Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

He Takes The Cake by J. Lynn Rowan (Book Blast / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the book blast event for He Takes The Cake by author J. Lynn Rowan!








About The Book



He Takes The Cake by J. Lynn Rowan
Book 4: A Sweet Somethings Series
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Publication Date: June 21, 2017
Format: eBook - 137 pages
               Kindle - 1023 KB
ASIN: B071JSQC3J
Genre: Contemporary Romance


Buy The Book:
Amazon
Goodreads


Buy The Series: A Sweet Somethings Series
Book 1: Better Than Chocolate
Book 2: When In Rome
Book 3: The One I'm With
Book 4: He Takes The Cake 
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Goodreads



Book Description:


Life is good for Tess Gardiner: Her Savannah, Georgia, bakery and cafe is thriving. She’s earned Master Pastry Chef status from the American Culinary Federation. And she’s attending a regional culinary convention in Charleston, where she’s been invited to sit on a small business panel discussion. The opportunity to tout her success will, hopefully, lead to bigger and better things in her professional life. As for her personal life? The relative contentedness she’s enjoyed for years receives a sudden jolt when she comes face to face with Tyler Brinks, the ex-boyfriend she summarily dismissed from her life eight years ago.

Tyler’s success as a highly-trained chef has launched him into the stratosphere. He already owns one ridiculously successful restaurant, and he’s aggressively working on plans for a second. But he’s never quite gotten over Tess, and he’s never really been sure what actually went wrong between them. So when a pastry and baking competition is announced for the week following the culinary convention in Charleston, Ty jumps at the chance to tempt Tess with the challenge of being his partner, giving him the perfect opportunity to remind her how good they once were together.


As the competition heats up in the kitchen, it soon becomes clear to Tess that Ty has more than cream puffs and cupcakes on his mind. And she can’t deny that her feelings for Ty never truly cooled, but have been simmering all these years, despite the way their relationship ended. Now Ty’s attention has her wondering—is this just the path to final closure? Or could this be a second chance at true love?


Book Excerpt:


“Before we go in there, I have something for you,” Ty says, reaching out but stopping just short of actually touching me.

I stare at his extended hand for a second, then flick my gaze up to his eyes. “Okay.”

Smiling, Ty crosses to a chair on the other side of the kitchen, where he’d draped his chef’s jacket so it would be out of the way. He grabs it and shrugs into it, but then picks up something from the seat of the chair. Folded fabric, the same bright white as his chef’s jacket.

My breath catches in my throat. “Is that . . .?”

“I picked it up for you on my way home yesterday.” He shakes out another chef’s jacket, cut and tailored for a woman’s build. “Hope I guessed the size right.”

I take the chef’s jacket, holding it by the shoulders and studying every seam, stitch, and button. “It’s gorgeous, Ty. Thank you!”

He shrugs in that nonchalant way of his, but his eyes twinkle with joy at my pleasure. “I figured we ought to match. And it’s a gift. Whether or not we continue to round two or beyond, it’s yours to keep.”

“You didn’t need to do this,” I murmur, lowering the garment. “I already owe you for the entry fee, and—”

“I would’ve had to pay the entry fee whether you were working with me or not, so forget it.”

Ty fastens the buttons on his jacket. Then he takes mine back and circles around me, holding the chef’s jacket open so I can slide my arms in. The starched fabric crinkles a little, coaxing a giggle from me.

But the feel of Ty’s hands on my shoulders, the sense of them reaching around to fasten the buttons, makes me freeze. When he notices, he pauses, too. Then his hands drop away, and he clears his throat as he turns and grabs the handle of the serving cart.

“We should get this down to the judges.” His voice sounds choked.

Nodding, I finish with my buttons and follow him out.







About The Author





J. Lynn Rowan started writing stories as a small child, usually starring her favorite cartoon characters. Most of her work through middle and high school was filled with typical teenage angst and melodrama, and usually mirrored the books she loved to read. But eventually she found her own author’s voice and decided to seriously pursue a writing career.

Historical fiction remains J. Lynn’s “first love”, but she has enjoyed the journey to becoming an author of romance and chick lit. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, the Central New York Romance Writers, and the Historical Novel Society. She is also a teacher who tries to instill a love of learning, reading, and writing in her students.

When she’s not writing, J. Lynn enjoys travelling, gardening poorly but enthusiastically, studying various topics in American history for her own expertise, and channeling Julia Child every time she steps into the kitchen.

A native of Oswego, NY, she now lives in Charlotte, NC, with her own Romantic Hero of a husband and their little rainbow, affectionately known as Babycakes..


Email Address
Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
YouTube
Goodreads 



Contest Giveaway

Win A $20 Amazon or B&N Gift Card 






a Rafflecopter giveaway





Book Blast Event



Click on the above link for a list of event participants.





Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Iced by Avery Daniels (Book Blast / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the book blast event for Iced by author Avery Daniels!







About The Book



Iced by Avery Daniels
Book 1: A Resort to Murder Mystery Series
Publisher: Blazing Sword Publishing, Ltd
Publication Date: PB - May 24, 2017 / eBook - May 31, 2017
Format: Paperback - 284 pages
               Kindle - 1179 KB
ISBN: 978-0999031803
ASIN: B071LFD6JV
BNID: 978-0999031803
Genre: Amateur Sleuth / Cozy Mystery



Buy The Book:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Goodreads


Book Description:

Julienne has her ideal job as an event planner at a prestigious resort. During a luncheon event she coordinated, a renowned celebrity pastor is killed next to the buffet. All eyes turn to her as the suspect. If she wants to stay out of jail or even keep her job, Julienne needs all the help she can get to solve the crime.

