Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Monday, October 31, 2016

A Corner of Her Heart by Claire Yezbak Fadden (Book Blitz / Book Spotlight / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Chick Lit Plus Blog Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book blitz event for A Corner of Her Heart by author Claire Yezbak Fadden!







About The Book



A Corner of Her Heart by Claire Yezbak Fadden
Book 1: Begin Again Series
Publisher: Amaris Publishing LLC
Publication Date: Paperback - October 11, 2016 / eBook October 14, 2016
Format: Paperback - 266 pages
               Kindle - 410 KB
               Nook - 375 KB
ISBN: 978-0997614152
ASIN: B01LWVGUE1
BNID: 2940156896349
Genre: Women's Fiction


Buy The Book:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
iTunes
Kobo
Smashwords
Goodreads



Book Description;

Monica Morgan finally lands the job she covets—stay-at-home mom to her four sons. Her joy is short-lived, however, when a casual comment leads to the discovery of her husband’s infidelity. The news sends her reeling, grasping for understanding and skeptical of everything she once thought she knew. While she struggles with the deceit and questions her faith, her youngest child receives a devastating diagnosis, plunging her into deeper despair.

Unsure of how to move forward, Monica must reevaluate her options and determine what truly matters most. But will her decision ultimately destroy her family or will it make them whole again?


Book Excerpt:


Monica lifted her head from the pillow. That was a mistake. Why did I order that third pitcher? Her head, heavier than a bowling ball, pounded as though she had used it to throw a strike. Voices seeped through her bedroom door. Joyful sounds of Brad and the boys playing. She licked her lips, hoping to get the saliva moving. No luck. Cotton balls would fall from her mouth at any moment.

She didn’t remember much after Kate brought her home, except Brad holding her hair while she hugged the toilet. Tequila is not my friend. 

Monica forced herself up and reached for a water bottle Brad had left on her nightstand. She slowly sipped, listening to what sounded like bodies bouncing off the walls. Definitely a sock war was underway. Monica would find her sons’ socks, now rolled up into balls as ammunition, for days. Guys could make a game out of anything. 

She gingerly placed her feet on the carpet and ambled toward the family room. A cobalt-colored orb Monica recognized as part of Burke’s soccer uniform flew past her nose. 

“Mom,” nine-year-old Burke shouted, “get back, you’re in the battle zone.” 

“Cease fire.” Brad appeared from behind a chair and waved his arms. “Hi honey. Feeling better?” 

“A little. What time is it?” 

“About three,” Brady answered, stepping in from the hallway, “Dad kept us quiet all morning.” 

“I asked to play sock war,” Bodie said, his voice barely higher than a peep. “Dad and me are a team.” Monica moved to where Bodie sat and joined him on the couch. “Are you winning?”

“I think so,” Bodie replied, pointing to an arsenal of socks. 

These moments made Monica’s life. Her sons enjoying each other, laughter rising throughout her home. Getting drunk last night was an escape, but she couldn’t escape her obligations. She didn’t want to. God blessed her with four sons to love and guide into manhood.

She soaked in their faces, sweaty and innocent. How could she steal this life from them? Monica would never forget what Brad had done. Still, she had to find a way to forgive him and make their family whole again. Her sons’ childhood depended on that.






About The Author



When she’s not playing with her granddaughter, Pennsylvania native Claire Yezbak Fadden is writing contemporary women’s fiction. Her books feature strong women who overcome life’s challenges, always putting their families first. 

There's a special spot in Claire's heart for carousel horses – quite possibly the result of watching “Mary Poppins” 13 times as a young girl. She loves butterflies, ladybugs and confetti! Just ask anyone who's received a birthday card from her. 

Claire cheers on the San Diego State Aztecs, her alma mater, and she is a Black & Gold fan -- Pittsburgh Pirates, Steelers and Penguins. The mother of three, she lives in Orange County, California with her husband, Nick and two spoiled dogs, Bandit and Jersey Girl.  

Claire’s work as an award-winning journalist, humor columnist and editor has appeared in more than 100 publications across the United States, Canada and Australia. A Corner of Her Heart is her debut novel. 



Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads



Contest Giveaway

Win A $25 Amazon Gift Card



To celebrate the release of A CORNER OF HER HEART, Author Claire Yezbak Fadden is giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card.

