Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Friday, March 17, 2017

Purr M For Murder by TC LoTempio (Character Guest Post / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Purr M For Murder by author TC LoTempio!







Character Guest Post

Sydney McCall, Publicity Director and Amateur Sleuth!
(Purr M for Murder by T. C. Lotempio)

Okay, I admit it – I’m a closet detective!  I’ve always loved investigating, ever since I used to sneak Nancy Drew books under the covers at bedtime and read with a flashlight!  I guess that’s why I’ve always gravitated toward mystery tv shows like Murder She Wrote and Hart to Hart. I like to sit there and figure out whodunit!

So, when my sister and I stumbled – literally – across the body of our landlord one morning, investigating his murder just came naturally to me.  Of course, the fact that the police were seriously considering my sister Kat as suspect numero uno played a large role in that decision, but…nothing ventured, nothing gained, I say!

And it’s not like I didn’t have help – even though it’s of the four footed variety.  A very charming orange tabby named Toby was right there to deliver clues when I most needed them. Who said animals were dumb?  Not me, never!  Toby is one of the smartest, savviest cats I know!  And since I’ve become publicity director at the Friendly Paws shelter, I know quite a few!

The detective on the case, Will Worthington, just happens to be an old flame of mine from High School.  Will wasn’t too keen on my ‘butting in’ to the investigation, but when all was said and done let’s just say he had a change of heart – although your guess is as good as mine how long that will last!

As for me, as long as there are mysteries around the town of Deer Park, I imagine I’ll get a yen to help solve them – me and Toby together, that is!




Book Review



Purr M For Murder by TC LoTempio
Book 1: A Cat Rescue Mystery Series
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: March 14, 2017
Format: Hardcover - 304 pages
               Kindle 
ISBN: 978-1683310921
ASIN: B01MR48GQL
BNID:  978-1683310921
Genre: Cozy Mystery



Buy The Book:



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours. 



Book Description:

Sydney McCall left behind an ex-fiancé and a New York advertising job to return home to Deer Park, North Carolina and help her sister, Kat, run the local animal shelter, Friendly Paws. Determined to save the shelter from financial trouble, Sydney and Kat organize a cat café fundraising event at a local coffee shop. Things are looking up until their landlord, Trowbridge Littleton, threatens to shut down the event. When Sydney drops by his art gallery to make peace, she finds Kat–along with Littleton’s dead body.

Local homicide detective Will Worthington–who just happens to be Sydney’s old high school crush–is highly suspicious of the sisters’ involvement. Desperate to clear their names from the suspect list, Sydney pounces on the investigation. With the help of one of the shelter cats, a savvy orange tabby named Toby, Sydney begins poking her nose into other local businesses whose owners may have benefited from Littleton’s death–until the killer notices she’s pawing a little too closely at the truth.



My Book Review:


In Purr M For Murder, the first book in A Cat Rescue Mystery Series, author TC LoTempio weaves an intriguing cozy mystery tale that follows the amateur sleuth adventures of Sydney McCall and her sidekick shelter cat named Toby. Sydney and sister Kat find themselves suspects in the murder of their landlord, Trowbridge Littleton, and Sydney is determined to clear their name and find the real killer.

Set in Deer Park, North Carolina, Sydney Mc Call moves back home from New York after breaking up with her ex-fiance to help her sister Kat save Friendly Paws, the local animal shelter that she runs. Sydney and Kat organize a cat cafe fundraiser event to help the financially troubled animal shelter. But when their landlord Trowbridge Littleton threatens to shut down the event, things go from bad to worse when Sydney goes to talk to Trowbridge at his art gallery, and finds Kat already there standing next to his dead body. When Sydney's old high school crush local homicide detective Will Worthington adds Sydney and Kat to the suspect list, Sydney is determined to find the real killer and clear their name with the help of a furry shelter feline named Toby.

Purr M For Murder is a captivating and fast-paced cozy whodunit tale that has enough quirky characters (human and animal), witty banter and humor, drama, danger, a growing list of suspects, romance, and intriguing twists and turns that will keep you engaged and guessing as Sydney's amateur sleuth adventure unfolds with a climatic ending that will leave you wanting more! I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much I enjoyed Sydney's delightful furry feline companion Toby, who chooses Sydney as his person and helps her find clues along the way. Toby gets two paws up! I can't wait to read the next book in this delightful new cozy mystery series!