She has her work cut out for her with a vengeful high school rival now reporter, the public demanding she be fired, plus family who know what’s best for her, and a boyfriend who doesn’t understand her. She turns to friends and a new ally to uncover who wanted to put the pastor on ice.

Julienne goes undercover and investigates a local swingers group as she follows the trail of clues before they go cold. Can she gather enough suspects and motives to convince the police to her widen their investigation? Can she do it before the killer sets his murderous sights on her? Will her personal life ever be as simple as unveiling a murderer?



Book Excerpt:


Today everything in my life changed.
I’m the events coordinator and membership manager, in training that is, at a five star resort in Colorado. Some days, like today, it feels like I was sacrificed to some sadistic little idol somewhere. Coordination of conferences and meetings of all sizes in the resort’s convention center facility was part of my training. But this particular event, a Leadership Luncheon that brought together the town’s community leaders to network, was a challenge from the first minutes this morning.
"Julienne, this event must be executed with precision and perfection." Those are the favorite words of my boss, Chad. This particular event is a daylong exercise in patience.
Every job has its great parts and it’s not so great. Today encompassed one of the more unpleasant aspects of my job. Occasionally, okay usually, the hardest part of my job is the customer relations and today was particularly difficult. Some customers just can’t be satisfied and some events are riddled with issues.
We were only serving a modest seventy-five attendees, but I had already been assailed with special requests and numerous complaints. Picky doesn’t begin to cover it.
“How hard would it be to setup for a video presentation with a large screen and surround sound?”
“There are windows. It’s too distracting, people will be watching the hotel guests walking around.”
“Can we change the setup of room C from an L configuration to a U shape? But only for that one session, then move it back.”
“Can we get the Lobster for the buffet flown in that morning? Scallops are out….Can we have the scallops after all?”
“Music piped in during the breaks?”
“No music piped in at all.”
“Red tablecloths with white napkins.”
“Royal blue tablecloths with white napkins.”
“White tablecloths with yellow napkins.”
“Candles on mirrors for lunch centerpieces.”
“Fresh flowers for centerpieces.”
The changes continued even after the event started.
The Convention Center, with its classic European décor had a small lobby area with a few potted trees and plants on column stands. The rest extended down a hallway with two large areas on each side that could be divided into smaller rooms via partitions that extend from the walls as needed. The space could be up to eight small rooms, four on each side, or any combination from one to four rooms per side of the hallway.
The hallway was wide with several half-circle console tables including marble tops holding large dried floral arrangements and a few elegant chairs. The walls displayed large paintings of the Italian countryside and vineyards with carved gold gilt frames.
I was in a partitioned room overseeing the set up of the lunch buffet. The Italian Renaissance architecture was accentuated with interior details and décor that created a European elegance, all lit with the warm glow of a massive amber glass chandelier.
The room was a rectangle with the entrance from the hallway to one end and the door to the catering staging area at the opposite end. The buffet table was along the wall next to the staging door so wait staff could easy restock food items. The six-person round tables covered in rich golden linens were scattered strategically throughout the room to allow easy traffic flow. The thick carpet felt plush and cloud-like under foot.
I was surveying the buffet table with a critical eye. The five foot long ice sculpture of a swordfish occupied the center of the table and looked as though it was caught in mid leap, frolicking in a wave and ready to dive back into an unseen ocean. My stomach growled as the succulent smells of seafood teased my nose. The attendees would be returning to this room for their lunch and keynote speaker shortly.
"Brad, where are the crab leg metal crackers and little forks? Can you grab a few dozen and bring them right away?" Brad, slim and serious, had joined the team only two months ago and was picking up extra hours at every opportunity. He had asked to work this event as soon as I blocked out the time on the schedule. This would give him a good paycheck. He was lanky and took off with an easy loping stride to the staging area through the back door.
The door to the staging area had barely closed when I felt a hand grab hold of my derriere with an iron hard grip.
"This is more like it honey. I haven't had any fun today."
I whirled around and stumbled back. "Don’t touch the staff. That includes me Pastor Tom." I practically shouted. Pastor Tom Drake was well known around town, and getting national attention lately with his mega church. He was included in the luncheon due to his influence, but he was just Pastor Tom since he was a local guy who started his church and radio ministry from his garage.
I had contended with bad behavior before, but never this grabby. I think I was going to have a bruise left from his vicious hand.
"You’re not being very fri…friendly." I noticed his eyes were droopy and then I caught a whiff of the scotch he must have gotten at the Gilded Hornet pub next to the convention center building.
I decided to alert security we needed a person to monitor the rest of the event and turned to go. His iron hand grabbed hold of my arm and yanked me to him. Without a thought I took my knee to his groin and enjoyed watching his mouth form an "O" as his breath whooshed out. I broke free and backed away. I wasn’t turning my back on him again.
"I will see you fired for that you bitch." He whispered with a jagged voice.
He couldn’t do that, at least I was pretty sure he couldn’t. I guess I’d find out. I rubbed my still smarting arm where he grabbed it. Brad would be back or the event participants would start to wander in so he couldn’t do much more, but I didn’t want to stay and find out. I backed out the door to the hallway toward the lobby and took my cell phone from my pants pocket.
"Hey Ron, we have a person under the influence at the luncheon in Convention Center. Can you spare someone for the afternoon?"
"I’ll make sure somebody’s there immediately Julienne. How bad is this guy?"
"Well, I’ll probably have a black-and-blue handprint on my arm and …my backside." I took a deep breath.
"Son of a … I’ll be right there. You stay away from him." Like I would go near that Neanderthal again, pastor or not.
The other participants were starting to exit the smaller break out session rooms and meander to the banquet room and bathrooms. The noise level began to creep upward from multiple conversations competing to be heard.
There was a loud crash of metal from the banquet room and a participant jerked open the door and froze in place. "Oh sh…" The participant’s mouth gaped and his eyes were large circles.
I ran over to the open door and saw Pastor Tom impaled through the chest with the sharp end of the Swordfish ice sculpture, from his back right through to the front. His head was forward against his chest. Blood, running down the swordfish tip that jutted from his chest, dripping to the carpet. Drip, drip, drip in a macabre but surreal scene.

