reader's inner amateur sleuth!


RATING: 4 STARS 
                                   






Contest Giveaway

Win A $50 Amazon Gift Card



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Virtual Book Tour



Tour Schedule:

February 1 – Christa Reads and Writes – Guest Post 
February 2 – Community Bookstop – Interview
February 3 – Babs Book Bistro –Guest Post
February 4 – StoreyBook Reviews – Spotlight
February 5 – Jersey Girl Book Reviews – Review, Guest Post
February 6 – Cassidy Salem Reads & Writes – Guest Post
February 7 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too ! – Spotlight
February 8 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – Spotlight 
February 9 – Readsalot – Review
February 10 – fuonlyknew – Review
February 11 – Intoxicated by Books – Review
February 12 - Queen of All She Reads - Spotlight
February 13 – A Blue Million Books – Interview
February 14 – Laura’s Interests – Review