Purr M For Murder is a purrfectly delightful cozy murder mystery that pet lovers will enjoy reading!


RATING: 5 STARS 







About The Author




While Toni Lotempio does not commit – or solve – murders in real life, she has no trouble doing it on paper. Her lifelong love of mysteries began early on when she was introduced to her first Nancy Drew mystery at age 10 – The Secret in the Old Attic. She (and ROCCO, albeit he’s uncredited) pen the Nick and Nora mystery series from Berkley Prime Crime – the first volume, MEOW IF ITS MURDER, debuted Dec. 2, 2014. Followed by #2, CLAWS FOR ALARM. #3, CRIME AND CATNIP, was released in December. She, Rocco and Maxx make their home in Clifton, New Jersey, just twenty minutes from the Big Apple – New York.

Author Website
Author Blog
Amazon Author Page
Rocco's Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads




Contest Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Virtual Book Tour



Tour Schedule:

March 8 – Girl Lost In a Book – REVIEW

March 8 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW

March 8 – Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf – GUEST POST

March 9 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW

March 9 – Must Read Faster – REVIEW

March 9 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW, GUEST POST

March 9 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

March 10 – Book Babble – REVIEW

March 10 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, INTERVIEW

March 10 – Classy Cheapskate – REVIEW

March 11 – A Cozy Girl Reads and Writes – REVIEW

March 11 – Babs Book Bistro – REVIEW

March 11 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT

March 12 – Shelley’s Book Case – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST

March 12 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – GUEST POST

March 13 – My Journey Back – SPOTLIGHT

March 13 – Mochas, Mysteries and Meows – REVIEW, INTERVIEW

March 13 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – GUEST POST

March 14 – Books, Movies, Reviews. Oh my! – SPOTLIGHT

March 14 – Brooke Blogs – REVIEW

March 14 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT

March 15 – Texas Book-aholic – REVIEW

March 15 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

March 15 – Books Direct – SPOTLIGHT

March 16 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

March 16 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, & sissy, Too! – SPOTLIGHT

March 16 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

March 17 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

March 17 – Jersey Girl Book Reviews – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST

March 17 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT




Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Defining Her by Samantha March (Book Release Day Event / Contest Giveaway)

In association with author Samantha March, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the book release day event for Defining Her!






About The Book



Defining Her by Samantha March
Publisher: Marching Ink LLC
Publication Date: March 11, 2017
Format: eBook - 304 pages
               Kindle - 1402 KB
               Nook - 182 KB
ASIN: B06XK5SF6Q
BNID: 2940157592998
Genre: Women's Fiction



Buy The Book:



Book Description:

Nellie Hawthorne is a woman who has it all. A devoted husband, her own business, a wealthy lifestyle. But the Nellie she is now is much different from her past. A past filled with abuse, addiction, and men. Nellie’s carefully constructed new life is suddenly in jeopardy when a blast from the past emerges in her small town and her overbearing mother-in-law starts pushing for grandchildren and questions start being asked. A budding new friendship presents itself at an opportune time, and a once friendless Nellie finds herself growing closer to Prue Doherty.

Prue Doherty is the quintessential good girl. Always making the right decisions, always playing it safe. Until she meets a man that could change all of that. Still reeling from a devastating breakup and betrayal that had her fleeing from Chicago and settling into suburb life with her mom close by, Prue finds herself in a damaging funk. But everything changes when she befriends Nellie Hawthorne.

Nellie is trying to escape her past. Prue wants that perfect future. While both women strive to change their lives, they continue to cling to the past. But what defines us? Who we were then . . . or who we are trying to be now? Lies, manipulation, and deceit are woven throughout the pages of this edgy women’s fiction novel, with an ending you won’t see coming.



ALL OTHER TITLES BY SAMANTHA MARCH ARE JUST 99 CENTS FOR A LIMITED TIME! Samantha March on Amazon: http://amzn.to/2mFKkog




About The Author




Samantha March is an author, editor, publisher, blogger, and all around book lover. She runs the popular book/women’s lifestyle blog ChickLitPlus, which keeps her bookshelf stocked with the latest reads and up to date on all things beauty, fashion and fitness. In 2011 she launched her independent publishing company Marching Ink and has five published novels – Destined to Fail, The Green Ticket, A Questionable Friendship, Up To I Do and Defining Her, and one holiday novella, The Christmas Surprise. You can also find her on Youtube sharing beauty reviews and creating makeup tutorials. When she isn’t reading, writing, or vlogging, you can find her cheering for the Green Bay Packers and Chicago Cubs. Samantha lives in Iowa with her husband and Vizsla puppy. 