***
Excerpt from Iced by Avery Daniels. Copyright © 2017 by Avery Daniels. Reproduced with permission from Avery Daniels. All rights reserved.





About The Author




Avery Daniels was born and raised in Colorado, graduated from college with a degree in business administration and has worked in fortune 500 companies and Department of Defense her entire life. Her most eventful job was apartment management for 352 units. She still resides in Colorado with two brother black cats as her spirited companions. She volunteers for a cat shelter, enjoys scrap booking and card making, photography, and painting in watercolor and acrylic. She inherited a love for reading from her mother and grandmother and grew up talking about books at the dinner table.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads




Contest Giveaway


This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for Avery Daniels. There will be 1 winner of a $15 Amazon.com GiftCard and 5 winners of one (1) eBook copy of Iced by Avery Daniels. The giveaway begins on June 18 and runs through June 26, 2017.


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Book Blast Event




Event Participants:

Brooke Blogs
The Book Divas Reads
Rockin Book Reviews
Jersey Girl Book Reviews
A Bookaholic Swede
b00k r3vi3ws
Socrates Review Blog
Caroles Book Corner
Bound 2 Escape
Wall-to-wall books
Just Reviews
Teresa Trent Author Blog
The Bookworm Lodge
Celticladys Reviews
CMash Reads
Rockin Book Reviews
Cheryls Book Nook
Curling Up by the Fire
Sapphyrias Book Reviews
BooksChatter
Jane Reads
Chill and Read






Monday, June 5, 2017

Romantic Summer Reading Challenge

Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to feature the Romantic Summer Reading Challenge! 





Hey, book lovers! Remember those summer reading programs from when we were kids? You would read a certain number of books and get a pizza. Or maybe if you completed a list of books you received a certificate and a prize from the librarian. Why should the fun end just because we're adults? Join us this summer for the inaugural Romantic Summer Reading Challenge


Now through midnight (CDT) September 4, read all ten books on our reading list to win prizes. This year’s featured books include:

The Lady Travelers Guide to Scoundrels and Other Gentlemen by Victoria Alexander 
New Attitude by Kathryn R. Biel 
Playing House by Laura Chapman 
Makeup & Murder by Stephanie Damore 
Click Date Repeat Again by KJ Farnham 
Love, Hate, and Other Lies We Told by Deirdre Riordan Hall 
Tequila & Tailgates by Andrea Johnston 
Reality Rocks by Liberty Kontranowski 
Pas de Deux by Wynter S.K. 
This is 35 by Stacey Wiedower


How does it work? When you finish each book on the list, leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads. Then, once you are done with all ten, copy the links on the entry form, complete the rest of the information, and submit it. After September 4, everyone who completes the challenge will receive a free ebook from one of the authors’ backlist. You will also be entered in the drawing for a chance to win one of ten prize packages created by the authors (valued at $20 each) and the grand prize of a $100 Amazon gift card. (No purchase necessary to win. Prize packages limited to U.S. residents only this year.)


What if you’ve already read one (or more) of the books on this list? It still counts. Just post your review and share the link on the form.


If this sounds like fun way to discover new authors, score a free book, and enter for a chance to win prizes, please join us! You can also follow the Facebook page, which will include author takeovers that give you a chance to interact with authors and other readers throughout the summer.




Friday, June 2, 2017

I Love You Today by Marcia Gloster (Author Guest Post / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Providence Book Promotions, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for I Love You Today by author Marcia Gloster!







Author Guest Post

Thoughts on Writing

I became a writer quite unexpectedly. One day while shopping in Manhattan, I heard a song in a store that triggered a deep memory from the summer when I was 20. Seconds later I had the name of a book and the first page. I ran home and began writing. For the next six months, I wrote 12-16 hours a day. Three years later, 31 Days: A Memoir of Seduction was published by The Story Plant.

The idea for I Love You Today came to me very differently. I was discussing the first two seasons of “Mad Men” with a friend, who said, “You actually lived that life. Why don’t you write about it?” 

The novel took four years to write and edit. There were two interruptions that took me away from writing for a few weeks, and there were times when I had to take a break to think through where the story was going. 

I usually write in the morning and once I begin very little distracts me. I know most writers require quiet and solitude, but brief interruptions like the phone ringing seldom disrupt my concentration. My focus keeps me on track, and often half a day goes by before I realize how much time has passed. Sometimes, when I’m dealing with something sad or confrontational within the story, I have to push myself to write, but once I begin, it somehow kicks in. 