About the Giveaway:

Win a $25 Amazon gift card!

From October 14 – November 14, 2016, join my email mailing list and be eligible to win. The contest is open to U.S. residents only. I will email the lucky winner as well as announce the name on my blog, Woman@Heart - Giveaways page by November 15, 2016.

Enter here for your chance to win! Good luck!




Book Blitz Event



Event Schedule:

October 31 – Jersey Girl Book Reviews – Spotlight & Excerpt
October 31 – Anne Kemp – Q&A
November 2 – Chick Lit Goddess – Excerpt
November 3 – Chick Lit Plus – Spotlight
November 4 – Coffeeholic Bookworm – Spotlight & Excerpt
November 4 – Spunky N Sassy – Excerpt
November 7 – Up Close and Literal – Q&A & Excerpt
November 7 – Authors and Readers Book Corner – Excerpt



Friday, October 28, 2016

Three & Out by Laura Chapman (Book Release Blitz / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with author Laura Chapman, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book release blitz event for Three & Out!


New from Laura Chapman, the third installment of her fantasy football romantic comedy Queen of the League series . . .




Book Review



Three & Out by Laura Chapman
Book 3: Queen of the League Series
Publisher: Indepedent Self Publishing
Publication Date: eBook - October 21, 2016 / Paperback - October 23, 2016
Format: Paperback - 344 pages
               Kindle - 738 KB
               Nook - 385 KB
ISBN: 978-1539588153
ASIN: B01M67GYAM
BNID: 2940153511863
Genre: Chick Lit / Romantic Comedy / Sports Theme - Football


Buy The Book:
Kobo  


Buy The Series: Queen of the League Series
Book 1: First & Goal
Book 2: Going For Two
Book 3: Three & Out
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
iBooks
Kobo
Goodreads


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book release blitz event hosted by Author Laura Chapman.



Book Description:

After rushing to the altar and moving across the country, Harper Duquaine (or is it MacLaughlin, now?) is in uncharted territory. What once seemed like a promising opportunity to advance her husband’s career while giving her some much-needed independence and adventure has proven to be a bust. By the time fall rolls around again, she’s back in a boring job by day and overstocking her inventory of crocheted scarves by night. Not even the prospect of a new football season holds much excitement.

 At least that’s what she thought. Harper suddenly finds herself the manager of not one but two fantasy football teams—each with its own set of drama. Between the added pressure of her new marriage, an unexpected career prospect, and the hiccups created by people from her past and present worlds, Harper quickly finds herself going from bored to overwhelmed.

Can she hold up under the pressure, or will Harper learn the hard way that the turf isn’t always greener on the other field?



My Book Review:

In Three & Out, the third book in the Queen of the League Series, author Laura Chapman weaves an entertaining chick lit / romantic comedy tale that continues the trials and tribulations of Harper Duquaine MacLaughlin, as she tries to balance daily life issues, work issues, and friendship issues, while delving into the third year of the competitive world of fantasy football leagues.

Author Laura Chapman takes her personal passion for fantasy football leagues and creates a hilarious chick lit / romantic comedy series with a football theme. She weaves a sassy tale full of humor and drama that easily draws the reader into the continuation of Harper's story as she tries to try juggle the challenges in her life with the fierce competitiveness of fantasy football leagues.

In Three & Out, the focus is on how Harper deals with the challenges of everyday life issues, especially with her recent marriage to Brook, and their relocation from Lincoln, Nebraska to Seattle, Washington for Brook's new coaching position at Seattle State, while participating in two fantasy football leagues: The Mega Ballerz (her original league) and The Real Coaches' Wives of Seattle (the league run by the college football coaches' wives).

I really enjoyed the continuation of Harper's story as the drama of adjusting to married life and the relocation to Seattle are added into the mix of the everyday life issues that Harper faces, along with the hilarious trash talking and rivalry of the fantasy football leagues. I couldn't help but snicker as Harper went back to drafting players on the fly like she did in her first year in the fantasy league, in the hope that she'll come out on top and win that elusive championship. Harper has a lot going on in her life, but with Brook by her side, this sassy girl can overcome all the challenges that come her way! I hope that there will be more books in the series, I can't help but want to keep up with Harper and Brook's latest adventures.