Author Blog
Amazon Author Page
Chick Lit Plus - Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Instagram
Pinterest
SnapChat
YouTube
Goodreads




Contest Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Spooning Daisy by Maggie McConnell (Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Reading Addiction Book Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Spooning Daisy by author Maggie McConnell!






Book Review




Spooning Daisy by Maggie McConnell
Book 1: Otter Bite Romance Series
Publisher: Kensington / Lyrical Shine / Penguin / Random House
Publication Date: June 7, 2016
Format: Paperback - 314 pages
               Kindle - 893 KB
               Nook - 480 KB
ISBN: 978-1601836878
ASIN: B015VA3O10
BNID: 978-1601836861
Genre: Romantic Comedy


Buy The Book:


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Reading Addictions Book Tours. 


Book Description:

It’s a long way from Seattle to Otter Bite, Alaska. But if one woman can survive the trip-and the locals-she just might find what her heart has been searching for.

Her mango chutney is exquisite; her blueberry sauce is to die for. But right now, Chef de Cuisine Daisy Moon is a woman without a kitchen-and without a fiancé. Unceremoniously dumped from her place of business and her relationship, Daisy sells her belongings, plus a few of her ex’s, and packs her bags. Maybe smashing all the china in her former restaurant was a bad move. Stripped of her Golden Spoon for “un-chef-like” conduct, she is now blacklisted all over Seattle. Her sole job offer is from Wild Man Lodge…in Otter Bite, Alaska.

Too bad Daisy can’t even get out of Dodge without incident. By the time she boards a ship for Alaska, she’s got a trail of new troubles behind her, and suddenly Otter Bite is sounding pretty good. But the vessel turns into her own personal Titanic when a series of close encounters confirms her terrible taste in men-including one very good looking bad luck charm named Max Kendall. She vows to dedicate the rest of her days to chowders and brulée. Yet even Alaska isn’t far enough away to shake the memories of the sexy shipmate who rocked her cabin-and her world. Thank goodness she’s done with surprises-but they may not be done with her…



Book Excerpt:


   "I had apple strudel. I never have apple strudel. It's not my usual."
   "You came here to tell me you had apple strudel?"
   "The thing is...I liked it. For a change, I mean. Once. Not every day, of course."
   "Max--"
   "The truth is..." He stepped toward her. "The truth is...I feel bad about giving you such a hard time at breakfast."
   "Ohhhh. This is an apology."
   "No, absolutely not." Max retracted the step he'd just taken. "This is absolutely NOT an apology."
   Daisy huffed. Normally, she'd take great satisfaction in Max's guilt and take equal pleasure in the banter that would surely follow. However, she was a woman on a mission, and she didn't have the time, not with Otter Bite hanging by a manila envelope. "Fine. Thank you for coming here NOT to apologize and for that apple strudel thing. And--" She momentarily softened. "--the money. But I just don't have the time for whatever this is."
   Once again he stepped toward her. "You're making this extremely difficult."
   "This? This what? What am I making--"
   "This." The word melted into her mouth.
   The two hundreds floated from her hand to the floor. Then, her arms wrapped Max's neck, his body pressed hers, and Daisy was lost in a kiss she never expected to own.










My Book Review:

If you are looking for a romantic comedy that has a mixture of wit, humor and romance, then look no further, Spooning Daisy is the book for you.

In Spooning Daisy, the first book in the Otter Bite Romance Series, author Maggie McConnell weaves a delightfully lighthearted tale set in Otter Bite, Alaska, that follows the unexpected romantic relationship between chef Daisy Moon and Wild Man Lodge owner Max Kendall. Daisy and Max meet at her garage sale in Seattle, where she is getting rid of her ex-fiance's belongings before she starts a new life in Otter Bite, Alaska. But their unexpected meeting leads to more unexpected meetings and hilarious trials and tribulations that follows Daisy and Max from Seattle to Alaska. Along the way, Daisy and Max need to overcome obstacles and mishaps in order to find a common ground that will lead them to a happily ever after ending.