My advice to writers is to read voraciously. I read both fiction and nonfiction. An agent once told me that one couldn’t be a writer unless one had read a lot.

If you hit a roadblock, you either have to write through or around it, or step back and think about where you are going. In one instance I actually interviewed my character. I made coffee, sat at a table and imagined that my character and I were in a café talking. I asked questions and she answered, and suddenly it began to make sense. After our “chat” I had the next chapter. 

Also, I don’t think it’s necessary to write in a linear fashion. For I Love You Today. I often wrote a few paragraphs or even an entire chapter that I knew would occur later in the book and then worked it in when I got to that part. You have to write as you feel it—even if it’s disconnected.  




About The Author




After graduating from Rhode Island School of Design in the 1960s, author Marcia Gloster built a career in New York City as an award-winning book designer and art director. A decade later, she founded and ran a boutique ad agency specializing in fashion. Gloster is a member of the National Association of Women Artists and Studio Montclair and exhibits her paintings in the New York area. Her first book, 31 DAYS: A MEMOIR OF SEDUCTION, was published in 2014.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Goodreads




Book Review




I Love You Today by Marcia Gloster
Publisher: The Story Plant
Publication Date: April 17, 2017
Format: Paperback - 392 pages
               Kindle - 1350 KB
               Nook - 1 MB
ISBN: 978-1611882438
ASIN: B01NBVZKM4
BNID: 978-1943486991
Genre: Women's Fiction



Buy The Book:



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Providence Book Promotions.



Book Description:

Maddie Samuels is a woman of – and ahead of – her time. She knows she doesn’t belong in the kitchen, and she refuses to become trapped in a secretarial pool. In mid-sixties New York City, she’s not only determined to succeed in a man’s world, but to prove her work is as good – or better – than any man’s.

With “free love” redefining relationships with head-spinning rapidity, Maddie learns how to push the accepted boundaries of established old-boy networks while refusing to accept the all-too-pervasive harassment by men in power. And yet as a woman in love, she discovers that beliefs and actions are often very different things – especially when it comes to a man like the seductive and charismatic Rob MacLeod.

Set in the era of Mad Men, I LOVE YOU TODAY is passionate, sexy, liberating and deeply moving. With a story as relevant today as it was then, this is a novel that readers will take to their hearts and their souls.


Reviewers Are Loving I Love You Today!:

“Love, sex, lies, and advertising in the era of Mad Men. Compelling and provocative.” – James Wiatt, former Chairman and CEO, William Morris Agency

“A romp through the Mad Men era, told from a woman’s point of view.” – Pamela Fiori, author and former editor-in-chief, Town & Country

“Marcia Gloster paints an intimate portrait of life in 1960s Manhattan… Readers looking for a peek into the magazine publishing and advertising world of that era will be intrigued!” – Marilyn Brant, New York Times bestselling author

“I Love You Today pulled me right in, from the wrenching love story that could never have a happy ending, to the ultimate strength shown by the main character. An overall compelling journey.” – Andrea Hurst, author of Always with You


Book Excerpt:


Maddie exited the subway and walked a block to the Status offices, arriving just at three. The stark simplicity of the reception area surprised her: a white leather sofa and a glass coffee table stood on a small beige area rug with two matching Barcelona chairs on either side. The only color came from large fashion photos that covered the walls behind the couch and reception desk. She had expected a bit more glitz.
The receptionist was tapping rapidly on her typewriter while talking equally as rapidly on the phone. Seeing Maddie, she looked up with an impatient expression on her heavily made-up face and whispered that she’d call back. Maddie told her she was there to see Mr. MacLeod. After an appraising glance, the receptionist unwrapped a piece of Juicy Fruit, popped it in her mouth and dialed an extension. Maddie straightened her skirt, suddenly wondering if she should have worn something other than a suit.
Have a seat,” the girl said in a bored voice, indicating the couch. “His secretary will be right out.”
Maddie sat, feeling nervousness creep in and her earlier, all-too-fragile confidence beginning to fade. A few minutes later, a short dark-haired young woman in a miniskirt came in and introduced herself as Tara, Mr. MacLeod’s secretary. Maddie followed her along a corridor lined with several windowed offices on the left and a bright open bullpen area on the right where it looked like some assistants worked in different sized cubicles. On the far side she saw two more large, sun filled offices. In one of the doorways two men stopped talking and glanced at her.
Tara stopped at the second to last office, looked in and grinned. “Rob, this is Miss Samuels, your three o’clock appointment.” There seemed to be an inside joke somewhere in there, but Maddie didn’t get it. Not then.
As she walked in he stood up, buttoned his suit jacket and stepped forward to shake her hand. She caught her breath; not only was he attractive, he had bright emerald green eyes and perhaps the longest eyelashes she had ever seen. Wasted on a man, she thought, trying not to stare. Or, perhaps not. His dark brown hair was cut short with long sideburns that framed his handsome face.
She sat down on one of the metal and leather chairs that faced his desk. A large drawing board, covered in layout sheets, rolls of galleys and photo stats was to his right. On the left, flat files were piled high with books of typefaces and stock photos. The office wasn’t designed for so much furniture; there was little room to move around.
He sat back and asked her to tell him about herself. Interviews generally didn’t faze her, but this time she was unusually flustered. She began by mentioning Today’s Bride, saying that she had liked working there.
“Why did you leave? You weren’t fired were you?”
“No. Not at all. It was just becoming uncomfortable. I’m not sure it’s something I should talk about.”
Her answer seemed to intrigue him. A smile lit up his eyes and he leaned forward, elbows on his desk. “Now you have to tell me, Miss Samuels. I promise I won’t tell anyone. Was it some sort of conspiracy?”
“No,” she stammered, wishing she had never brought it up. “Nothing like that. I was very close to Joan, the art director who hired me. She was a great teacher, actually a mentor for me. I was a kid just out of art school. But after two years her husband was offered a job at Publicis, the big ad agency in Paris and they decided to move there. Before she left she tried to have me named as art director. By then I was doing half the work on the magazine anyway. But the publisher told her he had already decided to bring in a well-known art director from a rival publication.” She stopped, unsure how to proceed.
“So what was the problem?”
“Well,” she took a breath, “not only was he hiring her, but his weekly meetings with his so-called ‘investors’ were really long afternoons at the Biltmore, a few blocks away.”
He leaned back in his chair and laughed. “You had to leave because the publisher was screwing…pardon me, sleeping with the new art director?”
She bit her lip, sorry she had mentioned it and realizing she had backed herself into a corner.
“It wasn’t quite so simple. Over the first couple of months she did everything she could to make my life miserable. Suddenly I wasn’t allowed to cover photo shoots and then she didn’t even want me doing layouts. She began quietly bringing in her own team. By the time everyone realized what was going on, there wasn’t anything anyone could do about it. I spoke to the publisher who I knew liked me, but he said it was now up to her. It was out of his hands. So I resigned.” Taking another big breath, she looked at him, hoping she hadn’t said too much.
He shook his head. “Too bad. It sounds like you were happy there.”
“Yes. I was.”
He asked her to tell him more: what her goals were and did she really want a career or just a job until she found the right man to marry.
His questions didn’t surprise her; she had been asked the same things at every interview.
“Mr. MacLeod. I have no desire to be married. I’m focused on my career. I hope to be an art director one day.”
“And how do you plan to become one?” She looked back at him wide eyed. It was a question she had never been asked. “I guess I’ll just have to keep on working and learning. I’m very motivated, Mr. MacLeod. If something needs to get done, I’ll make sure it happens.”
He nodded, green eyes flashing. “I’ll bet you will. Let me have a look at your portfolio.”
As she stood up, she noticed him glance at her legs. She wondered if her skirt was too short but not wanting to appear self-conscious she stopped herself from smoothing it down. Standing next to him, she answered his questions as he leafed through the pages.
“Miss Samuels, can you leave the portfolio with me? Unless, of course, you have other interviews today.”
“Yes. I mean, no.” She wanted to kick herself. What is wrong with me? “Yes, I can leave it, and no, I don’t have any more interviews today.”
He smiled, amused at her obvious discomfort. “Good. I’d like to show it to the managing editor. I’ve already seen several potential candidates and I expect to make a decision later today.”
She thanked him and he shook her hand, holding it she thought, a bit longer than necessary.

Excerpt from I Love You Today by Marcia Gloster. Copyright © 2017 by Marcia Gloster. Reproduced with permission from The Story Plant. All rights reserved.



My Book Review:

In I Love You Today, author Marcia Gloster transports the reader back to the mid-1960s pre-feminist Mad Men era in Manhattan, where twenty-four year old budding art director Maddie Samuels is a woman ahead of the times, driven to pursue her career passions. When Maddie starts a new job at Status magazine as an assistant to art director Rob MacLeod, there is no denying the chemistry between them. Even though Maddie knows that Rob is married, they engage in a five year intense and all consuming illicit affair that inevitably leads Maggie to falling in love with Rob, while maintaining a strong determination to climb the career ladder in the male dominated advertising and publishing world on Madison Avenue.

While I thoroughly enjoyed following the intense affair of the heart between Maddie and Rob, I found myself more intrigued by the utilization of the author's past professional experience to interweave a richly vivid and powerful description of the 1960s time period, and the inner-workings of the advertising and publishing industry. This evocative women's fiction tale easily draws the reader into Maddie's journey, you can't help but get caught up in the drama, challenges, choices, and surprising twists and turns that she faces along the way.


RATING: 4 STARS 






Contest Giveaway


This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Providence Book Propotions for Marcia Gloster and The Story Plant.

There will be 1 winner of one (1) $25 Amazon.com Gift Card and 5 winners of 1 eBook copy of 31 DAYS: A MEMOIR OF SEDUCTION by Marcia Gloster.

The giveaway begins on April 17th and runs through June 19th, 2017.

This giveaway is for US residents only.

Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Virtual Book Tour



Tour Schedule:

4/17 Guest Post @ Books Direct

4/18 Interview @ The Reading Frenzy

4/19 Showcase @ Books, Dreams, Life

4/21 Review @ CMash Reads

4/25 Interview @ Writers and Authors

4/28 Showcase @ The Bookworm Lodge

5/02 Guest post @ Hott Books

5/15 Blog Talk Radio w/Fran Lewis

5/15 Review @ Just Reviews

5/17 Interview @ BooksChatter

5/18 Review @ Bunnys Review

6/02 Review/Guest Post @ Jersey Girl Book Reviews

6/05 Review @ BookLove



Monday, May 29, 2017

See You Later Broadway by Melissa Baldwin (Book Blast / Contest Giveaway)

In association with I Am A Reader, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the book blast event for See You Later Broadway by author Melissa Baldwin!