As a diehard NFL fan (Dallas Cowboys) and fantasy football league enthusiast, I loved reading every book of the Queen of the League series, they are so much fun and will keep you thoroughly entertained! I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much I agree with our girl Harper on the fugliness of the NFL team throwback uniforms, they are simply hideous!

Three & Out is an exciting and fast paced story that flows smoothly and easily keeps the reader turning the pages. Author Laura Chapman sure knows how to weave an enjoyable series that keeps her readers in stitches. You can't help but get caught up in Harper's roller coaster ride of a life full of drama and sweet romance, it's simply delightful!


RATING: 5 STARS 





About The Series

Queen of the League Series


*** BARGAIN ALERT *** To celebrate the new release, for a limited time, you can pick up the first two stories in the series for only 99 cents each. EBooks First & Goal and Going for Two are available for only 99 cents each. ***




In Laura Chapman’s Queen of the League series, Harper Duquaine joins a fantasy football league to prove she can hang with the guys. Only problem: she doesn’t know a sleeper from a keeper (or any of the other lingo thrown her way). Her competitive streak soon emerges, and she catches the interest of her top two competitors. With a slew of conflicting advice in her real and fantasy worlds, Harper must figure out how to play the game and come out a winner.

First & Goal 

Going for Two 
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks




About The Author




Laura Chapman is the author of First & Goal, Going for Two, Three & Out, and The Marrying Type.  Her holiday novellas Making Christmas and What Happens at Midnight will be released on November 8, and are now available for pre-order. A native Nebraskan, she loves football, Netflix marathons, and her cats, Jane and Bingley. 







Contest Giveaway

Win A $10 Amazon Gift Card




Side Effects: What Candidates Don't Tell You by Tomas Payne (Book Spotlight / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Virtual Book Tour Cafe, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Side Effects: What Candidates Don't Tell You by author Tomas Payne!






About The Book


Picture



Side Effects: What Candidates Don't Tell You by Tomas Payne
Publisher: Finlee Augare Books
Publication Date: Paperback - May 21, 2016 / eBook - July 4, 2016
Format: Paperback - 238 pages
               Kindle - 1074 KB
ISBN: 978-1943080250
ASIN: B01G0KUW0G
BNID: 978-1943080250
Book Genre: Nonfiction / Politics


Buy The Book:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Goodreads


Book Description:

The book candidates don’t want us to see.

“A must-read guide to campaign promises.” “Facts everyone should see before they vote.”

Candidates rally for our support and appeal to our anger and frustrations, often offering radical solutions, but what aren’t they telling us? Sure they pitch the good times they’ll bring. What about the side-effects and costs of their medicine.

Side-Effects: What Candidates Don’t Tell You takes you behind the scenes on issues of the day and campaign promises. It focuses on consequences, issues, and options. It also challenges myths such as who are the wealthy, and what is the history of depressed wages. The emphasis is on shedding light, exposing myths, examining consequences, and exploring options, not on personalities. Sorry, no dirt on the people, just on their promises.

Side-Effects will answer questions such as:
  •   Will raising income and estate taxes hurt the billionaires and redistribute wealth?
  •   Why healthcare is broken and what options we have.
  •   Why wages are depressed and what we can do about it.
  •   What are the implications of immigration plans?

Side-Effects cuts through the BS to look at campaign promises on wealth redistribution, taxes, Social Security, healthcare, depressed wages, and many other topics and aims to bring facts to these issues.




About The Author


Tomas Payne is a CPA and has an MBA in Finance, BS in Political Science and over 30 years of business experience. He is a longtime student of business, the ever-entertaining field of economics, and of the political shell game.


Author Website / Blog
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads



Contest Giveaway


Contest Giveaway: 
US Only: 1 signed print book of Side Effects plus $15 Amazon gift card
US Only: 1 signed print book of Side Effects
Worldwide: 2 ebook copies (mobi/epub) of Side Effects







Thursday, October 27, 2016

Ungolden Silence by Lydia E. Brew (Book Spotlight)

In association with Virtual Book Tour Cafe, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Ungolden Silence by author Lydia E. Brew!