Spooning Daisy is an entertaining romantic comedy that will keep the reader in stitches. You can't help but follow Daisy and Max's story as their relationship is full of serendipitous encounters and hilarious misadventures, and cheer them on as they seek common ground and a lasting love.

With a quirky cast of characters, witty dialogue and humorous / dramatic interactions, and a richly vivid description of Otter Bite, Alaska, Spooning Daisy is a witty tale that is full of sass and charm, it's tongue-in-cheek humor will keep the reader in stitches, thoroughly engaged, and smiling to the very end.

Spooning Daisy is simply rom-com at its very best!



RATING: 5 STARS 





About The Author




Golden Heart nominee Maggie McConnell spent her childhood overseas as the daughter of US diplomats. Attending college in Illinois, she earned a BA in Art and an MBA while working at the local humane shelter. At 26, she packed her dog and cat into a Ford truck and drove the Alcan Highway to Alaska, where she spent 23 years exploring The Last Frontier in a single-engine Cessna. A vegan and animal rights advocate, Maggie provides a sanctuary on her Arizona ranch for all creatures great and small, but her immediate family includes dog Molly, cat Sara, horses Quinn and Teena, and an ever-growing dynasty of chipmunks. Every year, like the Gray Whale, Maggie returns to Alaska.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Goodreads




Contest Giveaway


https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/NDA4MjY0MDFhMDY3NGJmNzk2NDA5M2VhM2I4M2I2OjU5NQ==/




Virtual Book Tour



Click the above link for the tour schedule.









Monday, March 6, 2017

Cards From Khloe's Flower Shop by Isabella Louise Anderson (Author Guest Post / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Chick Lit Plus Blog Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Cards From Khloe's Flower Shop by author Isabella Louise Anderson!






Author Guest Post


WRITING UNDER A PSEUDONYM


As some of you might know, I write under a pseudonym. When I first started writing, there wasn’t anything to think about because it’s something I’ve always wanted to do. As someone who is not a fan of my birth name, I’m proud of my middle and (married) last name being on the cover of my books.

While some authors write under a different name to protect their job, their families, or whatever the reason might be, for me that’s not the case. It’s more of the face that hiding behind my given name allows for to write what I want without judgment. Not that I think people would, but rather I’m quite hard on myself sometimes, so by having another name makes it easier—it makes me feel like I’m famous in some way—as silly as that sounds. It also allows me not to be as shy—especially when writing a sex scene, (I’ve even dabbled in some erotica writing, which was quite fun but don’t expect me to be publishing any of it anytime soon). By having a pseudonym, it also gives me the chance to allow another part of me to come out—a secretive part that I share only with my characters when writing, and, then, of course, when the book’s published, my audience.

Will I ever write under my given name? Have you ever thought about writing under a pseudonym? If so, why or why not? Do you think it would help or hurt your writing?

For now, I’m happy to say that I’m going to continue writing under Isabella Louise Anderson, a name I’m honored to be known by in the book world and thank you to my fans for all your support with my books.



About The Author




Isabella Louise Anderson grew up with a book in her hand, and to this day nothing has changed. She focuses her time on featuring other writers on her blog, Chick Lit Goddess, along with organizing Goddess Book Tours, and is a member of the Romance Writers of America.

She lives in Dallas with her husband, enjoys spicy Mexican food, margaritas, gin on the rocks (with a splash of lime). She loves spending time with family and friends and cheering on the Texas Rangers. Not only is Isabella an author, she’s also a Scentsy consultant and hoarder.

Isabella is the author of The Right Design and Cards From Khloe’s Flower Shop. Her short story, Meet Me Under the Mistletoe, was featured in Simon & Fig’s Christmas anthology, Merry & Bright. She’s currently working on another book.


Chick Lit Goddess Website
Facebook Author Page
Facebook Chick Lit Goddess Page
Twitter - Author
Twitter - Chick Lit Goddess
Google+
Instagram
Pinterest
Snapchat username: mrsanderson1981
Goodreads




Book Review



Cards From Khloe's Flower Shop by Isabella Louise Anderson
Publisher: Chick Lit Goddess
Publication Date: eBook - January 15, 2017 / PB - January 22, 2017
Format: Paperback - 290 pages
               Kindle - 2347 KB
               Nook - 488 KB
ISBN: 978-0991416738
ASIN: B01N4ORRBR
BNID: 2940157554101
Genre: Chick Lit / Contemporary Romance / Women's Fiction


Buy The Book:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Goodreads



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hasted by Chick Lit Plus Blog Tours.