See You Later Broadway by Melissa Baldwin
Book 2: Broadway Series
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: April 5, 2017
Format: Paperback - May 10, 2017 - 298 pages 
               eBook - April 5, 2017 - 337 pages
               Kindle - 612 KB
ISBN: 978-0692886854
ASIN: B06WP7ZR56
Genre: Romantic Comedy


Buy The Book:
Amazon
Goodreads


Buy The Series: Broadway Series
Book 1:  See You Soon Broadway
Book 2: See You Later Broadway
Amazon
Goodreads



Book Description:


It’s finally here . . . the much-anticipated sequel to See You Soon Broadway

Maris is back! 

Decisions, decisions, decisions . . . Maris Forrester’s exciting new life is not everything she was hoping it would be. Although she’s happy in her new career, she’s plagued with the feeling that something is still missing. Imagine her surprise when an old friend presents her with an unbelievable opportunity that could change everything. This new career sounds almost too good to be true, including the upcoming trip to London. She quickly learns that even the most perfect scenarios have their drawbacks, and when something sounds too good to be true, it usually is . . . 

In addition to making a life-changing career choice, Maris realizes she has other decisions to make—whom to love and where to find happiness. What if neither is what she thought they should be?


Book Excerpt:

I can’t even look at Trevor. I don’t deny that I have feelings for him, but the stubborn girl inside me doesn’t want to admit it. “Maris?” Trevor calls, giving me a strange look. “You okay?” I nod my head absently. “Yes. My mind was just wandering.” I glance at Beatrice who winks at me. I squeeze her hand before practically sprinting out of the room. I try not to create a scene as I rush down the hall toward the elevator, still holding in my tears. I pound on the button as if my life depended on it. The doors finally open and I jump inside. Before the door closes, Trevor rushes in. 




About The Author






Author Melissa Baldwin is an avid runner, planner obsessed, and has always had a love for writing. She is a wife, mother, and avid journal keeper who took her creativity to the next level by fulfilling her dream with her debut novel, An Event to Remember...or Forget. Melissa writes about charming, ambitious, and real women and is now a published author of seven Romantic Comedy novels and novellas. When she isn't deep in the writing zone, this multi-tasking master organizer is busy spending time with her family, chauffeuring her daughter, traveling, running, indulging in fitness, and taking a Disney Cruise every now and then.  


Twitter  



Contest Giveaway

 


$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway 

Ends 6/14/17 

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. 

Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. 

You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. 

The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. 

This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. 

The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. 

Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. 

VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 


a Rafflecopter giveaway





Friday, May 26, 2017

Big City Heat by David Burnsworth (Author Guest Post / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Big City Heat by author David Burnsworth!








Author Guest Post

Time To Upgrade My iPhone
By: David Burnsworth


I tend to hold onto things. Sometimes that’s a good thing. Other times not so much. Take for instance my iPhone, an unlocked 5 that’s four years old. I love the size and the fact that it fits in my pocket. Oh, and that the rubber cover has protected the screen from cracking after multiple drops. It’s old enough that I had to have the charge jack replaced. Surprising enough that was only an eight dollar part. It bought me an extra year of life out of the phone. But it’s time for a replacement. The funny thing is there’s this iPhone SE that’s similar in size with upgraded internals. I’m already thinking that’s my next one.

Regardless of the title, this really isn’t about my iPhone. It’s about me not being able to part with things easily. Especially things that have been good to me. Like my last car, a Mazda Protégé. It was obvious to everyone but me that it needed to be replaced six months before I finally gave in. Instead, I bought a fresh set of tires and ignored the smoking exhaust and various squeaks and rattles down the highway. And then I bought another Mazda, and the “new” one’s now paid for and got a few more years on it, I hope, because I’m not quite ready to accept that I need a new one.

I once had a job that had started to go south. The signs, again, were there. But I toughed it out a few years too many before making the change. Glad I did and things worked out, but I might have been better served looking earlier.

The laptop I’m writing this on is ten years old. It still works fine now on its second keyboard and battery. And it has been the vehicle I used to write four books, a novella, various short stories and blog submissions, and also hosts my current work in progress. But I get the feeling that I need to back things up more often and have some money set aside for its replacement.

Confession time. I can’t wait to get my new iPhone. And I’m thinking about what I might replace my current wheels with. A nice sports car for my fiftieth birthday sounds about right. That’s more than a few years away so I would still have time to spend with my Mazda.

Is there anything you tend to hold onto?




About The Author



David Burnsworth
 became fascinated with the Deep South at a young age. After a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Tennessee and fifteen years in the corporate world, he made the decision to write a novel. Southern Heat is his first mystery. Having lived in Charleston on Sullivan’s Island for five years, the setting was a foregone conclusion. He and his wife along with their dog call South Carolina home.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads



Book Review



Big City Heat by David Burnsworth
Book 3: Brack Pelton / Heat Mystery Series
Publisher: Henery Press 
Publication Date: PB - March 6, 2017 / eBook - April 25, 2017
Format: Paperback - 294 pages
               Kindle - 754 KB
               Nook - 473 KB
ISBN: 978-1635111996
ASIN: B01N6UQHTG
BNID: 2940157525187
Genre: Mystery / Suspense / Thriller


Buy The Book:


Buy The Series:
Book 1: Southern Heat
Book 2: Burning Heat
Book 3: Big City Heat


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours.