About The Book

Picture

Ungolden Silence by Lydia E. Brew
Publisher: Xlibris US
Publication Date: December 13, 2007
Format: Hardcover & Paperback - 352 pages 
               Kindle - 1110 KB
               Nook - 644 KB
ISBN: 978-1425798918
ASIN: B004XJ56I0
BNID: 978-1462803354
Genre: Women's Fiction


Buy The Book:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Goodreads


Book Description:

Ungolden Silence will explore the world of rape and expose the myths through articles that are based on facts. The main question that needs to be answered is why one human being would rape another human being. These reasons are explored in a compelling story that will make the reader ask questions. Beatrice James wanted to take her co-worker Elaine on her first professional trip, she had to convince her employers and Elaine’s parents that she wanted to take Elaine on the trip. Elaine was in charge of the campaign.

Thomas Paige is a well-respected community leader, however, there is whole other side of side of him. The man can be charming when he needs to be and that is why he can get away with sexually harassing and raping women. He began to harassed Beatrice did not want Elaine to have to deal with it. Beatrice did not want to deal with the fact that she was being sexually harassed.

When any crime takes place, the families of the victims as well as the criminal are involved. Ungolden Silence will illustrate that the criminal is a real person, and rarely does he commit crimes just for the fun of it.

It is important to know that rape is a part of violence. Through the characters of Ungolden Silence it is hoped that society will begin to find a way to eliminate the acceptance of violence, which includes the act of rape.

It is through Beatrice, Elaine, and their colleagues that Ungolden Silence begins to explore the world of rape. Each of the main characters discovers what he has believed about rape and violence is not entirely true. A good example of this is when the firm’s secretary is told what happened on the trip. She discovered that some things that she was told when she was young was a myth.

Through all of the characters, Ungolden Silence offers an alternative to the everyday acceptance of violence. When it comes to rape, it tells us that the rapists are human beings and there is a way to curb the crime.

What does the author wants the reader to take away is that the story is about a woman was rape while she and her business partner was away on a business trip. Her business partner is disabled but that is an important part of the story. However, it is not the main story.


Book Excerpt:

To read the book excerpt, go to: http://www.lydiaebrew.com/



Book Trailer





About The Author

Picture

Lydia E. Brew has Cerebral Palsy and as a child she could not go outside and play with the other children like she wanted to, so she daydreamed about that and other things she felt unreachable instead. This allowed her mind to journey in unimaginable places. With a love for drama, daydreaming and writing, Lydia combined them when she started writing. Her essay, “Why Do You Think They Call It Dope?” was place on the front bulletin board of Roosevelt Elementary School. Lydia had no idea that was the beginning of her writing journey.

When she took literature in Junior and Senior high, Lydia to write composition papers. One in particular was about a talking horse; another one of Lydia’s daydreams put on paper. The teacher would give out the assignments at the beginning of class, and most of the time Lydia would have the story in her head before the end of class. She realized then that being a great storyteller with the written word wasn’t something she had to dream about but she could actually achieve it.
When she turn fourteen years old Lydia met Edith Irby Jones, M.D. When Lydia walked into office and the walls are covered with award and plaques and she knew that there was a story behind the walls. She wanted to tell the story. Lydia attended Texas Southern University and with the help of her Journalism Professor, she wrote Edith, The Story of Edith Irby Jones, M.D. Lydia, along Mrs. Annie Brew, her mother and Mrs. Helen Lewis, her aunt wrote an activities book, Our Learn Together Book, base on the biography.

Lydia is the author of Ungolden Silence, a thought provoking novel about rape and how it affect not only the victims but the people that surround them. Go to Ungolden Silence.com and Amazon.com.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads


Virtual Book Tour


Wednesday, October 26, 2016

The Bridesmaid's Checklist: Laura's Wedding by K.T. Castle (Book Blast / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for The Bridesmaid's Checklist: Laura's Wedding by author K.T. Castle!







Book Review



The Bridesmaid's Checklist: Laura's Wedding by K.T. Castle
Book 1: The Bridesmaid's Checklist Series
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: Paperback - July 15, 2016 / eBook - July 18, 2016
Format: Paperback - 300 pages
               Kindle - 3725 KB
ISBN: 978-1535318631
ASIN: B01IOOBO0I
BNID: 978-1535318631
Genre: New Adult Romance / Chick Lit



Buy The Book:


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book blast event hosted by Goddess Fish Promotions.