Book Description:

As the owner of a successful florist shop, Khloe Harper trusts her instincts. She has a strong bond with her family and friends, but after being betrayed by her last love, she's kept herself at arms’ length from romance. When dashing entertainment attorney Derek Thomas walks into her store, Khloe’s interest is piqued. What at first seems like a business relationship quickly turns into romance, and Derek slowly plucks away the petals she’s been hiding behind. Just as Khloe lets down her guard, she discovers that Derek may not be worthy of her love after all.

Frumpy Connie Albright has a faux fascination with an imaginary man named Walt, thinking that by sending herself flowers from him she’ll feel less out-of-place with the “mean girls” she works with. When she comes face to face with her possible prince charming and thinking she might have a happy ending, when a truth is revealed, she wonders if she’ll ever have a Cinderella story.

A recently widowed senior, Gabby Lewis, isn't ready to give up on love—which means releasing herself from survivor's guilt and taking a chance on finding happiness and companionship again. After signing up for an online dating site for senior citizens, much to her surprise, she’s matched with Harry, an energetic and loving man, who quickly eases himself into her heart. Will Gabby take the leap of falling in love again, knowing it’s possible to have two loves of her life?

As each woman’s story develops through flowers and cards sent from Khloe's shop during the Fall months, they begin to learn that love can only truly blossom when you trust your heart.


My Book Review:


In Cards From Khloe's Flower Shop, author Isabella Louise Anderson weaves a delightful tale that follows three women's journey of self-discovery and finding an unexpected second chance at love.

Thirty-one year old flower shop owner Khloe Harper has trouble trusting men after her heart was broken by a betraying ex-boyfriend. But when sports / entertainment attorney Derek Thomas enters her shop, it has her thinking that maybe it is time to give love another chance.

Sixty-five year old widow Gabriella "Gabby" Lewis lost her husband Charlie to a sudden heart attack. After forty-five years of marriage and moving past the grief of losing her soulmate, Gabby still believes in love and wants to be in love again. Gabby signs up on the Second Chances online dating website and makes an unexpected connection with lonely widower Harry Hoffman.

Medical data entry clerk Connie Albright has always felt like an outsider and ignored by everyone. Connie has major self-confidence issues and has never experienced being in love. Connie has created an imaginary boyfriend named Walt Goldman and sends bouquets of flowers to herself at work once a week, in order to get her co-workers to notice her. When her mean co-workers want to see a picture of Walt, Connie has no option but to continue with the charade, so she signs up on an online dating site searching for the perfect Walt Goldman. When Connie connects with Walt, her fantasy becomes a reality until the truth behind her charade is revealed leaving Connie to figure out how to get back her happily ever after.

Cards From Khloe's Flower Shop was such a fun novel to read! I enjoyed following Khloe, Gabby, and Connie's journeys as they each discover how to open up their hearts to serendipity and the unexpected chance at finding love. Just when you think each of the women's journeys to finding love will be all hearts and roses, the author throws a wrench in the mix with enough drama to keep you turning the pages. But the best part of this delightful book is how each of the women's stories are interwoven with Khloe's creation and delivery of wonderful bouquets of flowers and the special personal messages on the cards that speak volumes. While I enjoyed all three stories, I felt the most connection with Gabby and Harry's story, it is a heartwarming and downright feel good story that simply made me smile from ear to ear. From taking a risk, beginning again, and finding self-confidence, Khloe, Gabby, and Connie will each discover that by learning to open up their hearts, they could find hope, true love, and happiness.

Cards From Khloe's Flower Shop is a wonderful novel about finding love and happiness that will leave a smile on your face.


RATING: 5 STARS 






Also by Isabella Louise Anderson:



The Right Design is on sale for $.99!
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Goodreads



Contest Giveaway





Virtual Book Tour



Tour Schedule:

February 20 – Chick Lit Plus – Review
February 21 – Caroline Fardig – Guest Post
February 22 – Novel Escapes – Q&A
February 23 – Books Dreams Life – Q&A
February 28 – Book Lover in Florida – Review & Guest Post
March 1 – Granny Loves to Read – Review
March 3 – Spunky N Sassy – Guest Post
March 6 – Jersey Girl Book Reviews – Review & Guest Post
March 6 – Rainy Day Reviews – Review & Guest Post