Book Description:

Lowcountry bar owner and ex-Marine Brack Pelton heads to Atlanta in the wake of a panicked 3 AM phone call. A woman is missing and Brack’s friend Mutt is in danger. Brack’s old flame, investigative news correspondent Darcy Wells, now lives there and is set to marry another man. If Brack was honest with himself, and he usually wasn’t, he’d realize that the missing woman isn’t the reason for his visit. His Semper Fi buddy Mutt can handle himself just fine.

When Brack and Mutt team up to find the woman, the Atlanta underworld revolts, the two biggest players target them, and people start dying. Most people would size up the situation, call it impossible, and walk away. But most people are not Brack Pelton. Impossible situations are his specialty. He made it through Afghanistan and when the military commanders mistook suicidal tendencies for leadership qualities they promoted him. Can Brack succeed at finding the woman, protecting his friend, and winning the girl without destroying the Capital of the South? Not since Sherman’s march across Georgia has the city of Atlanta been in this much danger.


Book Excerpt: 


Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for You are with me...
Psalm 23:4

Atlanta, Georgia, Wednesday night, Mid-May
Brack Pelton waited in his Porsche by a no-parking zone in a very bad part of the city and watched someone he thought he knew well climb out of an old Eldorado convertible. The man entered a ramshackle building with a neon beer mug shining through its one dirty window.
Easing away from the red-marked bus stop, Brack found a better location down the block and pulled in. Before getting out of the Porsche, he woke Shelby, his tan mixed-breed dog slumbering in the backseat, and pulled a forty-five from the glovebox. He verified a round was chambered.
Shelby licked his lips and gave a quick bark as Brack slid the pistol down the back waistband of his cargo shorts.
Patting his dog on the head, Brack asked, “Ready?” A needless question. Another bark affirmed Shelby’s stand on things.
“When we get inside, your job is to find Mutt. Okay?” Shelby licked his face. Brack knew that as long as their target hadn’t escaped out some back door, Shelby would find him. Mutt was one of his favorite people. Brack’s too. That was why tracking him like this went against everything he believed in doing.
Mutt was the one who often rode shotgun with Brack as they’d right Charleston’s wrongs. Now Mutt was the one in the crosshairs. Thanks to an early morning phone call from Cassie, Mutt’s girlfriend, a life depended on answers his friend would give. The forty-five wouldn’t come out unless trouble came up.
The barroom’s rusty screen door screeched open. Shelby darted ahead, already focused on his objective. Brack entered a time warp. Uncanny how even the sour bar wash fragrance and cigarette smoke were the same. Through the old familiar haze, he imagined Mutt standing behind a peeling Formica counter pouring drinks to patrons who could barely afford their rent. Somehow, Mutt had managed to replicate his termite-infested watering hole three hundred miles west of where his original joint stood before some spoiled neighborhood brat burned it down.
“You lost?” A very large African-American man wearing a soiled wife-beater chalking a pool cue confronted the white newcomer.
Meeting his gaze, Brack said, “No. I’m looking for a loudmouth Marine named Mutt. If he’s here drinking, the rounds are on me. If he owns this place, I’m going to beat the life out of him.”
“Big talk coming from someone in yo’ shoes,” he said. Four other men flanked him, two on each side, all with arms folded across their meaty chests. Five soiled wife-beaters in a row. A worn-out AC unit clicked and sputtered, failing to condition the polluted air in the establishment.
Shelby seemed to take longer than usual to find Mutt. Only one thing could sidetrack him. But no women had ever been present in the original Mutt’s Bar in Charleston. They’d been afraid to enter the place.
Maybe Atlanta women were different. Casually Brack removed the half-smoked cigar he’d been saving in his pocket and lit it. The only faithful friend he had left at the moment was his own adrenaline. Brack was angry at Mutt and wouldn’t mind working it out of his system on these five gentlemen facing him.
Three more joined them. Okay, these eight gentlemen.
Brack felt more gather behind him. His wayward dog better have a real good excuse for not warning him.
Taking a drag on the stogie, he exhaled a cloud of smoke to add to the carcinogenic fog. “It’s going to be a bad day for some of you.”
Chuckles echoed around the room, undoubtedly at his expense.
Mutt pushed his way through the gathering mob. A few inches over six feet, he’d replaced his boxed Afro with a close trim since the last time Brack had seen him. His clothes were of a more recent vintage, another change, and to Brack’s untrained eye, quite stylish.
“Opie, you always got to do things the hard way, don’t ’cha?” Brack couldn’t decide if he wanted to punch him or shake his hand. The fact that his friend sported a bridge that replaced his missing front teeth also caught him off guard.
Shelby was not with Mutt. From behind, Brack heard the gruff words, “You want us to take this cracker out back, Mutt?”
Mutt knew as well as Brack did that they were greatly outnumbered. But Brack figured Mutt also knew that a few of his patrons would spend the next few weeks in the hospital if things went south.
Before either of them could say anything, a husky female voice came from somewhere in the crowd. “You got the prettiest dog.”
All the men turned in the direction of the voice. Through a break in the undershirt line, Brack observed a heavyset black woman in a way-too-tight purple body suit. Clearly she’d fallen in love with his dog. Her extra-long orange day-glo fingernails scratched behind his ears.
Sitting on his haunches with closed eyes, Shelby flapped his tongue and panted in what Brack recognized as pure bliss. Two other women wearing similar attire also gave Shelby their full attention. Brack was about to get pummeled by eight or more hulks itching to right the wrongs of their world, yet his dog had managed to pick up what looked like all the women in the establishment.
The spokesman for the wife-beater ensemble said, “We ain’t finished wit you, white boy.”
Brack turned back to him. Mutt got between them. “Easy, Charlie. He’s my brother.” The men looked at each other as if Mutt and Brack could possibly be related. Of course, they weren’t in the traditional sense.
“Summertime” by Billy Stewart began to play somewhere in the room. A real classic.
Circling Shelby, the women moved their ample hips to the beat. The dog, in plus-sized heaven, spun around, not sure which lady to kiss first.
A fourth woman Brack hadn’t noticed until now came from behind the bar to stand beside Mutt. Almost as tall as Brack, with dark brown skin, a buzzed haircut, and toned figure bordering on muscular. Her inked-up arms momentarily distracted Brack.
The man Mutt called Charlie said, “I don’t care who you think he is. He ain’t got the juice to come in here talking about beatin’ you up.”
Mutt turned to his old friend. “You said you was gonna beat me up?”
“Something like that.” Brack cocked his head. “I get a call begging me to drive here from Charleston. It’s Cassie. She’s scared half to death because some men threatened her, and she doesn’t know what you do when you leave her house late at night. Put yourself in her shoes.”
The woman bartender looked at him. “You must be Brack.” Mutt interrupted. “Opie, I’ma tell you like I tol’ Cassie. What I do is my bidness. She ain’t got no right to ask.”
Charlie moved in like he was about to throw a punch. Before Brack could react, the toned female bartender grabbed Charlie by the shirt collar and said, “You really don’t want to do that.”
Mutt said, “Easy there, Tara. We all friends here.” She didn’t let go. Charlie backed off. Brack dropped what was left of his cigar on the floor, crushed it with his foot, and turned back to Mutt. “You better tell me what’s going on, or I will beat the ever-living daylights out of you.”