Book Description:

Kassandra is a single, independent woman who prides herself on her own success. But when she’s asked by her best friend Laura to be the Maid of Honor in her wedding, Kassandra finds herself questioning her lifestyle. Helping Laura plan the wedding is no problem—she’s done it before for all their other friends. The first time was a blast, the second super fun, but doing it without receiving any help from the rest of the girls gets old really fast.

The whole event kicks off with the worst kind of surprise when Kassandra discovers who her friend's fiancĂ© really is, and she's torn between supporting Laura's future happiness and hiding the deeply buried, intimate past she shares with the groom-to-be. Struggling to be the bigger person and do all the hard work on her own, Kassandra finds surprising comfort in Josh, the best man in the wedding and someone she's been avoiding for years. He's charming, thoughtful, handsome, and the worst kind of womanizer, but she just can't seem to stay away. All the while, Kassandra can't help wondering if the wedding could be any more clichĂ©—until she finds unexpected ways to change things up a bit.


Book Excerpt:


From Chapter 1

Always a bridesmaid, never a bride. I’d heard that saying more than once now. And I was about to hear it once again.

“Kassie! Kassie, wake up! I’m getting married,” a high-pitched voice squealed at me at 3:00 a.m.

Who the hell is this? I had picked up the phone without even looking at the caller ID. Oh, Laura. Great.

“Kassandra, are you listening? I’m engaged!” Laura screamed from the other side of the phone.

“Yeah, wow,” I said. “Congratulations.”

“I can’t believe you, Kassie. You should be more excited. You’ll get to be my bridesmaid!” The volume of her voice kept rising.

“I’m happy for you, Laura.” I really didn’t know at the moment how I felt. I was trying to look around to see exactly where I was. “Believe me. It’s just…it’s three o’clock, and I was sleeping.”

After looking at my surroundings, I remembered I was in my own house. I had a minor headache, probably from all the drinking the night before, and my body ached a bit. I looked beside me and found the reason for my hurt.

Next to me I found the silhouette of a beautiful man. The memories of the few hours before my abrupt awakening came back at me:

A bar. A blond. My home. Some sex...in that order.

“I know it’s late, but I had to give you the good news.”

“And news it is.” She was the last of my best friends who was single; not so long ago we roamed all the bars in town together, looking for men to hook up with, and suddenly she was engaged.





My Book Review:

In The Bridesmaid's Checklist: Laura's Wedding, the first book of The Bridesmaid's Checklist Series, author K.T. Castle weaves an intriguing new adult romance tale that sheds a whole new light on the crazy dynamics of friendships, romance, and wedding planning.

Told in the first person narrative, the reader follows the crazy trials and tribulations that Kassandra faces when best friend Laura becomes engaged, and she wants Kassandra to be her Maid-of-Honor and help plan her wedding. Kassandra has helped her other friends plan their weddings, so she doesn't think anything will go wrong, that is until she discovers that the groom happens to be her ex-boyfriend! Kassandra struggles with wanting to help plan Laura's wedding while hiding the secrets from her past relationship, and when the trials and tribulations of the whole affair start to build, Kassandra finds unexpected support and comfort from Josh, the best man and womanizer whose charms she has resisted for years. So what's a girl to do when she is torn between the dynamics of friendships and the affairs of the heart?

The Bridesmaid's Checklist is a fun romantic story that has a great mixture of drama, humor, and romance, that easily kept me engaged and turning the pages. Anyone can relate to the craziness surrounding wedding event planning, and how the best laid plans can unexpectedly go awry, especially when romance issues and buried secrets are added into the mix. I really enjoyed following Kassandra's personal journey of self discovery, especially when she makes necessary changes in her life, and finds an unexpected romance in the arms of a charmer like Josh, who is determined to break down the walls that surround Kassandra's heart. I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much I enjoyed the rich description of the tropical South Pacific island setting of Bora Bora.

I really enjoyed reading The Bridesmaid's Checklist, it has a HEA that normally comes with romance stories featuring a wedding theme, but alas, there is a cliff hanger ending that leaves the reader wanting more. I look forward to reading what new wedding adventures await in the next book of The Bridesmaid's Checklist Series.