***
Excerpt from Big City Heat: A Brack Pelton Mystery by David Burnsworth.
Copyright © 2017 by David Burnsworth.
Reproduced with permission from David Burnsworth. All rights reserved.



My Book Review:

In the third book of the Brack Pelton / Heat Mystery SeriesBig City Heat, author David Burnsworth transports the reader back to the lowcountry setting of Charleston, SC for another intriguing Brack Pelton Southern noir / mystery adventure. 

Brack Pelton is an Afghanistan war veteran and owner of the Pirate's Cove bar on the Isle of Palm. When he gets a call that his friend Mutt is in danger and needs his help finding his girlfriend Cassie's missing little sister Regan, Brack leaves his sultry lowcountry home of Charleston, SC for Atlanta. Brack and Mutt team up to find the missing woman while playing a dangerous game of cat and mouse with the seedy players in the Atlanta underworld. And if you think that isn't enough action for Brack, add in the reunion with his old-flame, investigative news correspondent Darcy Wells, and the heat level jacks up in ol' Hotlanta!

Author David Burnsworth weaves a fast-paced and suspenseful tale that follows Brack's investigative journey as it takes him all over Atlanta.The reader is easily drawn into this well written story with its richly descriptive plot and setting, it is filled with enough action and unsuspecting twists and turns that takes the reader on one hell of a thrilling roller coaster ride.

As a fan of Southern fiction, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this thrilling mystery. I was intrigued by Brack and Mutt's adventure. I loved Brack's gritty nature and sarcastic attitude, and I found myself cheering for him and Mutt as they embarked on another dangerous adventure. 

With an intriguing cast of characters; witty dialogue and dramatic interactions; and a richly descriptive Southern setting, Big City Heat is a classic Southern noir mystery novel that is a must read!

RATING: 4 STARS 




Contest Giveaway



This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for David Burnsworth and Henery Press.

There will be 1 winner of one (1) $15 Amazon.com Gift Card and 5 winners of one (1) eBook copy of Big City Heat by David Burnsworth.

The giveaway begins on April 22, 2017 and runs through May 29, 2017.

This giveaway is for US residents only. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway




Virtual Book Tour



Tour Schedule:

4/24 Review @ Book Reviews From an Avid Reader

4/25 Review @ CMash Reads

4/25 Showcase @ Sapphyrias Book Reviews

4/26 Interview/showcase @ CMash Reads

4/26 Showcase @ Books, Dreams, Life

4/27 Showcase @ BooksChatter

5/02 Showcase @ A Bookworms Journal

5/03 Review/Interview @ Rockin Book Reviews - GIVEAWAY

5/04 Interview @ Deal Sharing Aunt

5/05 Showcase @ A Bookaholic Swede

5/08 Review @ BookLove

5/09 Review @ just reviews

5/10 Showcase/Guest post @ Suspense Magazine

5/11 Review @ Blogging with A

5/15 Review/Guest post @ Brooke Blogs

5/16 Showcase @ The Pulp and Mystery Shelf

5/17 Showcase @ Celticladys Reviews

5/18 Review @ Inside of a Dog

5/23 Review @ Bunnys Review

5/25 Blog Talk Radio w/Fran Lewis

5/26 Review/Guest post @ Jersey Girl Book Reviews