The Bridesmaid's Checklist: Laura's Wedding is an enjoyable romance tale that will leave a smile on your face.


RATING: 4 STARS 





About The Author



K.T. Castle
is an author/artist in progress. She's on a quest to find the words, forms, and colors to materialize the worlds and people of her imagination. She never saw herself as an incurable romantic, but lately, that's what she finds herself musing about. Love is found everywhere, regardless if it comes from a nice person, an ass — mundane or even vampire. When she's not busy with work, in front of a computer placing many thoughts in order, she makes her best to be creative or relax with a good book and a snack. Some of her favorite characters are Sookie, Rule and Shaw, Bella, Edward, Clary, Jace, Wrath, Hollywood, Blaire, Woods, Ethan, the Sleeping Beauty, and Ariel.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Pinterest
Goodreads



Contest Giveaway


Author K.T. Castle will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N Gift Card to a randomly drawn winner, and a copy of THE BRIDESMAID'SCHECKLIST: LAURA'S WEDDING plus an ARC of the next book in the series to another randomly drawn winner, both via rafflecopter during the event.


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Book Blast Event



Click on the above link for a schedule of event participants.




Tuesday, October 25, 2016

Only You by Denise Grover Swank (Book Release Day Blitz / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Forever Publishing, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book release day blitz event for Only You by author Denise Grover Swank!







Book Review


Only You by Denise Grover Swank
Book 1: Bachelor Brotherhood Series
Publisher: Forever / Grand Central Publishing / Hatchett Book Group
Publication Date: eBook - June 14, 2016 / Paperback - October 25, 2016 
Format: Paperback - 368 pages
               Kindle - 944 KB
               Nook - 577 KB
ISBN: 978-1455539765
ASIN: B01C3LHRQS
BNID: 978-1455539772
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Romantic Comedy


Buy The Book:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble 
Books-A-Million
Google Play
iBooks 
IndieBound 
Kobo
Goodreads


Buy The Series: Bachelor Brotherhood Series
Book 1: Only You
Book 2: Until You (Pub Date: May 2017)
Book 3: Always You (Pub Date: June 2017)
Amazon
Barnes & Noble 
Books-A-Million
Google Play
iBooks 
IndieBound 
Kobo
Goodreads


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review and participation in a book release day blitz event hosted by Forever Publishing.


Book Description:

The first book in a spin-off from Denise Grover Swank's New York Times bestselling Wedding Pact series (The Wedding Pact, The Player, The Gambler, The Valentine)

“Warm and funny, the first book in the Bachelor Brotherhood series reads like a great Hollywood rom-com.” –iBooks Best Books of June 

Never say never…Romance isn't an option for Holly Greenwood. With her wedding planner career on the line she needs to stay focused, and that means pleasing her demanding boss, not getting distracted by her mind-alteringly hot neighbor…

Ex-Marine Kevin Vandemeer craves normalcy. Instead, he has a broken-down old house in need of a match and some gasoline, a meddling family, and the uncanny ability to attract the world's craziest women. At least that last one he can fix: he and his buddies have made a pact to swear off women, and this includes his sweetly sexy new neighbor.

After one hot night that looks a whole lot like a disaster in the light of day, Kevin and Holly are about to learn that true love doesn't play by the rules…


Book Excerpt:


Kevin wasn’t sure why he was surprised Holly was here. She was a wedding planner, and from what he’d seen so far, she was a damn good one.
He’d been on his way out of the room, needing a breather from the noise and the chaos of the reception when he’d seen her at the table. He hadn’t planned on asking her to dance—hell, he hated to dance—but he’d been desperate for a reason to talk to her.
When he sat back down at the table, Tyler wore a smirk. “Crashed and burned, huh? I thought you were going to the bathroom to take a piss.”
“I was. I just happened to run into a friend.”
“Run into a friend, my ass. I thought we’d sworn off women. I’ve held up my end of the bachelor brotherhood. And let me add that I had no idea my balls could turn this blue.”
“She’s a friend,” Kevin said, trying not to sound irritated and feed any more fuel to the fire.
“She’s his neighbor,” Matt said, taking a sip of his beer, and giving Kevin a pointed look. “They’re friends.”
Tyler burst out laughing. “You got friend-zoned?”
“No,” Kevin said slowly, picking up his drink, surprised Matt hadn’t told Tyler about the situation he’d stumbled upon. “I was the one who said I wanted to be friends.”
“Why?” Tyler asked, watching Holly with a little more interest than Kevin liked. “She’s hot. Do you know if she’s seeing anyone?”
“No.” Kevin’s irritation grew.
Tyler stood and adjusted his tie, a smirk lighting up his eyes. “Screw the brotherhood. I think I’ll go over and introduce myself.”
Kevin was up in a flash. “I don’t think so.”
“Why not?” he looked surprised. “She looks like she’d be worth a short break from my hiatus from women.”
Kevin stepped in front of his path, his jaw set. “Because you’re a prick who will use her and toss her aside and she deserves a helluva lot better than that.”
Matt was up in an instant, grabbing Kevin’s arm. “Why don’t we get some air?”
“You like her,” Tyler said, slack jawed.
“Of course he likes her,” Matt said. “For someone so smart, sometimes you’re an idiot.”
“In my defense,” Tyler said. “He said they were friends.”
“Okay,” Matt said slowly. “When was the last time you convinced a woman to be just a friend?”
“Never.”
“I rest my case, counselor.”
Tyler sat back down, and Matt tugged on Kevin’s sleeve to get him to join them.
 “I can’t believe you didn’t last even a single week,” Tyler said.
“He didn’t last a single day,” Matt told him. “He slept with her the night after our agreement to remain single.”
Tyler burst out laughing. “For a tough-ass former Marine, I expected you to be the last holdout, man. At least a week or two.”




Book Teaser:







My Book Review:

In Only You, the first book in the Bachelor Brotherhood Series, a spinoff from the popular Wedding Pact Series, author Denise Grover Swank weaves an entertaining romantic comedy that follows the quirky romantic trials and tribulations of wedding planner Holly Greenwood and ex-Marine Kevin Vandemeer.

Set in the Kansas City suburb of Blue Springs, Missouri, Only You is an entertaining tale that easily draws the reader into Holly and Kevin's story. Holly is an event planner who wants to own her own wedding planning business. She hasn't dated in a while, and has been completely focused on her career. Kevin has returned to his hometown after spending twelve years in the Marine Corps. After his second tour in Afghanistan, he decides that it is time to change, and is ready to live a civilian life. After his most recent breakup and a string of disastrous relationships, Kevin decides to take a self-imposed six month break from women. Along with his best buddies Matt and Tyler, they form the Bachelor Brotherhood, and have sworn off all women ... that is until Kevin meets Holly, his next door neighbor, when he moves into a money pit of a house that he is going to restore and flip. Follow along as both Holly and Kevin journey down the path and discover unexpected love.

Only You is a delightful story that had a great mixture of humor, romance, drama, and unexpected twists and turns that easily kept me engaged and turning the pages. You can't help but cheer for Holly and Kevin as they struggle to overcome the crazy misunderstandings, challenges, trials and tribulations that they face while discovering that maybe they are ready for a relationship and true love. With a wonderful cast of characters, witty dialogue, humorous antics and interactions, and a sweet romantic storyline that will met your heart, Only You is a fun story that will leave you wanting more. I look forward to reading Until You, the second book in the Bachelor Brotherhood Series.

Only You is a lighthearted and fun romantic comedy tale that will keep you in stitches and leave a satisfied smile on your face.


RATING: 4 STARS 





About The Author




New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Denise Grover Swank was born in Kansas City, Missouri and lived in the area until she was nineteen. Then she became a nomadic gypsy, living in five cities, four states and ten houses over the course of ten years before she moved back to her roots. She speaks English and smattering of Spanish and Chinese, which she learned through an intensive Nick Jr. immersion period. Her hobbies include witty (in her own mind) Facebook comments and dancing in her kitchen with her children. (Quite badly if you believe her offspring.) Hidden talents include the gift of justification and the ability to drink massive amounts of caffeine and still fall asleep within two minutes. Her lack of the sense of smell allows her to perform many unspeakable tasks. She has six children and hasn't lost her sanity. Or so she leads you to believe.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Instagram
Pinterest
SnapChat
Tumblr
YouTube
Goodreads


Follow Forever Romance:
Website 
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest




Contest Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway